We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Traditional Hotel in Norway’s Fjord Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storfjord Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Storfjord Hotel to your Saves list
Storfjord Hotel
Ovre Glomset, 6260, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Traditional Hotel in Norway’s Fjord Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My family traveled to Norway last summer and stayed at the lovely Storfjord Hotel set high above Glomset Bay on Norway’s western coast. The building is constructed using the traditional lafta technique, whole timbers, hand-cut and insulated with lamb’s wool. Our family of three, husband, wife, and teenager, made ourselves at home in the Bringebaer suite, enjoying the roomy and comfortable accommodations and great breakfasts. But what made our trip especially memorable was a visit with our Norwegian relatives, arranged and hosted by the hotel’s proprietors. Barry and his wife, spent several hours helping us track down our relatives, using a last name and a phone book, the only clues we had when we left Seattle. To our surprise and delight, we made contact and were able to reestablish a connection with my husband’s family! I would recommend the Storfjord to anyone looking for a memorable stay in Norway’s fjord country!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We were very happy with our 4-night stay at Storfjord because of:

1. Its location - tucked away from it all, with fantastic views of the fjord and surrounding mountains, yet close enough to some of the most scenic destinations of Norway - Geirangerfjord, Sunnmore Alps and more...it is strongly recommended that you have your own car to be able to properly explore the surrounding area. There are several walking trails near the resort which we enjoyed taking...

2. Its being such a cosy place - the traditional Lafta building style, with few rooms, hence NOT swarming with guests and staff, lent the place a certain charm that is unique and memorable. All modern amenities are present, but not obtrusively so (some may want a bigger TV with more channels but we never turned on ours). Quality of furnishing, linen, toiletries is very good....the resort layout allows for much privacy and solitude with an upstairs lounge, private dining tables (in addition to a grand one in the dining area), large balconies/garden views for all rooms and outdoor benches. Quaint items and bric-a-brac all around only add to the feeling of retiring to one's own country house for the weekend.

3. Service - the resort owners, Barry and Anna were extremely warm and gracious, going out of their way to make our stay comfortable - be it the loan of a warm jacket, help with booking sightseeing excursions and several other instances...they were always within call for anything we required, and made us feel "at home". Other services like room cleaning were extremely satisfactory. We were also very happy with the food - breakfast spread was suffiently varied, 3-course dinners on par, if not better than our other fine dining experiences in Norway, and sandwiches available for all other times.

All in all - highly recommended for those seeking to escape from the hubbub of city life and a good base for exploring "fjord Norway" and the surrounding countryside!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We found 'boutique hotels' a rare concept in Norway but this hotel deserves the title! Set in an ansolutely stunning location and small enough to feel like you had the place to yourself! The room and the balcony view were lovely. They have an excellent DVD collection but my only suggestion would be a bigger TV! The owners were very helpful and friendly. A gem!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Storfjord hotel and we had a wonderful time. I decided to write the review as I was shocked about the one bad review the hotel had. We had an excellent time at the hotel. The location is wonderful. The rooms are very beautiful and luxurious. We had a view of the fjord and it was heaven getting up in the morning and admiring the midnight sun. The food was very good. The breakfast was of very good quality and the selection more than adequate-fresh fruit, salmon, cold meats, variety of breads..... We had ample help regarding what to do in the area. We went to Valdall - July happened to be the strawberry season and we had a few boxes of them. They were just the best ones we ever had. I would recommed going along the Atlantic road, Trollstigen and the Gerangerfjord. We stayed in Norway for 9 days and moved around the country and this is the best hotel we stayed at.

  • Liked — Beauty of the Hotel, location and friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

My girlfriend and i both early 20's stayed for four days in October this year for a relaxing trip away. The hotel is amazing in every way the views, staff, food and atmosphere. Its warm and cozy just want we wanted after a long day out sightseeing and walking to make the most of the breath taking scenery. Hotel was extremely clean. Kayaks were great fun. The bed was so comfy we could have slept all day. So many different activities and the hosts will send you to the best views around. Have nothing but praise and a hotel for all ages. We had a relaxing time and still had time time to explore. A must stay ...We will be back.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This place is wonderful. The location is stunning, the rooms and the building are beautiful, the owners are friendly and helpful, the food is wonderful, and the service is great. Can't recommend it too highly!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We have recently returned from a trip to Norway that included 3 nights at the Storfjord Hotel. The hotel is wonderful, with spectacular views and incredible service. It was so lovely that it was hard for us to leave. The owners are gracious hosts and are very knowledgeable about the area and the sights to see. They helped us plan our daily outings.
The food was magnificent and the staff was terrific.
Storfjord Hotel is one of those special places that, once you've stayed there, you will never forget. It is truly a beautiful and memorable place.
Storfjord Hotel guest, Atlanta, GA USA

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storfjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storfjord Hotel

Address: Ovre Glomset, 6260, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Skodje Municipality
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodje Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storfjord Hotel is a small luxury timber hotel in Norway. Ideally located for fjord touring near the famous 'Golden Route' and overlooking the Storfjord and Sunnmore Alps, the hotel offers a special atmosphere with unique and beautiful Norwegian style rooms that have balconies and stunning views.A multitude of activites are available throughout winter and summer from spectacular hiking trails to boat tours. The guest-only restaurant serves food made from the finest local ingredients and a wine selection to compliment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Storfjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storfjord Hotel møre Og Romsdal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storfjord Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.