We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Peak Edge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peak Edge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CHATSWORTH BREAK
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stonedge
Lincs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Lovely place in a nice quiet setting. Rooms were spacious and well decorated. Very comfy beds and really lovely bathrooms with a massive bath! All staff we encountered were professional, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very relaxed and food delicious. We ate in the bistro and the food was outstanding and the ambience lovely but a little on the chilly side. Very good location and in a great position for visiting nearby Matlock and Bakewell. All in all a first class stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank yo for taking the time to write you lovely review on your recent stay at The Peak Edge Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your dining experience in The Red Lion Bistro. I am so fortunate to have an amazing team of staff who are so dedicated, hardworking, freindly and professional. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year and hope to welcome you once again. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    41
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
208
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before my wedding, reception extremely welcoming , but as I booked in I realised I'd forgotten my wedding speech, the receptionist offered to pop back to my house as she lived in the same town. I declined but thought this was very kind and excellent service.
The room were amazing, overlooking farmland. I found the wifi code in the brochure to be incorrect but called reception and got the code immediately
The food was beautiful cooked to perfection I don't think you could get better any where else. all through our stay peak edge staff we're incredibly helpful we would definitely stay here again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Many congratulations on your very special Wedding Day and for leaving your wonderful review. I am delighted you chose The Peak Edge Hotel to stay prior to your Wedding. I hope your day was amazing in every way possible, and would like to wish you both a First Merry Christmas as Husband & Wife together, and a Happy New Year. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The team at peak edge provided a first class service for our family at my husbands 50th recently. The venue was perfect and the staff organised things just how we requested. Great communication ! We found everything perfect from the bar service, buffet, d.j. and the newly decorated room provided a beautiful environment We also used the hotel which was first class, lovely rooms, very friendly reception staff and delicious hangover breakfasts served the next day. Friends who stayed also commented how great everything had been . Would highly recommend and will return again and again. Thank you to all the staff involved particularly Kate, Margaret and Karen xx

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review on your husbands 50th Birthday party. I am delighted to read that your whole experience was 'First Class' and would like to thank you for your special thanks to Katie, Margaret and Karen. I am incredibily fortunate to have an amazing and totally dedicated team who work incredibly hard to ensure high standard are always achieved and our guests looked after in every way possible. I would like to thank you for any future recommendations and be delighted to welcome you back, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed as a family of 3 for a long weekend. Very spacious rooms and very comfortable beds...shower could of been stronger but minor point. The pub restaurant was nice but very busy due to a wedding and could not find a seat....the next two evenings were great with a good atmosphere. The food was good.

This is an ideal location for exploring the peaks, we'll worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location for exploring The Peak District and the hotel facilities including the comfortable beds and spaciousness of the bedrooms. However, I would like to sincerely apologise that you struggled to find a seat on the first night of your stay. I trust this was rectifed for you. I hope to welcome you once again, in the not too distant futute. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed for one night. I am usually wary of the phrase "boutique hotel" as this usually means a well-equipped, but tiny and overpriced room. This place is certainly expensive, but with a large bedroom (and bathroom) and a very warm welcome from the receptionist, who explained all the room facilities (the Xmas tree was a nice touch). Very comfortable bed. Ate at the adjoining Red Lion for dinner and breakfast - extremely good food. Lovely quiet position; my room overlooked open countryside.
A few minor gripes: it was cold outside when I stayed, and despite adjusting the room a/c, it never got particularly warm, especially in the bathroom. The inclusive room wifi did not work properly, and with phone and laptop to charge, there were too few power points in the room. However, would most probably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I am delighted that you had a great stay with us recently and that you enjoyed The Peak Edge Hotel's facilities and your dining experience at The Red Lion Bistro. We are fortunate that we are surrounded by open countryside and rolling hills, making us the perfect escape for relaxation and to get away from it all. However, I would like to apologise for the wi-fi internet connection and your room heating difficultites. Our Hotel Reception is manned 24 hours a day and could of assisted you to help resolve these issues immediately for you . We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed 1 night, my wife and myself.
The reception staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, the room was clean, pleasantly decorated with a 'wet room' style En-suite. We had double doors that opened up to a view of the large pond behind the hotel.
The bed was extremely comfortable, shower very good.
Had a relaxing meal in the bistro, the serving staff again, were very welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu.
Food was fabulous with great presentation and flavour combinations.
If there was one issue it was that the password provided in the hotel guide in the room for the WiFi didn't appear to work, however this prevented me from being tempted to start looking at e-mails, so it did me a favour.
We will certainly be visiting again, hopefully for a slightly longer stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the East side of the hotel you will be furthest away from the Bistro, and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us at The Peak Edge Hotel. I am delighted that you had a fantastic time and during your stay you was fortunate to see one of our stunning sunsets. These are truly breathtaking and totally light up the whole sky. I am pleased your stay was very comfortable, relaxing and you had a fabulous dining experience. Thank you for your kind words with regards to my staff. My Team are remarkable and proud of each and everyone of them . I would like to apologise for your Wi-Fi connection difficulties, we have just had our service upgraded which should resolve connection difficulties. I would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The customer service was amazing from checking in to checking out, Karen the receptionist went over and above to make my stay a pleasure, her genuine & warm personality made me feel welcome and that nothing was to much trouble.
When you stay away on regular occasions for business its the little things that make a big difference (e.g. Christmas trees in every room!).
The room was lovely. Very clean and modern with fantastic views out across the countryside
I had room service & breakfast where again the standards were first rate.
I have already recommended this hotel as a meeting venue in work and I am hoping to revisit personally in the future.
Superb place, would highly advise you to book

Room Tip: The York Suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I am delighted you had an exceptional stay with us recently and would like to thank you for leaving your wonderful review. Thank you for your special mention of my Receptionist Karen. Our dedicated Team of Receptionists form a strong and professional core within the hotel, They are incredibly helpful, friendly and have fabulous, friendly personalities. They pay particular attention to get to know our hotel guests, to help and care for them whilst staying with us. I totally agree that the little gestures and helpfulness go a long way, it makes all the difference. The York Suite is stunning in every way, with the fabulous four poster bed, large sofa, wall mounted TV, not to mention the large bath and rainfall shower. It offers pure indulgence and luxury. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your future recommendations, with the possibly host a meeting for your place of work. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 27 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Edge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.