We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wild Haven is the Best Resort in Tala, Bandhavgarh"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Haven Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wild Haven Resort to your Saves list
Wild Haven Resort
Ranchha Road, Adjacent Taj Mahua Kothi | Dist. Umaria, Tala, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tala
Surat, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Wild Haven is the Best Resort in Tala, Bandhavgarh"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The stay @ WILD HAVEN is one of the best stays i have ever had. I and my wife were there for 5 Nights. And believe me we didn't feel like we were in the resort.... the staff, the location made us felt like we are in our own home or farm house.

The most important factor when selecting a resort is a Location, in a trip like this you always desire a place where you only want a sounds of sweet bird/animal calls, a view of never ending forest and a fragrance of freshness, And the location of WILD HAVEN bestows you all these things. The one very good night we saw JACKAL just beside our Tent, what else you want, this sort of thing brings the thrill and excitement and this is what exactly we desire during the trip like this. The most desired Tala Gate is just 2-5 mins away from the resort which is another a very good thing.

With just the AP rate of 2000 rs per night, we were expecting some basic food, but to our very surprise, the food was extraordinarily delicious with varied varieties to have. Veg and Non Veg both are available whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The service is top-notch. Ram Govindji the owner is very very humble & caring. Whatever you want you will get in 5 mins. He is the one who organised our all safaris, and suggested us to do all in TALA zone, and due to him only we saw total 3 tigers including one male. The staff is very supportive and very very caring too especially HEERA SINGH and SURYAPRAKASH. Every night they had arranged personal camp fire for us which was indeed a very admirable thing.

We literally had tears in our eyes when we left the WILD HAVEN. I will come here and stay here only every time I visit Bandhavgarh.

:)

Room Tip: "Every room offers the same level of offerings"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our stay at Wild Haven Resort was unforgettable, a unique experince. The staff is really nice and helpful, manager became a good friend. He also delivered firewood every night. The location is also amazing, in the middle of the forest, very pieceful and relaxing. Our price included all the meals and drinks, water, tea etc...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a great place to base yourself - really friendly and a lovely team running the place who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and relaxed and at home.

The food is all included in the price and I was expecting some pretty basic fare considering the great value of the place - but I could not have been more wrong. The food was excellent and plentiful, to the point that we had such a great breakfast that we were still to full at lunch time to eat again - each meal consisted of a range of veg and non-veg dishes with dinner always consisting of a three course meal.

The staff were excellent although at time so attentive to our needs that it tipped into subservient as opposed to just great service. This did nothing to take away from how welcome we felt - we were woken at 5,30 am every morning with a pot of coffee so we were awake and ready before we left on the early morning safari - they brought us fire wood and drinks to our tent as and when we wanted.

A few very small niggles (but they did not take away from a wonderful stay):

- Hot water was a hot bucket of water rather than a hot shower
- The tents got cold over night - a small heater would have made us more comfortable
- If you bought extras (like beers and bottle of water) they were on the expensive side (200 rps for a large Kingfisher and 35 rps for a bottle of drinking water) but considering the overall value of the offering - this did not make for an expensive stay by any means

Room Tip: Take a torch and be prepared for some very cold weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Ram and his friendly team of staff. The best way I can describe our experience in one of the safari tents is like camping, with a butler. Food and drinks were brought to us when we wanted them, firewood was delivered every evening to keep us warm, safaris and taxis were booked, the tent was cleaned thoroughly every day. The standard meals were excellent - lots of variety every day and huge portions. Quite why the last reviewer wanted to go off-menu, I have no idea. Additional items like beer and papads were very reasonably priced - particularly given that the nearest town for supplies is 30k away, 10k of it on the roughest roads I've ever been on.

Overall a brilliant experience, although we were there during the coldest time of year so after dark it got very chilly indeed. Would be nice if they could heat the tents as well as give guests lots of blankets and duvets.

Room Tip: All the rooms/tents are good - make sure you take torches/lanterns etc for power cuts and additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coochbehar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

never visit wild haven resort ok rooms but manager is very pathetic. manager qoutes a certain rates while check in and then asks for rate hike at the time of check out. very unreliable man. all food items excluding your package is sky high prices not even 5 star resorts charge so high rates on food. i would to inform you all if you dont want to waste your money and trip then please please avoid this resort.

Room Tip: never visit this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I highly recommend this place! The cottages were basic but comfortable. The service and food was fantastic. It's not luxury but very comfortable and pleasant. Everything was reasonably priced too. Lots of monkeys and birds around camp and they organized all the safaris for us. Out of four safaris we saw tigers on two of them, we couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I chose Wild Haven after having read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor and I have not regretted it in any way. The host Mr. Ram Govind and his staff are an exceptional team going the extra mile every time to ensure that their guests are comfortable and their needs are taken care of. After checking in, we found that the rooms we were in didn't have a television and Mr. Ram Govind immediately arranged for us to change the rooms. Not only that, he also ensured some of our individual tastes around the food was catered to. All in all, I have never had so much personal attention paid in any of the hotels I have stayed specially in exotic locations such as these.

The location of this property is excellent being right next to Mahua Kothi owned and operated by the Taj Group though it is probably less than half of what it costs in Mahua Kothi. The Tala gate is at stone's throw and a 2 minute ride is all you need to reach the gate. The property is very well laid out with expansive spaces and trees all over for you to relax. Given that the Mahua Kothi is adjacent and sometimes the animals in Zone 3 enter the vast areas owned by Mahua Kothi, you might even chance to see many animals even within this property during your stay. I am told many previous guests have even seen the king of the jungle walk by through the premises. On the day we were leaving we saw a lot of wild boars in the morning in Mahua Kothi and the staff were telling us that a tiger must be nearby. Lo and behold as we were driving down the exit road of the park towards Umaria, we saw a fully grown male and a female cub which is now in Zone 3 resting by the side of the road.

Mr. Ram Govind now has taken over the management of the resort and takes every effort to ensure that his guests are taken care of. He is in the process of renovating the place slowly and I hope he can take care of all the minor kinks soon. I am sure once the renovation is completely done, this property is going to vie with some of the top rated ones in Bandhavgarh.

Room Tip: Being in the forest, the nights and early mornings tend to get pretty cold while the days are piping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Haven Resort

Address: Ranchha Road, Adjacent Taj Mahua Kothi | Dist. Umaria, Tala, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park > Tala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Wild Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Haven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.