We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drumoig Golf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Drumoig Golf Hotel to your Saves list
Drumoig Golf Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forgan Drive | Nr St. Andrews, Drumoig, St. Andrews KY16 0DS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a family wedding reception and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed.

The reception was brilliant and very well organised. The food was also lovely and We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
42
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at the Drumoig Hotel at the beginning of December 2012 for a friend's wedding. All staff were very friendly and cheerful and wanted to ensure you had a lovely stay. Unfortunately we missed the breakfast in the morning due to an early start at work the next day, however I heard great reviews. Our room wasn't in the main hotel, but a little annex closeby and was clean and tidy and we especially enjoyed the shortbread left in the oom! The views were spectacular from our room which was lovely to wake up to in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found this a very pleasant hotel. We were trying to stay in Dundee with no luck when this came on laterooms for a great price so we decided to give it a try. It was out in the country but still within easy reach of Dundee. The rooms are split over lodges which made it feel really cosy. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was in good order but turns out our hot and cold taps were labelled wrong so thought we had no hot water. After a quick trip to reception who came up immediately to try and fix the problem we worked it out. The breakfast was very enjoyable only negative was the rather miserable waitress. We will definitely book to go again and would take the clubs next time as looks a lovely course.

Room Tip: View over golf course and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My son and new daughter in law were married in Cancun and held their wedding reception at the Drumoug Golf Hotel .The service we received was second to none, the staff were superb.They did us proud organising a very special night with family and friends.The buffet at the reception was delicious and we had so much to choose from as was our breakfast on the following morning. Our room was very cosy and we had wonderful views overlooking the golf course. I would absolutely book here again and want to thank the whole staff for such a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Me and my husband had our wedding reception at the drumoig recently following our wedding abroad.

We loved the hotel especially the view from the restaurant over looking the golf course. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was large and spacious with a jacuzzi bath which was a lovely touch.

The most impressive thing about the hotel was the staff. Lynn helped us plan our reception which was a Mexican theme and the chef cooked the best enchiladas! On the night we wanted for nothing as Lynn and the staff were always on hand. Lynn did a fantastic job of making sure the speeches etc run smoothly.

The breakfast the next day was fantastic, with a great selection of cereals, fruit and hot items. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we are glad we choose the drumoig for our important celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here last week for a family wedding. Everything was perfect the staff are excellent and the rooms cosy. Although we never played golf the resort is very picturesque and I would reccomend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This review is over 2 separate stays a year apart. It will make sense when you read on...

I had a wedding to photograph in St Andrews August 2011, and with it being an all day affair, chose to stay in the area the night of the wedding. So I had a lot of expensive gear with me, as well as someone's treasured wedding photos on my cards.

I was staying in a twin with my female assistant, and we soon realised that this probably isn't the greatest of places for 2 females, when the receptionist said she had placed us in the main building as we "were female....." Yes it's a golf/stag party type of place so the bar can be a little intimidating when it's full of men and we walk in... Bedroom was comfortable and breakfast was average.

But the class act was after a real busy day, crashed in bed and we are awoken by a drunk man in our LOCKED bedroom, using our toilet facilities... Turns out he had keys.... MASTER KEYS, and couldn't remember what room he was in, and tried every room before deciding that our room was the best to leave a present in the toilet for us.... He came back a second time 10 minutes later.... We received several different stories in the morning and in correspondence with the hotel after our trip. The night porter gave him the master keys when he lost his own key, but chose not to accompany him to his room, letting him find, in the end, our room. He was found in the laundry room in the morning.

After we complained, we were given a free return stay, which funnily enough I took a year to the day of the previous visit. My assistant couldn't stay the night before the wedding, which I did, so she stayed the night after. As a solo traveller this time, the bar was a little intimidating again with drunk golfers but the bar staff were pleasant. I had a decent nights sleep this time, though my assistant the following night said she didn't as she struggled to get to sleep with the noisy drunks in the bar downstairs.

Would I stay again? If I had to, but would look elsewhere first. The fact that it IS quite far out of St Andrews doesn't help either. I think I would prefer to get a B&B in town...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drumoig Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumoig Golf Hotel

Address: Forgan Drive | Nr St. Andrews, Drumoig, St. Andrews KY16 0DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Drumoig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumoig Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
conveniently situated beteen the Home of Golf ST.andrews and CarnoustieDrumoig Golf HOTEL is perfect base to experience the wide range of golf courses avilable in Fife and Anguswith its own par 72 championship golf course set in 250 acres of rolling Fife countryside Drumoig Golf Hotel has all facilities that visiting golfer requires20 bedrooms and 4 luxury bedrooms,Bar,Restaurant,and Golf Driving Range ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Drumoig Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumoig Hotel St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drumoig Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.