We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charley Farley's

Charley Farley's
21 The Strand, Onetangi, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
(09) 372 4106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Onetangi
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Fabulous food and great staff at Charley Farley's - went for our first wedding anniversary breakfast on Waiheke, stunning outlook to the beach (right across the road!) and really yummy coffee and food, highly recommend to anyone visiting Waiheke on Onetangi Beach

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    106
    30
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stunning outlook and great eggs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We breakfasted at Charley Farley's on a recent Sunday morning on Waiheke. The clientele was a made up of all sorts, from the elderly retiree locals to young families enjoying the weekend sun. It was lovely to see so many people, from all walks, enjoying themselves, although the little darling who decided to throw a tantrum at her father at the next table came close to testing my idyll.

The place is situated right on the beachfront strip at Onetangi, on the northern coast of the Island, and the outlook from tables in the forecourt is simply fantastic. When we were there huge numbers of small fish were schooling in the bay and thousands of seabirds were racing up and down the bay feasting on them - a spectacle like something out of an Attenborough documentary.

The breakfast menu covered all the usual suspects, but very well indeed. We had scrambled eggs and bacon with coffees. The eggs were very well done - not at all dry or crumbly but just a little runny and folded on themselves in the French style. The bacon was crispy but not overdone. They came with two large rounds of flavoursome farmhouse toast and plenty of butter - I just love to melt any spare butter into my eggs for that last taste of luxury and I was not let down! Had the eggs been scrambled with a little chopped parsley, I think they may well have been perfect.

The coffees were great - a nice roast and not too bitter as sometimes happens. In fact as we strolled back along the beachfront we thought you'd probably have to go quite a distance to beat that breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Coffee This Morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Gave Charleys another go after a bad coffee experience a few days ago. Coffee was great this time. Just hope they get my order right next time. Great people though.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were on Waiheke Island for 3 nights, and the house we rented was about 50 metres from Charlie Farleys so it wasn't a hard choice. The staff were excellent, and so friendly on each occasion that we ate there. The food menu was great, and the food itself overall was also great. The atmosphere was very social as was the noise level which in this case added to the atmosphere. You could eat inside or outside with the outside area being very spacious with excellent views of Onetangi beach just across the road. We also enjoyed breakfasts at Charlie Farleys which we thoroughly enjoyed. Unfortunately, we only ate outside once for reasons outlined. The two things that stopped us from giving Charlie Farleys a 5 star rating was the arrogant and selfish smokers being allowed to sit in the outside area smoking while we ate. Secondly, the "Dogs Permitted" in the outside area did not impress, for obvious hygiene reasons. Would we go back?, absolutely, we would just eat inside.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just a Great Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Been here many times before. Just love their scones. This time the coffee wasn't up to its usual standard. I hope this just a one off. Great people and a lovely setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Charley Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley Farley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.