We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too crowded on sunny days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boe Sommarland

Boe Sommarland
Steintjonnvegen 2 | 3800 Bo I Telemark, 3800, Norway
+47 35 06 16 00
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Scandinavia's biggest waterpark!
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too crowded on sunny days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Good fun for kids and adults, with a variety of slides. We went here on a very warm day, the good thing is that the water in the slides feels refreshing and you don't freeze when coming out of the water, the bad thing is the queue where we waited in line for almost an hour to take the "mot i brøstet". Also for the active kids it is recommendable to be over 140 cm high so there are no restrictions. Feel free to take your own food, very long queues, the burger we had was overcooked and black (so was the replacement after pointing this out) and though the park advertise with having gluten free alternatives, the burger bread was the dryest and softest I have ever encountered.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunhild G, Kundeansvarlig at Boe Sommarland, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Hi!

I'm very glad to hear that you had a nice day in Bø Sommarland.
Regarding the food, I'm sorry for your bad experience and I will forward this message to our Catering manager.

Thank you very much for your review!

Best regards,
Gunhild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    5
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun relaxing place. Worth while to bring your own food and drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good age distribution of slides. The place is not too big and not too small to comfortably do everything in one day. The water is a bit cold in the morning. They could really benefit from some solar heat. So bring an extra swimsuit and warm clothes. The food, drinks and snacks are expensive. I would bring my own picnic next time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good weather = waiting. Bad weather = great time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

They only close the pools during thunderstorms. So I recommend going a day when it's not sunny. Sunny days during high season a lot of people go there. But the water is the same temperature all days, so going during cloudy weather is still great. You get to do more rides and less waiting. But if you go as family, and someone want to stay in the sun, and some want to play in the kids area, then sunny days is fine too.

The changing rooms aren't pretty. And the lockers they rent out are not capable of serving all guests during the high season. Locking stuff up in your car works fine.

Food is not great, but good enough.

It's not close to any major city, so driving from Oslo takes 2,5 hours one way.

You can bring your dog on a leash!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjovik, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great fun for the kids, but not well organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everything about the water and the park itself is great. Loads of fun for the kids even though the lines on the main attractions can be very long.

Getting food there - except the normal french fries and "junk food" is hell though. We spent 1-1.5 hours standing in line for a pizza, and discovered 3 people working so hard they were on the verge of exhaustion. There were several windows where you could order, but all but one were closed on a very busy day. After ordering, we waited another hour for the pizza to be made.

If you're going there and don't like feeding your kids fatty fries and other junk, bring a bag with good food to avoid the long lines and expensive and bad food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great pools, but several issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First of all - and of course the most important - the children will have lots of fun in all the pools and rides. Plenty of stuff to do for youngsters in all ages. But – they have to be prepared to queue up..

Beyond the actual water-fun, things are worse. During vacation-time (which is, yes, the period YOU most likely will visit) it is virtually impossible to find a grassy spot to put your own blanket, so imagine a whole family. Probably not even worth mentioning the sun-beds which are either occupied or reserved for some friends coming later. So – far too small areas to lie down.

The “restaurants” are unfortunately below par. You can choose between overpriced hot-dogs, overpriced hamburgers or overpriced pizzas. There – that’s the complete menu for the entire park. One thumb of for handing out free water with ice cubes. In between the meals you can buy overpriced coffee and ice cream. You may have noticed the word “overpriced” here – the reason being that this is expensive even for Norwegian standards. They could have gotten away with it if the quality matched the prices, but it doesn’t.

Having paid more than 1200 NOK for a two-day pass for one adult and two children you should think that you could at least park your car without flashing your wallet, but no. Parking is 50 NOK/day and this is in the middle of the forest – so there’s no reason for parking here if you’re not going to the park. Do you want to lock your valuables in a locker? OK. It’s 30 NOK + 50 in deposit per day. Not very much, but the principle remains. And it doesn’t entitle you to switch lockers. It’s quite a large area, so you’d want to bring your stuff to lockers in another area when you move – but you can’t.

So – go there and let the children have fun if the weather is nice - but bring you own food and mentally prepare to queue up and sit on a very hard surface 10 cm from other families.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boe Sommarland also viewed

Notodden, Notodden Municipality
Skien, Skien Municipality
 
Bo I Telemark, Bo I Telemark Municipality
Bo I Telemark, Bo I Telemark Municipality
 

Been to Boe Sommarland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boe Sommarland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.