We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S & R Scott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Onetangi Beach Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Onetangi Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Onetangi Beach Apartments
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5-7 Fourth Avenue | Onetangi Beach, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Onetangi B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“S & R Scott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely receptionist warm welcome and very helpful. Studio room was very comfortable quiet and peaceful sleep. .Dined at both restaurant they were fairly average at the time and many things were not available on the menu at one. Easy bus trip to town and back would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    52
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
31
44
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment in the courtyard -very clean and comfortable. only complaint - the pillows were so hard! Staff very friendly. Only a few steps to the beach which is one of the best beaches in NZ, I think, -the sea water was lukewarm and very clear. Awesome!

Room Tip: Studio Apartment No 11 is quiet and has a nice private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onetangi, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for your review and some feedback on our lovely studio apartments.
We are in a beautiful place aren't we. It has been such an amazing summer as well. Sorry about your pillows, we have swapped them so thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a great spot..would recommend it to anyone. We lovvvvved Charley Farley's. What a great coffee i had and the service was friendly yet efficient! The beach was long and the sand was golden. We went out for dinner but could easily have stayed and cooked in our room. We found the beachfront cafe to be ok but not a patch on Charleys
Everyone was A1....try it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely apartment just across the road from the beach, clean and well appointed with a nice kitchen and BBQ on the deck. There were 2 good size bedrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. Onetangi beach is a beautiful location, Charley Farley's Cafe next door does a great breakfast.

Room Tip: The 2 bed, 2 bath apartments have the better location and better outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onetangi, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Yes it is great having Charlie Farley's next door. Our hard working staff get our coffee fix there as well. Delicous, locally roasted beans.
The Beachfront Cafe is on the other side of us and it is pretty good quality as well so there is some choice here on Onetangi Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Waiheke is an amazing island off Auckland and we spent a fabulous four days here. We shared a two bed two bathroom apartment (7) with friends and it was great. Spacious, cool and spotlessly clean. Tiled flooring throughout and as long as you cleared the bed of any belongings the beds were made each day and clean towels provided. Beds probably could have been more comfortable, but not too bad though pillows not great. All the kitchen crockery and cutlery were modern and clean and the fridge/freezer big and useful.
In the reception office there was info about buses, taxis, cafes as well as a good supply of clean towels to borrow for the beach, which is literally opposite!
Gripe would be lack of free wifi. Had to go to local cafes for this. Bus stops outside the door for the ferry, and other stops en route. One of our great days out was a bus ride to the Stonyridge Winery for lunch, the bus stops right outside!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

You could not ask for better when asking for location, especially for Onetangi. It's close to Charlie's and the breathtaking views of the ocean. The staff are super helpful and I thoroughly enjoyed working with them for the booking. Nothing was an issue! We had a courtyard apartment which served our needs well. Only 2 things to mention. Water pressure in the shower is weak and the queen size bed makes little room for space for hanging anything up. I got the feeling that each apartment might be different but if u out and about and only sleeping there, it's great. I would definitely suggest trying it and next time we will ask for ocean view. Make sure to use there kayaks, they great too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've written a full review, with photos, of our week at Onetangi Beach in my blog: http://www.travelskite.com/2013/02/onetangi-beachfront-apartments-review.html

In short, the position is great, the staff were nice, the accommodation is comfortable but in our room there were lots of things, including a horrible smell, that made me feel we were getting very poor value for our $300 a night.

Be warned that what you see on the website can be quite a lot different from what you get. Or perhaps we were just unlucky. Read the review on the blog and decide for yourself.

Room Tip: Again, avoid unit 24 at all costs. If you want to see the sea, ask for upstairs. The Beach Apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onetangi, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Pamela,
Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor and your personal blog. We have responded to the points that you have made below as we do greatly care about our business and our guest’s experiences.
We welcome feedback of any type. Many guests do not take the time or have the resources to publish their feedback; regardless we take all construction very seriously. You have made some valid points which we will consider although there are some matters that we feel need clarification.
*Our website is highly professional example of our business. The majority of the images do sell the views and the beach as this is why people come to Waiheke. The proximity to the beach is our biggest selling factor. You booked the 2 bedroom beachfront apartment. On this page it does not show nor state any views of the beach available from these apartments. A quote from this page reads as follows:
For proximity to the beautiful beach on Waiheke Island and a little added luxury, the two bedroom beachfront apartments on the ground floor are just a stone’s throw from the beautiful white sands. (Please note: These apartments do not have sea-views.)
*Thanks for your feedback regarding the torn umbrella cover, the out-door foot bath, and the burnt saucepan. These are details that we always work hard not to overlook. Had these problems been mentioned to reception, we could have addressed them immediately. The other beachfront apartments had foot baths so I imagine the one for your apartment may have been misplaced. We have advised the owner of this apartment to have a mattress topper pad placed on the King-Split bed to avoid the look and feel of the bed where it joins in the centre.
*We determined that the smell in your apartment was caused by a leaking hot water cylinder. Unfortunately this was something that we could not have found until your departure as ultimately it required pulling out the washing machine and parts of the wall. This was also the reason for the black (wet looking) bathroom floor tiles. Normally we would move you to another apartment but were not able to move you as we were full during your stay. The house keepers did do a thorough job of cleaning your apartment again to help rid the smell but we know now that it would have done little.
*The electric fault on the oven/ stove top arose during the previous guests stay. We had an electrician look at the issue and we thought we had it repaired before your stay. Unfortunately the problem was not fixed. This was also repaired when we carried out the other repairs. The fact that we made these repairs after you left is probably little consolation now, but the issues that you confronted are not our normal practice.
*Our establishment is considered an Apartment Complex. A daily service is carried out and you can book on-line 24/7. The meaning as per Wikipedia is: An Apartment is a serviced apartment complex that uses a hotel-style booking system. It is similar to renting an apartment, but with no fixed contracts and occupants can "check-out" whenever they wish. This is exactly what we offer.
Pamela we do apologise for the issues in your apartment. We were all unlucky in this instance as we had some major problems with you unit. Maybe we could have been more proactive about your concerns but in our defence, we were not actually aware of many of the issues that you were having until we read about in your blog. When your partner checked out we asked him how his stay was and he replied that he had a lovely time. Thus we were really surprised and disappointed in your review of us.

Regards
Tanya and Peter Russell
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onetangi
4.7 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#1 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Waiheke Island
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#9 of 22 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heartsong Retreat
Heartsong Retreat
#1 of 22 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onetangi Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onetangi Beach Apartments

Address: 5-7 Fourth Avenue | Onetangi Beach, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Onetangi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Onetangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onetangi Beach Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiheke Island holiday accommodation and conference venue on beautiful Onetangi Beach, Waiheke IslandLocated right on Onetangi Beach, the most beautiful beach in the Auckland region, this 2km, north facing white sandy beach is the perfect getaway.Onetangi Beach Apartments is unique in that it has a wide range of modern accommodation for all types of travelers, all in the one location. It is the perfect base for ocean enthusiasts, nature lovers, families, couples, corporate groups, wedding parties or those just looking for a little rest and relaxation.We offer quality, fully serviced holiday accommodation with Spa Pools, Sauna, WiFi and Room Service. Our helpful staff have the local knowledge that will ensure you get the best that Waiheke has to offer, just ask us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Onetangi Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onetangi Beach Apartments Hotel Waiheke Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onetangi Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.