We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a present” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn
Save
You added Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn to your Saves list
Top Lane, Whitley, Melksham SN12 8QX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitley B&B and Inns
kent uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a present”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I had this visit 2.4.2013 as a gift which should have included wine on arrival we were never offered.The room was clean but tired and sparsly furnished with 1 wooden dining chair a window seat[ with very lumpy cushion] which overlooked the entrance/car park and local housing est. The BBC channel on the television didnot work at all. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The staff were exellent very friendly helpfull and hard working The meal we had in the resturant was well cooked well presented served nice and hot although the set menu could have been a bit more exciting ie liver, fish & chips or meat pie dressed up in fancy chefs language. Our drinks bill seemed very expensive .Over all adequate for a night stay but certainly not comfortable enough for a longer visit

Room Tip: We had room no 2 not recommended for a long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    76
    37
    28
    14
See reviews for
16
173
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We came here as part of the Spring offer (2 nights plus 1 dinner and breakfast). We had already eaten at MPW other two restaurants near Kingsclere and Midhurst and enjoyed the food there so looking forward to this break. We were not disappointed.

The local area is beautiful for the bath stone properties. The property is an old cottage converted with the rooms tastefully added on the back. We received a warm welcome and shown to Room 8 (which we were told was the best room). Lovely large glass doors both to front and rear of bedroom to let the light in and own rear patio plus an upstairs ideal if needing family room. Great modern bathroom. (My only criticism would be that some basic tlc such as painting over some plaster work around the socket, getting marks off the beige curtains and maybe put furniture out on the patio would just make it even better).

Lacock village is a short distance away and worth a visit if you like period properties like us and nice surroundings for afternoon tea.

The restaurant has just had a makeover so is bright and clean. We were pleased the spacious tables and general ambience. The food tastes great and brilliant value (steak about £16). I'm all for the return of a restaurant that is affordable to all yet still feels special. We ate there both nights and would happily return again.

What really made the experience was the staff. Yes they are a very young team but they shine with enthusiasm and keenness to learn all they can from MPW, whom they all speak highly of. Katie runs a tight ship but also very relaxed and professional. Spot on. It is encouraging to see them take pride in their work and feel their ambition to make the restaurant/hotel be successful.

A highlight was to see the man himself dining there on a Saturday night.

We would highly recommend anyone to stay here or even to just eat at the restaurant. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at The Pear Tree on the 24th March & had a fantastic time. The staff are so lovely & welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless & if we had better weather would have made use of the private patio area. The evening meal was utterly delicious & served with a smile. We hurried to breakfast with a few minutes to spare & was greeted by MPW himself & what a lovely guy he was! We chatted for a good 10 minutes & he was the perfect gentleman, then posing for photos. He is very passionate about all of his restaurants & takes a personal interest in the refurbishment to the greatest detail. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Don't be fooled by the website! The Pear Tree has been 'refurbished' - and not for the better. The lovely flagstones have been replaces with a shiny black plastic finish, which is truly awful and out of place. The beautiful dining room table settings, shown on the website, have gone to be replaced with very large singer sewing tables - quite nice in their own way, and good for 4-6 people but hopeless for a couple.
The bedroom (room 3) certainly wasn't refurbished, with hole in the wall next to the bed and a shower complete with mould, an over-short and 'naff' curtain and a tile falling off the plinth. At £80 for a single occupancy, it was very overpriced, especially when paying for the a la carte food.
The food was average at best - but served by very pleasant young staff. In fact, the staff, evening and morning, were lovely, if a little undertrained.
I was staying on business, and decided, prior to my stay, that I would return later with my wife. She would have been very disappointed, had I done so.

Such a shame and a real disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I visited for one overnight stay. We did not really know what to expect. However what we did receive was a warm welcome, great food , service and room all at a reasonable price. The room was very nice and had a great bed and pillows. Good enough to entice us into an afternoon snooze ! We had drinks in the bar prior to our meal and were given tasters of the bitters prior to purchase. Good old fashioned customer service. Our meals were excellent. Yes we had to pay £2.50 for additional portions of veg but that was our choice. we had a further drink at the bar and found the young staff from the manager down to be pleasant and very chatty. We had a great nights sleep and were not disappointed by breakfast. I ordered the English Breakfast. All ingredients were of superb quality. It was a real treat with a choice of cereals and fruit juices to hand. All in all we had a wonderful time. I must compliment the chef and the enthusiasm of the young staff. Yes that includes Zara !

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed and ate here for two nights. We went with a Groupon voucher for £149, which permitted us to two nights, a glass of prosecco each, dinner each evening from a set menu, and breakfast each morning.
Our room was lovely. Very cosy, clean and spacious. We had the family room at the end of the outside rooms. A double bed downstairs and the roof is converted into a twin room. We used this space to put our bags. Only downside was that the bulb in our bedside lamp went out on the first night. Though we called reception for a replacement, it was never done throughout the duration of our stay (but the dud bulb was taken away). But of course this is very minor, compared to the high standard of room.
Food was very rich, indulgent and with generous portions. We did upgrade to the a la carte menu on the second evening, but only because there wasn't much difference in the set menu from the night before. But the set menu does have five choices for starter and main. They were out of prosecco when we stayed, so we were kindly upgraded to champagne. Breakfast was lovely -full English was good, no grease. Porridge with prunes was made well, but I had to return it as I wasn't expecting it to be drowned in quite so much maple syrup. But they provide you with plenty of toast and cereal, so I never made a replacement order.
At the end of our stay we paid an extra £50 for wine and the meal upgrade.
The one thing it was lacking in the restaurant at dinner time was music. It was virtually pin drop silence and people whispering to each other at their tables. So it did create a tense atmosphere.
Staff were all young, maybe 18-20 years and I think left to it. Though they seemed nervous, they were friendly, attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Pear Tree. Rooms were £125 a night, which is not cheap. The room (#4) stank of fungal mold... except to the person I complained to, who couldn't smell a thing, which is odd considering you could smell it from outside the room, yet alone in it. The bathroom window was also broken with a bit of cardboard taped over it. Large room, good shower, comfy bed. But then breakfast took 35 minutes to arrive both mornings, despite us being the first people to order, and we were late for our meeting. So 1/5 for the Pear Tree as a B&B.

The restaurant though, we loved. Friendly young staff, good menu, good food, nice ambiance and very good value for money considering the association with Mr White. Portions were so large that we went to our (stinking) room groaning. 5/5 for the restaurant, and we would happily eat there again... provided we are staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn

Address: Top Lane, Whitley, Melksham SN12 8QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Whitley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree Hotel Whitley
Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn Whitley, Wiltshire - Melksham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Pierre White's Pear Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.