We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in Sri Lanka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nilaveli Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nilaveli, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nilaveli
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best beach in Sri Lanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Best location in nilaveli. Friendly staff. Good food at the beach hut .Hotel needs a makeover. Bath rooms are basic but clean.rooms are spacious . serine place. Best place to enjoy morning sun rise. Deluxe rooms are better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    105
    49
    23
    15
See reviews for
89
87
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent some unforgettable days at Nilaveli Beach hotel. The place is beautifully built, the rooms elegant with modern bathrooms. The location at the beach is fantastic & it is close enough to stroll along the beach to have a drink. Service was great. We went there for our honeymoon. The house keeping staff was fantastic. They made us feel home since we arrived. The room was well arranged with lots of surprises. The chef made great food, and the included dinner was amazing. Highly recommend if you want to experience a special evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our 05th visit to Nilaveli Beach Hotel. Because it is one of the most excellent hotel in Srilanka.The food was great, Our room was excellent, and the food was the best food. It was SUPERB ! (No more words to say) There were many choices of food. The staff were very friendly and helpful at any moment.
The boat ride was very good and we enjoyed it alot.

If you are a family and if you planning to visit this lovely hotel, the best choice is to choose the Chalet Room because it fits for a family and we loved it very very much ! Thanks again for a lovely hospitallity and I'll hope that we will visit this lovely Hotel again !

Room Tip: The Chalet rooms are SUPERB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is ok - the rooms are nice enough but the bathrooms are dated and there were mosquitos in my room, despite the AC. The beach off the hotel is absolutely stunning though and the sand perfect and the water clean and warm. There is also a hotel pool near the beach which is pretty nice.

But...there was just something missing.

We visiting off season, and the whole place had a deserted air - like it was about to be hit by a zombie attack. We were assured that there were other people staying too, but they didn't seem to be around much. I was also tempted to try diving for the first time, but when the diving instructor tried to feed me his lunch from his own hands and then increased the cost twice from his original price I thought I'd give it a miss.

A creepy yet beautiful place. A little overpriced for what you get and the food is sadly not great.

Room Tip: All the rooms are near the beach, but you can't see the sea from any of them, due to the trees t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Unlike many beach hotels in Sri Lanka, this one has it just right. It's not glitzy or fancy, it's just a nice clean place to stay with a fantastic beach, good food, and good beach bar/restaurant.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, a real credit to the hotel.

The location is excellent, being a short drive into Trincomalee. We went snorkelling on Pigeon Island which was lovely.

The pricing was very realistic unlike most beach resorts in Sri Lanka.

Highly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Excellent Location in Trincomalee. One of the best value for money sea beach resorts. Unfortunately I could spend only one day there and would definitely go back for a weekend holiday. The rooms are very spacious and the dining space is very well laid out facing the beach. Each room has a private balcony and you can walk into the beach. Very nice pool. The beach is very beautiful and the sea waters were as calm as a pool. The Pigeon island is just 10 min by boat. Excellent staff and excellent food. Do not miss the word Hotel when you search for this resort as there are many resorts starting with the name Nilaveli.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Nilaveli Beach Hotel has the best location by far in the Nilaveli area in terms of beach frontage. It is just a 10 minute boat ride away from Pigeon Island which is great for snorkeling. This hotel is an old favourite of ours. The deluxe rooms are recommended as they are spacious with its own private verandah, mini bar, TV and view of the ocean with very easy access to the beach. My only complaint is that the bathrooms are rather tired and badly need a revamp. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach side bar is a great place to relax and have a drink/meal. My husband and I had a delicious meal of garlic and pepper crab. A great hotel for a relaxed beach holiday in the east coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nilaveli Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Address: Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilaveli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Nilaveli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaveli Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nilaveli Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.