We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pigeon Island Beach Resort - rather overpriced for what it is” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pigeon Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11th Milepost, Nilaveli, Trincomalee, Nilaveli, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nilaveli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pigeon Island Beach Resort - rather overpriced for what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall the hotel is just about adequate, but with rooms at over $200/night for a hotel that would not even qualify for three stars, the room prices are really not reasonable. Nilaveli Beach Hotel about 500m away is slightly cheaper despite being a much better holiday hotel overall (Nilaveli has large well kept gardens, beachfront restaurant, etc)

When we were there we tried to use the spa facilities of Pigeon Island Beach Resort but the guy was not there at all and so no massages were possible during our stay. On one occasion there were not enough guests in the hotel and the management cancelled the buffet breakfast without notice.

It's the same beach all the way along the coast, so does not make any difference what hotel you stay in.

The property has no real facilities to offer as it is on a very narrow strip of land leading down to the beach. If they pricing it a bit more reasonably it would work much better and avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    91
    42
    20
    12
See reviews for
61
108
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiribathgoda, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall experience was good, great place if you love beaches. Friendly staff, rooms are nice and clean. Food is good as well but not much of a variety in the buffet. View of the beach is so great and good place to spend the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a great bolt hole to relax and recover. Great chef, relaxing pool and an amazing swim with friendly (!) sharks on Pigion Island. But the best thing about the hotel was the amazing service - everyone from front of desk to the beach staff were great. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Andy

Thank you very much for your honest review sent to "TripAdvisor"

looking forward to welcome you again at the resort!!

Thank you again for staying with us at the PIGEON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Brieuc, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great stay at Pigeon Island Beach Resort in May 2013. I was there with my family. People aged from 18 months to 72 years old and everybody enjoyed it! The rooms are bright and very spacious, direct access to the swimming pool which is convenient. We were almost the only tourists in the hotel so we had the pool and beach for ourselves. Beach is clean and very nice. Had a nice swim in the warm sea. But the best was the restaurant, they really went the extra mile to give us a great time! Food was excellent and very well presented. From Sri Lankan food (like egg hopers in the morning) to more Western style (lobster!), everything was very tasty. And the staff was super helpful and nice.
Only point to improve: Internet access which is not very easy.
And we found the trip to Pigeon Island was too expensive so we did a lagoon boat ride that was very nice.
We recommend without any problem this hotel.

Room Tip: The standard rooms don't have sea view only pool view, but they are very nice anyway. I guess mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your honest review on TripAdvisor, looking forward to welcome you again at Pigeon island beach resort.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nilaveli beach is tranquil and unspoilt compared to the south, and worth the visit. Our stay has been marred however by the resort's failure to re-pay us an agreed refund for a booking that they made on our behalf, and for which we paid upfront in good faith. We were assured this by both their agent and, moreover, the owner of this hotel who we met. Five months on and repeated requests - no money has been returned. Not entirely honest in my book ...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here in April 2011 and wrote a review at that time classifying it as excellent and unspoiled , I stayed here last month ( April 2013) so was interested to see what had changed. We got very good prices as the season and just started and the hotel was quiet. The service remains charming and the food excellent , I didn't find the food overpriced as noted by other reviewers , it's cheaper than a Colombo Hotel and yes more expensive than guest house food . The seafood is excellent and the beer cheap ! The sea and the beach here are what makes this hotel , it is a shame that further up the coast there is garbage on the beach ( washed up from the sea) but the hotel beach and sea water are fantastic , and no one tries to sell u stuff like down south. Rooms are showing basic wear and tear after 2 years but it doesn't detract from the experience at all , in fact it is to be expected. if you come here alone you might get bored as there is nothing to do expect sleep, hangout on the beach and eat great food , as a couple you can have a lovely time if perfect beach holiday doing pretty much nothing is your thing , the road between Habarana and Trincomalee has really improved so that is a really good thing , I have stayed twice and would return if I ever went back to Sri Lanka, it remains a perfect location and an excellent hotel . only feedback I have for the hotel ( and I shared it with them) was they need umbrellas by the pool as it gets very hot and warn guests about the monkeys that periodically show up at 5am and play on the roof , it isn't the monkeys that surprise u it's the firecrackers the security guards let off to chase the monkeys away, waking up to what sounded like gunfire at 5am was a bit of a surprise ! the monkeys need to chased off , anyone who has seen the damage they cause once they take route in a hotel location will know what I mean ( stealing food of your plate , biting kids etc ) THIS does not happen here because the monkeys are scared off when they show up Every once in a while !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Dover,GB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fantastic week in Pigeon Island Beach Resort, it was our second time, we went for 2 days two years ago and promised ourselves a week there, it was lovely we had the most amazing time, fantastic food, great service the staff are so lovely and friendly as are the Management, weather was amazing as is Sri Lanka can't wait to go back, hopefully will fly into China Bay next time and save the time travelling, thanks to you all Judith and Colin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli, Trincomalee, Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 38 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.