We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous day out with beautiful wine and delicious platters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peacock Sky Vineyard

Peacock Sky Vineyard
152 Trig Hill Road | Waiheke Island, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 (0)9 950 4386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 restaurants in Onetangi
Price range: $28 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary, Café, New Zealand, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Peacock Sky Vineyard is located in the centre of Waiheke Island with views across the Hauraki Gulf to Auckland, on New Zealand's north island. The vines are surrounded by lush native bush overlooking the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. The owners share their verdant home with a flock of wild peacocks from which the vineyard takes its name. Visit The Tasting Room to sample our fine wines, each accompanied by a complimentary food pairing. Stay for a lunch platter or enjoy our Nature Trail.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out with beautiful wine and delicious platters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My girlfriends and I headed off to waiheke island for a girls day out. After reading TA we decided to go to Peacock Sky for lunch. We had the wine rating which was awesome value for money. $7 for four wines and delicious samplers of food matched to the wine. Then we shared the cheese platter and falafels. We were absolutely full by the end of it. We sat outside which was lovely. The service was superb, the wine lovely and the food excellent value for money. Thank you to the owners for a lovely day out. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    125
    24
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“That extra service really made a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had started our day quite late, relaxing in Waiheke style. We opted for some winetasting. After sampling other wines, we finally arrived at Peacock Sky 5 minutes before they were due to close for the day. Connie was closing up, but still welcomed us in and spent plenty of time explaining the wines and chatting about food and wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and loved the amazing differences we tasted with the accompanying food matches. We have made plans to come back for the Sunday long lunch next time we're over. Funny how the wine I bought tastes that much better because the purchasing was such a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Long Lunch on a beautiful Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The "Long Lunch Sundays" at Peacock Sky winery are a must if you are visiting Waiheke in the off season. Connie, one of the owners, comes from an Italian background and she has the ability to create a warm and intimate party for total strangers. By the time we finished the 3 hour lunch we had made friends with the people around us. There was lovely jazz music that accompanied the lavish lunch with Chardonany and a Merlot Malbec from the winery. The menu included a variety of dips, oil and chutneys accompanied by local bread, pumpkin ginger soup, caprese salad with bocconcini cheese, new zealand green lipped mussels in Chardonnay broth, grilled chicken in garlic and Mediterranean meatloaf topped with caramelized onions, salad and rice. The dessert was a yummy tiramisu.

All the courses were delicious, but perhaps not the fine dining that is so prevalent at Waiheke. However the atmosphere was great and we would go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I visited Peacock Sky VIneyard with six of my girlfriends. It was one of three stops on a private winery tour, and it was by far our favorite. The owners (and all staff) go out of their way to make you truly feel at home. One of our friends was not feeling well, and the owner went out of her way to set her up on a reclining lounge chair outside and even brought her chamomile tea. Such a kind and generous gesture! We loved that it is the only winery that does food pairings with each wine. The food AND wine were fabulous! After our tasting, we sat ourside on a private deck with wonderful views and had a delicious lunch. The platters are quite large- we split 3 between the six of us easily. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
1 review
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff at Peacock Sky are some of the most friendly people we have ever met! They are very knowable wine enthusiast, along with their food pairings will make your afternoon magical. I gave them only five stars because trip adviser only has five. (Shame on you trip adviser.) Don't miss this short trip over to one of the most beautiful places you will ever visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peacock Sky Vineyard also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Peacock Sky Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peacock Sky Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.