We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather sad and empty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar

4th Avenue Eatery & Bar
1 Fourth Avenue, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 9-372 2565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 5 Restaurants in Onetangi
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: About Us Stunningly situated on the foreshore of Onetangi Beach, 4th Avenue Eatery and Bar provides unforgettable inventive cuisine in a unique waterfront setting. Offering incredible views of the beautiful Hauraki Gulf, 4th Avenue is designed with an open-air atmosphere and includes an expansive dining room surrounding a lively bar and a beautiful deck where you can hear the waves and watch beach life. Our extensive menus cover from breakfast through to dinner, with a range of vegetarian and lighter options always available. Savour deliciously inventive cuisine that takes the contemporary to the extraordinary. Bold flavours, inspired techniques and the freshest ingredients make every meal amazing. Beach Shop Tucked away next door is our little sister, The Beach Store. Here you'll find all your beach needs from sunblock to jandals & toys for the kids. There's rolled ice creams, cold drinks and snacks plus a few essentials you might have forgotten to pack. We are open every day from 9am until late - our kitchen closes at 8.30Pm at the earliest.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rather sad and empty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Was going to go to Charley's down the road but was busy so decided on 4th Avenue. Bad mistake! The place only had two people inside (should have heeded the obvious). The bar had limited selection (very few beers) and other drinks cabinet was all but empty. Ordered a a side dish which was average and service was (as others said) brisk and unfriendly. If they are going to stay in business, they need to have a good look at themselves. We felt like we were doing them a favour going in there! Give it a miss.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4thAvenue, Owner at 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for your review we are sorry you feel that you didn't have a good experience.
I am a little confused by your comment that the bar had limited selection of beer as we have a full range of beer on tap including the following- Heineken,Tiger,Urdinger, a range of Montheiths Lager, Ales and Cider in fact we are the only outlet on the Island to have Heineken on tap,which is NZ number one's favourite beer. We also have a vast range of bottled beers and ciders an extensive wine list including wines from the Island, a full top shelf of spirits and a range of cocktails.
Everything in the cabinet is baked fresh every day and the cabinet is fully stocked at open of business, quite possibly the cabinet was not full when you arrived as we are a very busy establishment and the home baked goods can sell out very quickly.
As we say we are extremely sorry that you felt unhappy as every customer is very important to us and we strive to give every customer our best service. We are always looking at ourselves and evaluating ourselves to improve our service. And this year we have had great success as our sales our coming up to 40% up. However your experience with us was not a good one and I can only ask you to accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

came to Waiheke and called into this restaurant on a rainy evening and met with a really welcome experience from the manager. It was really cosy with the fire lit and we enjoyed a lovely meal and drinks with our friends. They called us a cab and we got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble. Excellent experience all round

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4thAvenue, Owner at 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great deck and seaviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Worth a visit if they are open! Closed for the two days we were there and opened when we were about to head home, so stopped for brunch, a little on the expensive side though they did have a buy one get one free deal that we didn't take advantage of. Food ok, drinks a little on the expensive side and no Corona!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Business party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We visited here as a business party of 26 and everything was wonderful. Excellent food and service, we will certainly use this place for our meetings again as sitting out on the deck looking at the sea was amazing, and we will highly recommend this place to our friends.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4thAvenue, Owner at 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for your good review. We are try very hard to make all party's go well and it is good to know that you had a good time at 4th Ave.Thanks Again. Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Loved the outside deck the food and staff just wonderful.A great place for families.The coffee was the best I have had. Will be back soon.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4th Avenue Eatery & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.