We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service, falsely advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colliers International Casuarina Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colliers International Casuarina Beach to your Saves list
Colliers International Casuarina Beach
1 Barclay Drive, Casuarina, New South Wales 2487, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service, falsely advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our rooms were advertised with queen beds but instead had singles pushed together. The bedding had no appropriate linen, no fitted sheet or doona covers.
The service was poor with no phone numbers to contact on weekends and public holidays and diverted lines to other resorts who were unable to help.
The manager was rude and inconsiderate of our concerns. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce D, Manager at Colliers International Casuarina Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello Cath,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I am disappointed to see that your stay with our property was not as expected. In 2013 we changed brands to Colliers International and would love to invite you back to experience the difference. If this is something you would consider, please email us at reservations.casuarina@colliers.com
Kind regards

Bryce Donnelly
Reservations Manager - Colliers International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at Cottonbeach resort for 2 nights over New Years. We had a 3 bedroom deluxe apartment on ground floor with plunge pool. The apartment was beautiful, clean and well furnished. We had no problems with our stay apart from the fact that the cleaning staff hadn't quite finished when we arrived at the apartment however 5 minutes later it was all ours. I would highly recommend the Cottonbeach apartments for a holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce D, Manager at Colliers International Casuarina Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi LittleMissShop!
Thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and apologies for the housekeeping error. Hope to see you again!
Kind regards

Bryce Donnelly
Reservations Manager - Colliers International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Cotton Beach Apartments for two nights in the last weekend of October, which was just perfect weather! It was our first holiday as a family (usually it's just my husband and I but this time we decided to take our daughter along) so I wanted something large and with a good useable kitchen.

Our check in at Colliers was pleasant and very easy to find. I called up previously to arrange a plunge pool apartment and the lady on the other line (Suzanne) was very helpful. I got to meet her when I checked in at noon (normally 2pm checkin but we were able to go early!) and she offered us free late checkout at 2pm, which was wonderful!!

We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of our unit, a three bedroom deluxe with plunge pool. Having our own private pool was great - especially with an active four year old!

We went shopping nearby at Kingscliff and stocked up on the essentials. The kitchen was great for cooking and entertaining, although they could certainly use a restock as the frying pan was small and scratched and there was only one saucepan. They had a good stock of plastic cups, which is great when there's kids around.

The communal pools were fantastic - great for young and old, and being quite shallow they warmed quickly in the Spring sunshine.

The living room was well equipped with flat screen TV, video, DVD and sound system. They TV had HDMI which worked out well as we brought our PlayStation along to watch BluRays and play games. It turned out well because there was no cable TV and the area did not pick up Chanel 9.

Apart from the no cable TV, the only other issue is that the place was a little dirty. Fluff on the floors, dust on every surface including entertainment unit and all bedside tables, and the outside area was covered with sand and dirt. We had to put a towel at the sliding doors to wipe our feet each time we entered the apartment. I ended up sweeping a lot of the sand, but at over $300 a night I feel I shouldn't need to. Also would have loved to have a second TV in the main bedroom as most other apartments have this feature.

Overall it was a great stay and am looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Call up first to see what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed in a 3 Bedroom Drift Villa and from the time we entered the property were up set with the standard of everything it was not clean at all, the couch was old the carpet stained, showers dirty, not blinds on the windows, smoke butts in outside pots,lamps were broken the list to long to write Not a weekend away to enjoy.it had a smell like a nightclub
If you are looking for somewhere to stay the beach is stunning but do not stay in any of these Villa's you will be very upset that you wasted your money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Salt and Casuarina are lovely family friendly holiday spots. We've stayed in Peppers and Domain Casuarina Beach at Cotton Beach and Drift Apartments. At Easter this year we stayed at Drift in a 3 bedroom apartment. It was well-appointed and modern. The bedrooms were rather small but that's a minor point. Upon booking, we were told we would either end up with other a swim-up or a roof top terrace. Granted, we were a little disappointed when we were ended up with the roof top terrace (having two keen little swimmers in our family) but I was VERY disappointed when I went up to the roof top terrace to see no furniture, no BBQ...nothing. Just tiled space with a smidgen of a view. Just what exactly were we supposed to do up there?! Would go again but wouldn't book unless guaranteed the swim up.

Room Tip: Ask for the swim up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We first holidayed here 6 years ago and it sorely needs updating. We have young children and in some respects it was suitable - the shared grassed area was a plus for us as we were part of a large group and the kids could float around easily. The kids' pool was heated to about 30 degrees and covered. there is a shop and a restaurant on site. However, the pool was closed on Xmas Day and Boxing Day and then only open restricted hours for much of the rest of our stay. The units are poorly stocked with kitchen items and smelled musty, lots of dust around, etc. No way to deadlock the external doors - including the madness of having an external door leading from the kids' room to the carpark! We just had to hope they didn't realise it was there by keeping the blind closed. No patio furniture at all. Silly duvet covered by 2 sheet situation, instead of a proper duvet cover. Virtually no useful storage for clothes. Hanger space but no drawers or shelves at all. Our clothes were piled on the floors of the wardrobes for the week. The beach is close and lovely though. In summary - good location, but needs a total update with newer furniture, storage, kitchens restocked, better hours for the pool over holiday periods, door situation sorting out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I stayed at the Mainwaring Apartments, part of the Domain complex. I stayed in a ground floor apartment, which I recommend you avoid - absolutely no privacy, as these front on to a shared reserve area. The upper units would be much better from this aspect.

The apartments were nicely appointed but poorly maintained - the unit smelled damp, and even had spiders and cobwebs in the corner! The cushions on the sofa were grubby and mouldy. The bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen area were clean and hygienic though (I imagine these are the places that get regular cleaning attention). The kitchen was well appointed with all that you need. The TV was old and the reception very poor.
The other disappointment was the lack of fly screens or security screens - not even on the sliding doors, which meant in summer you have to keep them closed (flies and mosquitos) - and also security is an issue, as you don't want to leave them open without even a security screen in place!
My unit had a small deck area, but it had no furniture so you couldn't sit outside (and there is the privacy issue too).
There is a shared pool area in the complex, and a nice cafe. The complex is right next to the main road to Cabarita, so could have noise issues, though I was there at xmas and it was OK.
The only plus side is that it is very close to a lovely beach and pleasant park areas.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colliers International Casuarina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colliers International Casuarina Beach

Address: 1 Barclay Drive, Casuarina, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Casuarina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Casuarina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Colliers International Casuarina BeachBreathe in the cool morning breeze as you take a brisk morning walk along the shore. Enjoy a refreshing mid-morning swim in the sparkling blue sea or just simply lay back and get a lovely sun-kissed complexion. Colliers Casuarina Beach will provide you a charming and stylish holiday address in Northern NSW, one of Australia’s most breathtaking beach destinations. Created and managed by Colliers International , a world-leading residential and commercial property firm, Colliers Casuarina Beach offers a selection of cosy accommodation in northern NSW.Designed by Australia’s top architects, the Colliers International collection of family accommodation in Casuarina rests a mere stone’s throw away from magnificent white sandy beaches. The Casuarina Beach holiday apartments in five locations gives you easy access to exciting holiday attractions, including the Casuarina Coastal Reserve, nearby Kingscliff and Cabarita, 15 minutes South of Coolangatta. All guests are welcome to use the Recreation club facilities in Central Casuarina, with indoor, outdoor pools and state of the art gymnasium. (Closed main public holidays, Christmas & Easter) All properties, except Drift Villas have onsite pools. Mainwaring apartments are located next to the Recreation Club.We invite you to experience the Colliers International holiday of complete relaxation and recreation now. Colliers Casuarina Beach provides all levels of accommodation styles and amenities to suit all budgets; we bring the finest pleasures and possibilities of Northern New South Wales to the palm of your hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colliers International Casuarina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colliers International Casuarina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.