We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Faultless & Memorable Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Miro

Casita Miro
3 Brown Road | Waiheke Island, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 9-372 7854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casita Miro is a glass pavilion set on a hill in the middle of a vineyard. The views from the restaurant are across the vineyard and the village to the sea at Onetangi. The restaurant was judged Auckland's Best Rural Restaurant in the 2011 Audi-Metro restaurant awards and it was second place in 2012, and has been a runner up or finalist every year since. It is a very highly ranked Casual Bistro, and the proprietor, Cat Vosper was judged Auckland's Restaurant Personality of the Year for 2011. Casita Miro serves an eclectic mix of Spanish tapas and Moroccan food, using fresh local and New Zealand produce. Even the fish is caught in the sea within a few kilometres of the restaurant. Chef Cristian Hozzac has cooked in the a Michelin starred restaurant in the UK, as well as at top class New Zealand restaurants. The owner/manager is Cat Vosper, and the winemaker / mosaicist is Dr Barnett Bond. They are married with three children, one of whom works in the restaurant.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Faultless & Memorable Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I ate at this wonderful restaurant last weekend with two friends, one a Master of Wines. The food was excellent: both our own choices and the recommendations of our hostess / waitress, with the quality of the ingredients shining through. The wines were perfect: particularly the excellent fino - another recommendation. The atmosphere is great: its casual and without any of the pretensions that it could be argued would be entirely justified. The staff were great. Our hostess / waitress (whose name and phone number I sadly failed to get) really complimented and topped off the experience: she made us feel like we were friends rather than customers but attention to detail was faultless and her knowledge of what she was selling was very evident without being forced. You really should visit!
Thank you for a great lunch and a great memory.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    87
    18
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Interesting Addition to Waiheke Cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was the third time we have been to lunch here in about 3-4 years. The dishes are interesting and varied, based around shared plates with a Spanish/Italian bent. We choose the octopus/potato tapas ($16), cockles and choritzo ($14), a salad ($13.50) and pork belly as our main ($26), plus a shared dessert; 3 glasses of wine and the bill came to $150. Not an inexpensive lunch considering what we ate but has lots of ambience and looks out over rolling vineyard plantings. If you are lucky enough to be there when the wine "expert" Claire is there you will be very well looked after for wine choices and knowledge. We felt the food needs a bit more flavour - more spice and herbs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magical setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It was evening and the place looked fabulous and the food was wonderful. We had great service and in all made for a special time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must have caught their staff on a bad day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went with five friends, all thought the service was bad. Waitress complained she'd have to prepare a table for us when we arrived. No one served us. So we ordered a bottle from the counter and 15 minutes later they brought out glasses, then another half hour before they brought out the bottle we ordered. The whole time there were staff just cleaning while we waited. Platters were really good though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful restaurant with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have been threes times to Casita Miro and we'll be returning again early June. I can't wait.

It is my favourite vineyard on Waiheke. The Tapas food is so good, with a great selection to choose from. The staff are incredibly friendly, they make dining there feel informal and cozy but still a lovely treat. They have also been knowledgeable on both the food and the wine, making helpful suggestions each time we've visited.

If you like relaxed, informal dining, great food and a lovely friendly atmosphere, you'll love Casita Miro.

It's a very special place on a very special island

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Miro also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Casita Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Miro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.