We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality cooking in a fantastic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridgewater Arms

The Bridgewater Arms
Winston DL2 3RN, England
01325 730302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Restaurant and Pub Food at its Best in Beautiful TeesdaleCome and enjoy delicious pub food, highest quality restaurant dining or taste the best of Timothy Taylors fine ales in historic surrounding at The Bridgewater Arms, Winston in Teesdale restaurant and village pub. Our excellent cuisine, varied menu and wonderful ambience combine to provide you with a memorable dining experience. If you like eating out, good pub food, an interesting restaurant menu, the best seafood around, tasty real ales and fine wines, then try dining out at The Bridgewater Arms at Winston.
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quality cooking in a fantastic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Winston is not the place you would go looking for. But go and find it just to eat at this restaurant. The setting is an old school house with a few nice touches to the decor to remind you of it's past. Our party of eight were seated in our own room and the young staff were very attentive through out the meal. The menu has a slight leaning towards sea food but there is plenty of choice on the main menu and with the addition of a specials board, all tastes are catered for. Prices are not over the top at an average of £25 each including drinks, the quality of food served is far in excess of the price charged.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    14
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“A little off the beaten track, but worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This pub is mainly a restaurant but does have a good variety of ales. It is situated in the old School at Winston with plenty of parking. Open log fires make a good atmosphere. The is a varied menu. The food and service is excellant. The only down side it that the meals are expensive for a pub location e.g. £9.00 for a lunchtime starter and over £20.00 for a steak. Some of the dining tables are in the actual bar. For the prices charged a would have expected better seating arrangements.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as usual.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited the Bridgewater Arms with firends on February 13th, it was our Valentines meal (a day early because of work commitments on the 14th).
This was our third visit over the past twelve months- the two previous times we had eaten in the bar, which has a nice cosy atmosphere and a real fire, which was lovely on the night because it was snowing outside.
Because we had eaten in the bar previously, when we booked we requested a table in the restaurant (just to try it).
When we arrived, the owner explained that, because of the bad weather, he didn't expect to be very busy that night, and while we were perfectly welcome to eat in the restaurant, we might be the only poeple in there- so we decided to eat in the bar.
As on previous visits, the food was delicious and the beer wasn't bad either !
The two waitresses were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
A very enjoyable evening !
The bill came to just under £200, for four people, three courses each, with drinks, a bottle of wine and brandys afterwards. At less than £50 each I think that was good value.
We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was difficult to choose from a most attractive menu. Food was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. The surroundings were comfortable and the old fire was appreciated. A lovely lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice food BUT...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

nice food but...way overpriced. the restaurant itself is cramped and uncomfortable some tables are actually in the bar area and just not conducive to the fine dining experience I had expected.

The venue itself was pretty disappointing, but the food was really very good, that said, my friends steak ordered rare came cooked well beyond that... bit of a basic mistake!!?

could be a fantastic place but just not quite there for me. on balance I'm prob not going to go back anytime soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridgewater Arms also viewed

Darlington, County Durham
Hutton Magna, North Yorkshire
 
Darlington, County Durham
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 

Been to The Bridgewater Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridgewater Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.