We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place, excellent service...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Himalayan Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Himalayan Village
Save
You added The Himalayan Village to your Saves list
Doonkara | Parvati Valley, Kasol 175105, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kasol
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, excellent service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose The Himalayan Village simply because it's pet-friendly, and we really wanted to take our adorable black Labrador pup along on this holiday! But thanks to the exceptional service from the staff and warmth from the hosts and owners, ths holiday turned out to be beyond our expectations! The place is gorgeous, the rooms, the gardens, the food, the vibe, the locale... It just all adds up and makes you want to come back again and again.....a real special place for everyone, especially dog lovers who find it difficult to take their pets along on holidays because we just don't have enough places in our country which welcome pets with such open arms! Our doggy Kunzum had a blast of a holiday, and she even got a playmate ... Dillon, the owners Labrador....we surely will plan another holiday at the Himalayan Village....thanks Aman and team! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I didn't see a pool, but am sure if there is one, it will be at par with everything else.... Sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for the fabulous reviews. We are pleased that you really enjoyed your holidays with us and loved the location, the cottages, our services, our gardens, our warm hospitality , the food and we could surpass your expectations. We are pleased that Kunjum had a real good time. Infact we are coming up with a special pet friendly area with a lot of games and splash pools for them. We would love to host you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    33
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have every reason to return to the Himalayan Village again. This is one pristine place in the secluded Parvati Valley. The resort is awesome, and the staff even better. A special mention must be made of Mr. Aman Sood, the proprietor. It's his impeccable hospitality that puts a feather on the cap.

The Himalayan Village is like Nirvana to tourists like me.

Room Tip: The Superior Machan (Kullu) is the best place to be in. It gives the best view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you sir for taking out time from your busy schedule and writing a wonderful review. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you have really enjoyed your stay with us. My staff joins me in thanking you for the words of praise. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved the stay! Loved the place :-) excellent rooms, brilliant management & wonderful service!!! Beautiful place to stay and relax with magnificent surroundings right next to the river Parvati!!! Great food with very friendly staff!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you sir for the wonderful reviews. We are pleased that you loved the cottages, location, food, hospitality and we could make your holidays enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

+ Amazing resort.
+ Cotteges have every comfort you can expect from a 5 star facility.
+ Good room service

- Food overly expensive. Average taste for its price, especially Chinese.
- Cotteges get overly chilly during winters.
- When you checkout the staff checks everything and counts items around the room, in the toilet, in the minibar. They open closed packs to see whether the guest has used the stuff or not. Though this may be ok for others but to me it looked like as if I was being frisked. I have traveled around the world and no body does this. They simply ask whether you have used something from the bar or not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you sir for your nice reviews. We are pleased that you loved the resort, the services and found the facilities top class. We apologize that you found the food average and assure you to make amends.Normally all our guest just love our food. We always strive for excellence and feed backs help us even do better. As for the chillness in the cottage as explained to you in person, since your was not a advance booking and you took the room as a walk in guest the cottage heating was not put on in advance as done for the booking guest . That is why the cottages were cold for the first 15-20 minutes as the temperatures here in winters are low. For the checking of the mini bar and other paid items by the staff and your advise that the guest words should be taken rather than checking for any uses. We would have loved it that ways but it just does not work. In quite a few cases the guest are not honest as you, so we have to do the check of the utilities our self and that is done once the guest moves out of the cottage and conveyed to the billing office before he goes for the bill payments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here in June’12. Everything was simply perfect, neat and beautiful. Would rather say—EXCESSIVELY MUCH FOR OUR EYES TO HANDLE with superb location, breathtaking views of mountain & river from eco-friendly well heated cozy cottages with balcony or lawn, delicious food, groomed and cordial staff carrying smiles all the time. The resort is located away from the bustle of market area and there is a waterfall nearby, local dance and music during evening hours, gym, steam, sauna facilities to rejuvenate and a fantastic bar. Trust me all this was enough to provide us ample serenity. I vouch that i have stayed in many hotels but till date I have not found both service and food quality of such high level.
This one is my first review ever for any hotel. I thank the entire staff and management (Specially Mr. & Mrs. Aman Sood) for making our stay memorable and look forward for our next visit. Highly recommended and would definitely give 10 on 10. You guyz actually exceeded our expectations.
:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you mam for the wonderful reviews and superlative praises. We are pleased to know that you gave us 10/10 on all accounts and just loved all aspects about the place , the location , services, hospitality. It gives us so much pleasure to know the amount of satisfaction and enjoy we could give you and we were able to make to make your holiday a life time experience. We look forward to hosting you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Himalayan Village is one of the most beautiful resorts i have vacationed at. The experience is really enthralling. All the facilities are world class, the restaurants, food, service, decor, bar ,spa facilities, neat rooms, very different designs and patterns, Himachali folk song and dance, beautifully located. Highly recommended for all who want to visit exotic place manali and manikaran.

Room Tip: kullu Machan is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you mam for the wonderful reviews and finding us as one of the best holiday destinations We are very pleased to know that you loved the location theme , decor, food, spa. We still remember your enthralling dance with our folk dancers. It was rather your enthusiasm which caught on with everybody and made it one of the best musical nights. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

One of our best holiday ever in himachal ,with amazing scenic view from the machans . Excellent hospitality with great food . Would love to come here again n again to have relaxing tour. Too much fun for kids with lush green lawns n surroundings .Will recommend to all the pleople who visits manali it's one stop destination for nature lovers .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you mam for the wonderful reviews. We are pleased to know that you really loved the location and enjoyed the views from your machan and the kids too had a great time. We are glad that you loved the food , the hospitality. We look forward to your another relaxing holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Himalayan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan Village

Address: Doonkara | Parvati Valley, Kasol 175105, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kasol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kasol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made in very old architecture called Kathkunia style (without cement with mud plastered interiors). An eco-friendly resort. The resort is surrounded by pine and fir jungles, rivers. Has traditional Machans structures at 40-60 above the ground. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Himalayan Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.