We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great accommodation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands - Waiheke Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onetangi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sands - Waiheke Island
Save
You added The Sands - Waiheke Island to your Saves list
141 The Strand, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1840, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great location and great accommodation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we draw up to the Sands and when our friendly host showed us to our apartment. We had a two bedroom apartment for two nights in the end of September and it was modern, well appointed, spacious, clean and had a picture postcard view of the beach and the sea across.

The beds were cosy, a heater was built in and the kitchen massive and fully equipped. Large lounge and dining and plenty of space for kids. The TV in our unit however was a small CRT unit that should now be placed in a museum. Do not let this bother you. If you come here to watch TV then you’d better not come at all. However, it is handy to have a modern flat screen TV that is now dime a dozen to keep the kids occupied until time is ready for dinner. There is no air conditioning and you may have to close the windows to prevent the insects from coming in at night.

There are nice strolls to be had along the beach any time of the day. The view to the sea is great and that to the land is even better with all the million dollar holiday houses of many fortunate individuals. Short walk gets you to a couple of restaurants and the bus stop is nearby.

If you need shopping or more commerce and more restaurants then you will have to find your way to Oneroa Bay about ten minutes by car. Woolworths grocery supermarket can be found after a short drive. It pays to have own transport as things can become very quiet at night especially off peak. Check with restaurants before hand as many do not trade at night during off peak seasons.

The apartments may not be serviced if your stay is short. We did not find this a huge issue but best check with the management. Ours was one with sea view. Check this too as there appears to be apartments without such a great view. We had a laundry, large fridge, and dishwasher. Overall the apartments are quite new and although a tad expensive (do not forget the cost of the ferry to get to the island) is generally worth the money. The location is great and ideal for a holiday away from all your daily worries.

Room Tip: Some apartments may not have a good sea view. It pays to check if you are keen to have a delightful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waiheke123, Manager at The Sands - Waiheke Island, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and on Waiheke. Our apartments are all individually owned (and furnished) and we are very pleased to advise the television you had in your apartment has since been replaced with a brand new LED television!
We hope to be able to welcome you back another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
18
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I had to pinch myself every morning, waking up to a postcard-perfect view of the beautiful Onetangi beach on Waiheke Island. I visited in September, and the weather was lovely. The apartments are spacious, and are ideal for those who need a getaway where work/family/stress can't follow them.
There are three restaurants within 10 minutes walk, a bus 50 metres away which departs each hour into the main village.
Apartments have everything you need, sans Wi-Fi internet, but this is available up the road for free.
I highly recommend The Sands to anyone, but particularly singles or couples looking for a retreat from the pressures of life. After a week here, you'll absolutely have forgotten about the stress back home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We visited the Sands for a one night stay during a winter weekend. It certainly exceeded our expectations. It was clean, stylish and comfortable and had all the admenities you would need to stay for an extended period of time (Laundry, Fully equipped Kitchen etc...). It would be great to visit this place for a week in summer.
We had a stunning view out to the beach and sea which was about a 2 minute walk away. The accommodation is in a beautiful location, with a long stretch of beach to walk along and a few cafes and restaurants close by, as well as vineyards not far away. Otherwise, the area is fairly relaxed and littered with cute sea side baches.
The service was friendly, helpful and laidback - perfect for Waiheke.
We loved our stay and would definitely recommend The Sands.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Visited the Sands in the winter time, very warm, blue sky and the amazing yellow sand. The accommodation was perfect, very comfortable, friendly hosts and sea views. In my opinion you can't go wrong with The Sands if you are visiting the Island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Great rooms, services and amenities. Good restaurants close by and a beautiful beach to walk along. Proprietors (Gerard and Michelle) are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

If you are looking for great accommodation in a stunning location then this is your place and if it happens to be your wedding and you are sharing it with family and friends from around the world then you have definitely made the very best choice.
Spacious apartments, well appointed and cared for are situated on one of Waiheke's best beaches.
Natalie & Gerard are great hosts and really look after their guests and showcase NZ hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: The Penthouse apartments are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in a (Penthouse suite) and that time has become our perfect holiday destination! The views take your breath away. The apartments are magnificent and cater for every need. We had a most relaxing time at The Sands due to the location, the accomodation and the professional but caring approach from the Managers- Natalie and Gerard. We look forward to returning to The Sands for a stress free holiday in our favourite location in New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands - Waiheke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands - Waiheke Island

Address: 141 The Strand, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1840, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Onetangi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Onetangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Onetangi Beach, The Sands offers a selection of one, two & three bedroom fully self contained apartments. Close to ferry points, wineries and other island attractions. We are only a 35 minute ferry ride from downtown Auckland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sands - Waiheke Island Hotel Waiheke Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands - Waiheke Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.