We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, amazing food, amazing wine!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Miro

Casita Miro
3 Brown Road, Onetangi, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
+64 9 372 7854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Onetangi
Price range: $40 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casita Miro is a glass pavilion set on a hill in the middle of a vineyard. The views from the restaurant are across the vineyard and the village to the sea at Onetangi. The restaurant was judged Auckland's Best Rural Restaurant in the 2011 Audi-Metro restaurant awards and it was second place in2012. It was runner up for the Best Casual Bistro, and the proprietor, Cat Vosper was judged Auckland's Restaurant Personality of the Year for 2011. Casita Miro serves an eclectic mix of Spanish tapas and Moroccan food, all using fresh local and New Zealand produce. Even the fish is caught in the sea within a few kilometres of the restaurant. Chef Logan Coath has cooked in the UK, South Africa and around the Mediterranean as well as at top class New Zealand restaurants including Clooney and Cable Bay Vineyards. The manager is Will Thorpe, who is doubly qualified because he is also a top ranked chef.
Auckland
1 review
“Amazing place, amazing food, amazing wine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just the place everyone would like to come back because Casita has it all...staff is friendly and always smiling....about food, it is hard to choose, since everything taste like heaven...and the place is just magic, every corner has a special energy which combine with music make your meal a real pleasure...time just flies when I go there!!!! My favorite place in Waiheke Island!! ...don't miss the chance to visit if you are traveling to this beautiful island! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    75
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food and View - Shame About Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant from the owners of our accommodation on the island.
They were spot on regarding the food, the wine, the view and the quirky decor.

However, despite being 6 staff serving there was little to no co-ordination.
We waited until after our entree for our bottle of wine to be served and after dinner we had to ask twice for the dessert menu.

Disappointing as so many great aspects of this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful place for a low key wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I recently got married at Casita Miro. I can not praise the staff highly enough for making our day so magical. The manager Will was helpful, proactive and committed to our day running perfectly. The chef Logan was incredibly accommodating and no dietary restriction seemed to pose a problem for him. Most of all the reason we chose Casita Miro is it hits the key trifecta that makes a restaurant for great for any occasion: delicious food; excellent wine and divine ambience.
Casita Miro is well worth a visit, whether for just a glass of wine lying on the grass under the olive trees whilst taking in the magnificent view or a full three course lunch or dinner.
Bravo!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“madam rouge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A wee climb up the hill but absolutely worth it to see the view on a gorgeous day. The staff were as casual as the relaxing day!! But the tapas and drinks were good. One of our group certainly enjoyed the refreshing lemon drink.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most perfect lunch experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived for our "trust the Chef" tapas lunch at 12.30 on a Saturday afternoon and were there for over three hours soaking up the view, the sunshine and the incredible hospitality.
Each dish we tried was amazing and the staff and owner handled my menu adjustment (no red meat) flawlessly. The restaurant was relaxed yet beautiful and I ended up taking back three bottles of wine to Australia (my total allowance). The best day I've had on Waiheke ever! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Miro also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Casita Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Miro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.