We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - poor management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pigeon Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11th Milepost, Nilaveli, Trincomalee, Nilaveli, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$90 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nilaveli
Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Disappointing - poor management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is a long way out of Trincomalee and is certainly not a "luxury" hotel although priced as such. It is a plain simple resort that is getting rather old with basic rooms. The furniture is old and worn; rooms are not spotlessly clean, the towels smell and had large holes, the sofa was stained and there were dead insects and a build up of dust in the corners. The room I was given the first night and a large gap between the door and door frame thus it was impossible for the lock to operate. Unfortunately the hotel was full.
The intial sight of the hotel entrance is not enticing and the staff seem very badly organized.
Don't use the safes. They are tiny, lightweight and not attached to anything. It was possible to pick it up with one hand and put it under your arm.
The food was not as good as other hotels at which we stayed and some of the chickek was not cooked properly [Very dangerous}. I even had to hand back the eggs to get them cooked properly
There is a wide expanse of lovely secluded beach and it was good to watch the long laborious task of hauling in fishing nets from well out at sea however there is very little to do in the area.
I would not recommend staying here. They need good management to get the place in order and run it efficiently. It was the worst accommodation we had in Sri Lanka.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
54
96
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

PI resort is beautiful. Ponds of little and big fish opens to the swimming area and that further opens to the sea. A swing hanging on a tree at the Center makes it even more picturesque and fun. There is a play area for kids too. A bar next to the pool and you can order your drinks sitting near the pool or the sea.
The rooms are clean and good. Bathrooms are a bit small but has a shower panel separately. The food is okay, though would recommend that you stick to local curries. The front office service is terrible and the men just don't have any clue about the bookings since a lot of them are done through the web. Besides the checking in and our, everything else about the property is great! Wished I had more days to stay and didn't have to head back to Colombo the next day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Location, location, location - it's a dream beach you can have to yourself.
Food, food, food - we had a la carte seafood every day and all day and it was fabulous.the manager and staff are friendly and helpful, the massagist is great, the pool is nice and you can have drinks under a big old tree. The rooms Are big and clean - but not worth the money. It' s a lovely hotel but over-prized - you pay for being in one of the two only hotels on this beach. Also take note that there is absolutely nothing around and that nilaveli beach is actually cut in half by a military base. On the up-site it is very easy to get to pigeon island as the local fisherman organise boat transfers only 400 m away. Ps: please don't step on the corals! It was terrible to see how some people recklessly damaged the corals.
We had a gat

Room Tip: Only suites have sea view - the hotel is build rectangular to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our stay here got off to a bad start. On check in we were told that we had booked 1 room for 1 person and that the extra person would cost €34 a night. I had booked through Agoda and certainly had booked a double for 2 people....I also had email confirmation from hotel staff sent 3 weeks earlier for our booking. We were left sitting around for 2 hours while management tried to sort it out. There was also an English family with the exact same problem as us who also booked through Agoda....if using Agoda to book here just be extra careful there seems to have been some fault with the booking system. We were eventually given a double room and told the problem would be sorted....happily the hotel did not charge us the extra money. Apart from this poor start we really enjoyed our 4 night stay here. the rooms are ok (not good value for money, but this seems to be a general problem in Sri Lanka), the food was superb and very reasonably priced, we ate all our meals here as hotel is 18k from Trincomalee, this was not a problem and we looked forward to trying the different dishes off the menu. The pool was great and the hotel faces onto Nilaveli beach, one of the most beautiful stretches of beach we have seen in the world. This was perfect for the relaxing bit of our Sri Lanka trip. It was easy to oraganise snorkelling trips and dolphin watching trips through hotel. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. Aside from our first dealings with management when we actually felt like leaving and not staying we had a great time here and would recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

First impression was not good when we reach this place as there was not much activity around the entrance area. There was no other vehicle parked, however staff there was very friendly and the welcome drink was the best I have ever had in Sti Lanka.

We got a room with sea view (Which was one of few they had facing sea), view from the room was tremendous with pigeon island in sight. However, room had that salty feeling. There were not many channels in the TV, toiletries were few and there was no hair dryer available. (We got a one upon request).

They have a pool where anyone can enjoy a swim. Since there are not many visitors it is very peaceful and relaxing. With a private and monitored beach, it seems security is one of the highest priorities they have.

Their food was really tasty, though they had no buffet for lunch. It was really difficult to find a suitable menu from the available list. They had very limited staff when we were there.

Upon request they have arranged us a romantic dinner on beach. And also they have arranged us a trip to Pigeon Island and a snorkeling around for a very reasonable rate. It was one of the best offers we got from them.

Planning to go back when time permit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Is clean, Everything works, ( AC. WC. TV...)
Services is good and fast.
Rooms are nice. But my personal comments I think is expensive almost 200usd. Per night.
Buttttt. Zero polution in the beach. And very nice view of the island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of five and my parents in law and family friends (all from the UK)stayed here for two nights. We all had an absolutely FANTASTIC time! The rooms were big and very comfortable, the food was delicious and suited both tourist and Sri Lankan palates;their was something for everyone. We visited pigeon Island three times. Our boatman Mr Ansar was so helpful and very skillful.The island is amazing. Unspoiled and what a fabulous snorkeling experience we had. We played hide and seek with 13 sharks,swam with turtles and saw so many beautiful varieties of fish and coral. Even our 6 year old enjoyed it. The pigeon Island walk is also not to be missed. The staff at the resort were so helpful and friendly. A big thank you goes out to Christopher and Suranga who accommodated all our varying requests with a smile!We left having had a wonderful snorkeling experience, enjoying the ambiance of the hotel and feeling so relaxed. Totally worth every penny we paid.We certainly will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli, Trincomalee, Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 38 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.