We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor adventure on Waiheke!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EcoZip Adventures

EcoZip Adventures
150 Trig Hill Road, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 9-372 5646
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$92*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer state-of-the-art flying fox ziplines and an eco-immersive forest walk for nature lovers of all ages. With a complimentary pick up from the island's ferry terminal at Matiatia Wharf, or from Oneroa Village bus stop if you're already on the island, you'll enjoy a "mini-tour" of the island en route to our site on Trig Hill. Upon arrival and welcome at our visitor centre, you will be checked-in, geared up, and readied for one of Auckland's most eco-friendly activities! Three 200m dual flying fox ziplines will fly you smoothly side-by-side with a partner, friend or relative down into a stunning tract of original and regenerating native 'bush' (forest). It's a scenic interpretive walk back to base, where you'll learn about local flora and fauna and the conservation of our spectacular natural environment. With a choice of drop-off locations afterwards, we'll make sure you have plenty of things to do on the island!
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outdoor adventure on Waiheke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Good fun all the way: world class ziplining set-up with three different lines, experienced, friendly and professional staff, and the very best in kiwi ingenuity and engineering. If you're visiting Waiheke Island, this has to be on your 'to-do' list! ...Flying the lines is a phenomenal buzz and it's also a novel way to take in those stunning island views. Hot Tip: I recommend adding a "GoPro" to your ticket for some exciting video footage afterwards! The bush-hikes in-between are also most enjoyable. I just cannot say enough about this ziplining experience or the staff! Our time on Waiheke was short, so the quality of the EcoZip adventure and added bonus of insider tips from the team re other pursuits that may interest us were particularly appreciated. My wife, Ellen, shouted us the trip to Waiheke including ziplining for my birthday... It was pure magic! The experience just could not have been any better. Ellen made a point of speaking with all the staff who were on when we visited, and extends her special personal thanks to: Sally and Peter (Zip Hosts), Charity on reception, the wonderfully helpful John, Jake, Eleanor, Helen, and Gavin, and (the following day) Sarah! A fantastic team of adventure specialists offering a topnotch kiwi experience. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
G'day Stambo_Nz -

Many thanks for finding a few moments to add your thoughts and impressions to Trip Advisor. It's impossible to overstate how important your feedback is to us and we’re incredibly grateful to all our guests that find time to jot down their opinions - especially with a really comprehensive review like this.

Thanks particularly for singling out the members of our team whom you met, who are all glowing with the praise, and also for the top tip about GoPro hire. Our GoPro facility is new for this summer and is proving really popular.

And, not unnaturally, we’re delighted that your whole EcoZip experience seemed to strike the right chords for you and Ellen.

Thanks again for the feedback, warmest best wishes and seasons greetings
Gavin and the EcoZip crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    47
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must do on Waiheke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was just excellent! Good fun, even the nervous one that got dragged along was put at ease and thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff were great, really positive and energetic. The pick up and drop off service made the whole thing really easy. Great views and a good rush, we only wish it could have lasted longer!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
G'day Kiwitrace, and many thanks for finding time to add your review to Trip Advisor

Thanks also for the brilliant feedback. I'm really pleased to read that your guides helped make the whole experience for you, and particularly the nervous member of your party - it's just what we're here for. I'm also glad to hear our minitour pick-up and drop-off service made your experience easy.

Thanks again for your wonderful feedback - we really do appreciate you taking time to tell other travellers your thoughts.

Very best wishes
Gavin and the team at EcoZip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh, enthusiastic company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A great way to spend the afternoon on Waiheke. You could tell that the employees were excited about their jobs, as well they should be. This company has it down, after just 1 year. The ziplines themselves were a little short, but the overall level of service was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful stroll through the forest back to base after the ziplines.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hullo ElaineJ -

Many thanks for taking time to write-up your feedback here on Trip Advisor. Knowing what our clients think of us and business is vitally importaint, so your feedback is invaluable; especially as a new business. I guess I may be a little biased, but its pretty easy to be enthusiastic when you work in one of the best spots in New Zealand - doing, arguably, one of the best jobs in the world!

Thanks again, both for visiting us on Waiheke and for adding your comments here.

Very best wishes
Gavin and the team at EcoZip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangi Wangi, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family fun through the sky over Waiheke!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Thanks guys for a top rate experience at your venue this week. From collecting us on time at the wharf to keeping us safe through the air and explaining your natural surrounds and then back to the wharf it was a great value activity for our family of 4. Thank you for your professional and friendly approach. Good luck for growing your business on Waiheke Island, Auckland. Daniel, Nichole, Liam & Conor O'Neill

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Daniel, Nichole, Liam & Conor - Many thanks indeed for taking time to feedback your thoughts on your EcoZip experience this week; we really do appreciate it.

We're really pleased to read your comments about EcoZip being a great value family activity. Most of the EcoZip team are parents (or, in one case, are about to be), so we all fully understand the need to find experiences that don't break the bank! Thanks also for your good wishes for our business. As we start season two we're excited both about where we've come from (in a fairly packed year) and where we're going over the next 12-months as we get set to welcome even more visitors.

Thanks again for giving EcoZipping a go, and for your great feedback.

All the best
Gavin and the EcoZip team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great family adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a party of 19 family members of varying ages between 10 - 81, and all enjoyed every moment of this experience (after lots of initial apprehension). Staff were very impressive, friendly and highly skilled and the set up worked seamlessly. The zip lines are exhilarating and the forest walk back is just what you need to work down some adrenaline and see some fascinating foliage and another whole ecosystem. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
G'day from a very sunny Waiheke Island, and huge thanks for submitting your review of EcoZip Adventures.

It seems like a long time since Barbara lead the charge of your clan down our ziplines - and to this day she's remembered for leading from the front! In fact, we still talk about the day that we 'zipped' 4 generations of one family.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you and the whole family to EcoZip and to spend a couple of hours in your company. We hope we'll see you back again before too long; but in the meantime many thanks again for your awesome feedback.

Very best wishes
Gavin and the whole team at EcoZip Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoZip Adventures also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to EcoZip Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EcoZip Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.