We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Spain in Auckland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Miro

Casita Miro
3 Brown Road, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 9 372 7854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Onetangi
Price range: $40 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casita Miro is a glass pavilion set on a hill in the middle of a vineyard. The views from the restaurant are across the vineyard and the village to the sea at Onetangi. The restaurant was judged Auckland's Best Rural Restaurant in the 2011 Audi-Metro restaurant awards and it was second place in2012. It was runner up for the Best Casual Bistro, and the proprietor, Cat Vosper was judged Auckland's Restaurant Personality of the Year for 2011. Casita Miro serves an eclectic mix of Spanish tapas and Moroccan food, all using fresh local and New Zealand produce. Even the fish is caught in the sea within a few kilometres of the restaurant. Chef Logan Coath has cooked in the UK, South Africa and around the Mediterranean as well as at top class New Zealand restaurants including Clooney and Cable Bay Vineyards. The manager is Will Thorpe, who is doubly qualified because he is also a top ranked chef.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A bit of Spain in Auckland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We were taken here by friends who are locals and know of this well kept secret. The ambience is wonderful, the outdoor setting quirky (think Gaudi meets Kiwi) and the menu delightful and authentic. It's not cheap but It it's a truly memorable experience. Try the local olive oil and sherry vinegar the latter with local oysters ... Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    76
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Sensational Expreience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We booked for lunch and when we entered asked if we could have a table by the window so we could admire the view. These were unavailable as they had already been booked. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise as the people that did sit at those tables, asked to be moved as it was too hot for them. By about half an hour after we had arrived, the restaurant was full and buzzing. This in no way affected the service we recieved. Our waitress was attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant. The food arrived in a timely manner and was delicious, and was washed down with a bottle of Voignier. Overall a senstational dining experience.
We will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rural Ambience at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Casita has a very special atmosphere. Lovely meal, lovely themes, lovely views, lovely staff, lovely wines... Need I say more?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Restaurant; loved the atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fantastic Atmosphere. We were only there for a small lunch but left very satisfied after having some of their olives, bread with dips, and two tapas. I'll be bringing the girlfriend here later.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Food, service, view, atmosphere absolutely amazing!!!! Loved every part of it. Food is divine will be back for sure :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Miro also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Casita Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Miro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.