We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horsehoe island camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Island Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matachewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horseshoe Island Camp
Save
You added Horseshoe Island Camp to your Saves list
Box 189, Matachewan, Ontario P0K 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horsehoe island camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just back from a stay at the camp. Four of us caught 400 walleye in a week. Great clean accommodations. Wonderful hosts. Everything is maintained in top shape all the time. The lake is clean and offers endless fishing opportunities. As a group we have stayed there for 14 years now and wouldn't think of changing.

The Sharpe party.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apollo, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family and friends have fished many, many, places in Ontario over the last 50+ years. Many, that is, until we found Horseshoe Island camp. Great cabins, friendly management, fair rates, (and even more than fair on the extras!) terrific fishing too!. Our week here is a "guys" trip often including my sons but it's a great place to bring the kids, the wife, the grandkids and anyone who enjoys the outdoors buts still wants to be comfortable.
Most of us come here for the walleye/pickerel fishing but Mistinikon Lake is truly a "world class" smallmouth fishery as well.

Room Tip: All the cabins are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englehart, Ontario
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at this lovely well set up camp.

Let me just say they sure know how to 'get things right'. They have 'rustic' and 'deluxe' cabins to choose from both on the island and along the mainland.
Both styles are well equipped and VERY clean so choosing one really depends on the number of people in your party or how much space you feel you need.
We chose one of the deluxe cabins on the mainland (cabin#7) and were very pleased with our choice. The deluxe cabins have a larger deck and come with a living area/sofa inside which we felt may be needed should the weather turn nasty (we stayed in Sept). Plus, we had our rather large Golden Retriever staying with us so it allowed space for him to move around too.

You need to bring your own blankets as they only provide sheets and pillowcases for the beds.
I would suggest bringing a sleeping bag that can be unzipped and used as a comforter.

The bathroom has a stand up shower/sink with running hot and cold water but you need to bring your own towels.

The spacious well equipped kitchen area was very functional and had everything we needed. Here again, don't forget to bring tea towels to dry those dishes with and some type of wash cloth (disposable j- cloth worked well for us)

Toilet paper is provided but if you are staying for a week I would suggest bringing along a box of Kleenex and a few rolls of paper towels (just makes life much easier)

Every cabin comes with a BBQ and your very own private dock (also nice)

For our first time on this lake we found the fish 'easy to find' without having to go very far away from the camp.

Our week here was simple wonderful and we would not hesitate to return. I highly recommend this camp to anyone looking to get away from it all but still staying comfortable!

Room Tip: All cabins have lovely views, private docks and are well set up. The bed sizes (double, twin. bunks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you enjoy getting away from the rat race, look no further! Once again 18 of use fellows enjoyed a great week of fishing and the folks that own and run this lovely place are just the nicest folks you would ever want to me! Thanks Horseshoe Island Camp for another great trip!!

Room Tip: If you have someone that is not much in to fishing and just wants to relax, while you fish, this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This September will be my fourth trip in four consecutive years. My friend has stayed at the resort 25+ years. The fishing is excellent and Marg and Don are always there to make your stay comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been fishing at Horseshoe Island Camp for 23 years, every last week of May and for the past several summers for a week during the summer! What a quiet and peaceful place, with great fishing and scenery to boot! Marg and Don run a very clean camp and are lovely people! Great place for a family vacation!

Jim Young

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have been going for 11 years and have never not caught our limit every day we are there. The fishing is fantastic. Each year we have caught Pickeral over 30 inches. Don is always helpful and the cottage is great. There are 10 of us in the group and no one has ever complained about the accomadations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horseshoe Island Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Island Camp

Address: Box 189, Matachewan, Ontario P0K 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Matachewan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Matachewan
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Island Camp Ontario, Canada - Matachewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Island Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.