We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Peak Edge Hotel to your Saves list
Peak Edge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for my husbands birthday, when we got there we found we had been upgraded to a feature room which was lovely, bed was comfy and the view was amazing! Staff were very friendly and the receptionist showed us to our room which was a nice touch. We ate in the restaurant and the food was well worth the money breakfast was good as well. We really enjoyed our stay it was perfect for the relaxing weekend that we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for writing your fantastic review and so pleased that you chose The Peak Edge Hotel to celebrate your husbands birthday. Its our absolute pleasure to upgrade you and hope this made your stay even more special. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope you will have fond memories of your time with us. We hope to see you agai in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    51
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
236
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea S.Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I would like to second most of the other reviews for this hotel - it really is a lovely place to stay. Its recently been awarded 4 stars by the AA and its well deserved I think. What makes this place stand out most of all is the staff who are all really friendly and keen to please. Wether this is because its still quite a new place or because its small and privately owned I don't know. I can't remember the last time I booked into a hotel and the receptionist took us up to our room and waited to see if we were happy with it rather than just handing over a key and pointing out the lift!

If I had to make any criticism and it's a small one, its that the smart window blinds in our bedroom didn't really keep out the early morning sun as well as curtains might have done - but that wouldn't stop me going back!

Room Tip: We asked for and got a quiet room, but most of the rooms seem to face the fields and small lake at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am delighted to read your wonderful review and would like to personally thank you for your time you have shown to write. My staff here are truly wonderful and a credit to the business ensuring our guests are all very well looked after. We feel its our professionalism, personal service, attention to detail, and passion that makes each department of the business succeed and also privaely owned. We hope you have some everlastin memories of your time with us and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Place needs Alex Polizzi hair in the bath. No face cloths (flannels) carpet not hoovered from one night to the next. No beakers in the bathroom how do you read in bed sidelights inadequate! No comfy chairs in room want you to go to bar and spend money having a sit down ! Had the white crab meat cannelloni 1 + 1/2 an 20mm dia x 50mm long + tomato crisp £7.95 ? What a rip off. Come on down Marco Pierre White and lets have your verdict! Like the other reviewers have said WEDDINGS take priority! Place very over priced and very tired!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July for a business trip.

The location is great, the room was large and had a great bathroom with a large bath and rain type shower.

The red lion pub next door is also a great venue to spend an evening, we had a nice meal, good wine and the price was very reasonable. The weather was good when we visited and we spent a good few hours in the garden which is so peaceful and overlooks the fields.

No complaints re this hotel and I would go back every time I am in the chesterfield Area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for your excellent review on your recent stay whilst on business in the area. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects regarding your stay at The Peak Edge Hotel and The Red Lion Bistro. We have two stunning outside patio areas that overlook the countryside and hills of the Peak District and with out recent warm weather this summer makes the ideal place to relax and unwind. We do hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Reiterate other comments about Weddings taking over the place. Hotel room was a good size but had a light hanging loose in the bathroom , bed too low and mattress soft with only one pillow. Lacked a sofa and a mini bar.
Food in the Restaurant was very good - pity it was spoilt by the noise levels caused by Wedding party. Had the Restaurant been integral with the Hotel it would have been much better.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and delighted that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us. However, I would like to sincerely apologise that during evening service in the Bistro, was affected by the wedding celebrations that took place. That night, we experienced an increased volume of wedding guests that overspilt from out the dedicated function suite into the Bistro. This was addressed the morning after, with utmost priority and urgency, to ensure that this situation does not happen again. Also volume levels for the music settings have been reduced. Sincere apologies again, but hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have to say this one of the nicest place I have stayed at. Ample parking, great location, a feel of space and peacefulness. The reception staff were courteous and very helpful as were the staff in the restaurant. The room was exceptionally clean and very spacious and the bed was just outstanding.

Food was excellent, hotel excellent, service with a smile, I left with a smile.

Next time I am in the area I will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am delighted that you had an excellent stay with us recently whilst on business. Thank you for your wonderful and valued review. We work exceptionally hard in each area of the Hotel and Bistro to ensure you are very well looked after and glad you left with a smile. We have some excellent leisure break offers should you wish to return to explore the area in the future when not on Business. Currently, we have a Chatsworth House Break for a Superior Room, Sunday-Thursday, 2 tickets to Chatsworth House and Gardens, Complimentary Fizz in your room on arrival just for £159. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice location , but beware of wedding parties as they take over the whole hotel and the bar .
The Food was average to be honest , very small portions next to a noisy bar if a wedding is taking place , which was the case on all three days we were there .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review, we highly value your comments. We would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused from the weddings during your stay with us. We experienced unusually high volumes of numbers, for these particular wedding parties, that unfortunately over-spilt from out of their dedicated function suites. We have completely addressed this situation and have now got stringent number controls in place to ensure that this does not happen in the future and that the Bistro will be not be affected like this again. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 27 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Edge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.