We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stonyridge Vineyard

Stonyridge Vineyard
80 Onetangi Rd, Onetangi, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 8822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our second visit to Stonyridge and it was the only vineyard we chose to eat at during our weekend stay. Unfortunately we left feeling really underwhelmed. We've been to other vineyards (Te Whau, Mudbrick, Wild on Waiheke, Casita Miro & Poderi Crisci) to eat on previous occasions and so compared to them, we felt that Stonyridge is just average.
It was lunch and we didn't make a reservation, but seated rather efficiently in the main dining area. Unfortunately, the good service stopped there. Our waitress was pleasant enough, but she seemed pre-occupied with larger tables in our section.
We ordered 4 white wine tasters and the sparkling was lovely! At $3 a pop, we didn't fuss over the cost, but we had just been next door at Saratoga where the tastings were free and we didn't even have to buy a meal there.
We ordered the oysters to start, which were... oysters - but presented really nicely on a bed of rock salt with micro-greens, flower petals and lemon. Then we both had the snapper with saffron crushed potatoes with broadbeans and an apple and ginger topping. This is where the main problem lies... for $35.00 each we expected our taste buds to be blown away - unfortunately it was tasteless (and I've chosen this word carefully!) We could have been chewing on a piece of white bread and wouldn't have know the difference! It was a real shame. The textures were all the same, no crispy skin on the snapper and it was a little overcooked too - an expensive fancy 'fish and chips'. Hopefully this feedback will reach the kitchen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate and consider all feedback that comes our way. Please come visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    79
    26
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious wine, yummy cheese too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We dropped in for wine tasting and were surprised to find delicious wines, expensive though!! We had a couple of glasses with a yummy platter of local cheeses, very nice and relaxing in the vibe covered courtyard.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food and wine, a little too mass market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stonyridge is a delightful spot with good food and its own array of wines. But the place is rather too busy and noisy and the service pro forma.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely platter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Was very busy when we were there, so the wine tasting had very little information with it - we didn't purchase any wines.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shame about the wedding and hens do groups”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked for a Saturday lunch (2 people) and were told on the phone to come early as there were two large groups booked for lunch. They really should have said this would mean zero service and poor ambienece (unless you like looking at strangers weddings)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit. We do get very busy and are a popular vineyard for group bookings, we appreciate your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonyridge Vineyard also viewed

 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Stonyridge Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonyridge Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.