We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cozy with a fantastic view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagles Nest Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kentish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagles Nest Retreat
Save
You added Eagles Nest Retreat to your Saves list
West Kentish, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 West Kentish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Beautiful and cozy with a fantastic view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Such a fabulous get away spot. We spent 4 nights here and our group had a total of 6 people - plenty of space for everyone. A great space for cooking and outdoor BBQs. A short drive from Devonport and Sheffield is only 10 minutes away. The house is clean and welcoming. Des the owner was incredibly accommodating. We will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
93
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We recently stayed at Eagles Nest II for two nights for my birthday – and loved every minute! From the moment we arrived, Des made sure that we were very comfortable and felt right at home – and was even there to welcome us personally. Des thinks of everything that you could possibly need, and makes sure that you have it available (including provisions for a wonderful fresh breakfast – some of the best eggs we’ve ever had!). The house itself was warm and comfortable, and the scenery it overlooks is nothing short of stunning. We have stayed in a lot of places, and Eagles Nest is one of our all-time favorites. And as Des says, if you can’t relax at Eagles Nest, you can’t relax anywhere ☺ We would also highly recommend you check out Simon from “Luxury Experiences Tasmania” – he cooked us the most amazing dinner! We will definitely be back to Eagles Nest Retreat – it’s absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just spent 1 night at Eagles Nest 1 for our 5th anniversary, we arrived on a cold rainy afternoon to be greeted by a roaring fire, the whole experience was fantastic, loved the outdoor spa in the rain. Thank you Des for providing such beautiful accommodation with views money can't buy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I travelled to Eagles nest a couple of years ago and it has been the most rewarding experience I have had to date. It is competely personal and private but you still receive the kindest care from the hosts. I even accidentally left my phone charger there are they emailed me and offered to post it for free! It is highly recomended for couples, my partner and I spent hours in the outside claw footed spa soaking up the scenery as the sun went down. There is even a jaccuzi inside if you don't feel like venturing outside. There is also a skylight directly under the upstairs bed which let's you view the breathtaking stars that are abundant in that area. Beautiful fresh produce awaits you in the kitchen to ensure your breakfast is as magnificant as every other aspect of this warm, architecturaly stunning house hidden on top of the hill amongst the mountains of tasmania. It is worth every cent and will always be my most treasured destination in the world. You would be crazy to miss it! We stayed in the hexagon shaped hourse. The smaller of the two. The only thing I would say is that you should get good directions when heading there as due to it's secluded nature it can be difficult to find. Please do yourself a favour and experience this wondertful retreat. It really is everything everyone raves about!

Room Tip: Get some good directions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have just returned from Sheffield where we stayed at Eagles Nest Retreat.
On our arrival we were greeted by the owner, Des Brown. He showed us around the magnificent house that would become our home for the next two days. The view of Mount Roland was breathtaking beautiful. From just about every place in the house you can see the mountain- it is stunning. We recommend climbing Mount Roland, the views of the surrounding area are fantastic, well worth the six hour hike.
We had a great time and would recommend staying here.
Des is building Eagles Nest 3 - can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My family and guests stayed at Eagles Nest II for the marriage of my Dad to (my now) step-mum. The view is stunning, the location truly awesome and a warm Tasmanian welcome awaits you with the ever helpful Des to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The accommodation has amazing (and romantic) views from every vantage point and you can find pretty much everything you need in the well equipped kitchen and living space. The beds are extremely comfortable although the African room offers a true experience as you rise with the sun so those who prefer their lie-ins, beware! Privacy can be an issue for groups, but manageable with a little planning. Altogether, I have to say, magical.

Room Tip: The Mountain room is the only one with curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

What a stunning location and breathtaking scenery. Accommodation was excellent. We stayed in eagles nest 1 for 1 night while touring Tasmania but could have happily stayed for longer. Fantastic views total privacy and a warm welcome from the owner all contributed to a memorable experience which I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagles Nest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Nest Retreat

Address: West Kentish, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield > West Kentish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Kentish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxury honeymoon getaway in Tasmania, Australia, enjoy spa experiences that take you into a world of it's own. Experience exquisite landscape, sensational mountain views from a stunning contemporary Retreat, which is close to Cradle Mountain and is exclusively yours. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagles Nest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.