We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne to the left, to the right...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Rilly

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Rilly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Rilly
38 Route de Reims, 51500 Rilly-la-Montagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Champagne to the left, to the right...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautifully situated between Reims and Epernay, this charming chateau has well appointed rooms, helpful staff, and is equidistant to the great caves of Champagne. Situated in a peaceful village, under half an hour to Moët and Veuve Cliquot. Added plus, the dining room provided an excellent dinner and the parking area was filled with rare and top flight cars, including a '24 Rolls Royce touring car!

Room Tip: Each we saw was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay among us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Warmest regards,
Patrica DOTTORE,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    4
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
58
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just stayed 2 nights at Chateau De Rilly. Beautiful peaceful location surrounded by rolling vineyards and rainforest. Stayed in a terrace room well worth it if the weather is good as you have a table and chairs and 2 day beds out there with a lovely view. Rooms were well appointed and only 12 months old, bathroom large with bath and separate shower double basins.
Separate toilet room. Beds comfortable but firm. Wi Fi does not work in room but can be accessed down in the bar area. Breakfast buffet delicious. Good coffee.
We dined in the restaurant both nights. Foods and service very good, prices slightly above average but worth it. There are no other choices close by to dine in. All staff were fantastic.
Friday night they had live music and singing highly recommended.

Room Tip: Terrace room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay among us
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed our services, the room and its terrace.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you again at the Château de Rilly.
Warmest regards,
Patricia DOTTORE
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirimido, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A special mention to the staff, everyone goes out of their way to be helpful and very efficient. The Château has been recently renovated and looks wonderful, it has a beautiful terrace facing a lovely fountain and the wineyards that is very romantic. Location is near to just about everything in the champagne area. There is only one thing that I feel should be in some way changed...and that is "breakfast". There is a coffee machine where you have to make your own coffee, hot chocolate or tea...which I find out of place for the price they ask for breakfast. A part from this, cleanliness and rooms are superb. We had a huge terrace facing the little town of Rilly. All in all I do recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with terrace, on the 2nd floor (the hotel has elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay among us.
We took note of your opinion about the breakfast.
Your comments are extremely important and will help to progress.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely yours,
Patricia Dottore
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This Chateau has been renovated a year ago and is ideally located in the center of the small Champagne Village of Rilly-la-Montagne (15minutes by car from Reims in the direction of Epernay). In this village you have 67 small champagne farmers so a lot to taste!
The hotel has a very nice terrace and a wonderfull restaurant with a nice wine and champagne list. A magnum bottle of good Champagne (Millisième 2006) was only 81€. Menu's start at 36€ for 4 courses.
My compliments also for the staff who where always available and helping us out. They have a good relationship with a lot of Champagne farmers so you can ask them to make reservations for cellar visits and tastings.

Room Tip: Take room 203 (second floor, but there is an elevator) it has a big terrace and a splendid view. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Château de Rilly.
We are truly pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Château de Rilly,
Sincerely yours,
Patricia Dottore
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I think ourselves lucky to have discovered this gem of a place in the Champagne region of France; especially as it has only been open for a year.
I would definitely describe it as a luxurious boutique hotel, with beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms etc., extremely clean and tidy; even the single room had a separate bath and shower. The attention to detail is amazing with CR monograms on everything from the luxurious bed linen and towels to the glasses and tableware.

A plus was tea-making facilities, which is not common in Europe and I am told, tends to be a bit of a Brit thing! But nice when you are tired and want to sit in bed with a cup of tea or hot chocolate. Nice complimentary chocolates too... a pair of champagne stopper shaped chocolates in two different flavours. Just wish there were more...

There are neighbouring properties, which to some could spoil the experience but these are either a champagne house (to the side of the chateau) or a house with a vineyard (to the rear). But the rear terrace is especially beautiful and boasts a wonderful suntrap for most of the afternoon.

The surrounding countryside is breathtaking; fields and fields of heavenly vineyards.

The staff are a mixed bunch. We found the female hotel manager a little unfriendly and austere. She barely spoke two words and seemed to only change toward us when my husband paid a very generous staff tip. Suddenly, she was all smiles and offered us cognac on the house!

But the other staff more than make up for her. Especially the bar man, who thanks to Golden-oldie-London review must be Morgan... we should have asked his name and also the only male who works on reception. Both spoke excellent English, which I realise sounds very pompous and ignorant but our generation just didn't do languages... so to have someone who speaks good English is comforting. Both Morgan and the guy on reception were excellent; warm, friendly and extremely welcoming... nothing was too much for them. They more than just served... they chatted to you like an old friend, were engaging and interested in you as an individual.

We arrived on a Saturday and so enjoyed a very lovely dinner at E55,00 per head for a staggering five courses; (you don't have to have a set menu), but it is very cost effective. Had the most amazing dressed spider crab; followed by grapefruit sorbet; monkfish with lovely broad beans, which usually I don't like!; cheese; the most delicious gentle lemon mousse (made from yurus lemons!?... giant Chinese lemons?); coffee and petit fours.

Champagne is extra of course.

For foodies the Chateau is excellent and after eating recently at the famous Villa D'Este, which was excellent... the Chateau does give the Villa a run for its money. The location is not the same granted, but on a food level this Chateau is producing some of the best food we have ever eaten... and we eat in a lot of popular restaurants.

The champagne isn't over priced and again Morgan and his senior male colleague are more than obliging in recommending a good local champagne, without fleecing you.

Tried some of the more local less manufactored champagne, which was excellent and made me realise just how ignorant we are as champagne drinkers. I shall not mention names but we were amazed to learn that at least three of the biggest selling champagnes in the UK do not have actual vineyards in Champagne. For example, you can go for a walk around Rilly-la-Montagne and see the Taittinger House and its adjacent vineyard. But for three of the biggest selling champagnes in the UK there is no site for the actual vineyards. So this begs the question are these Champagnes actually Champagne!? Are the grapes produced by local growers and then it is bottled elsewhere.... then us daft old Brits and the rest of the world pay through the nose for something that may not be that genuine! Scarey.

So if you love champagne... visit the region and learn about this wonderful produce. We certainly intend to. We will continue to enjoy what we can but will certainly be looking into buying local produce.

The French don't even drink one of the biggest Uk selling brands!

I ramble on.

Back to the chateau. On the downside, the restaurant is closed on a Sunday and Monday, which if you are staying on a Sunday too is a real downer. However, like the Golden-oldie-London, Morgan came to the rescue with ham, cheese and bread and more lovely local champagne. The village offers very little in terms of anything but champagne, and is closed on Sundays and Mondays.

A car is advisable.

The chateau is highly recommended.

Room Tip: My room didn't have a balcony, but there were at least three with balcony, which would be very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay among us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely yours,
Patricia Dottore
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here on a sunday afternoon after a very long drive from England for an overnight stay. Too late for lunch and told by reception to go to Macdonalds. Not a good suggestion to foodies like us. We had booked this chateau because of its Restaurant but it was not open for dinner on Sunday, so had to find alternative restaurant which was excellent. However the day was saved by Morgan the bar man who very kindly arrange a light lunch of bread cheese and ham for us. The chateau is beautiful and the rooms top class. Overall a pleasant experience that could have been so much better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we thank you for your comments about your stay at the Château de Rilly.
We are pleased to read that you did enjoy our Hotel and its rooms.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Warmest regards,
Patrica DOTTORE,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We took a private Champagne tour with an independent guide. We were treated to Chateau de Rilly for lunch. Every morsel was delicious. The service was attentive and pleasant. The setting was absolutely gorgeous. The cost of the lunch was more than we paid for any dinner in France for two weeks so we considered that "dinner" for that day and smiled knowing we got to dine at this truly elegant Chateau. The cost was equivalent to about $125. US dollars for our lunch and we had one glass of Champagne each only. Upon exploration we found that the Chateau had an amazing spa and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateaudeRilly, Directeur général at Chateau de Rilly, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking time to write your opinion about your dinner at our restaurant.
We will be cheerful to welcome you at the hotel.
Waiting for the pleasure to welcome you again,
Sincerely yours,
Patricia DOTTORE,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Rilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Rilly

Address: 38 Route de Reims, 51500 Rilly-la-Montagne, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Rilly-la-Montagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rilly-la-Montagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Reims, the Château de Rilly is the ideal place for discovering the Champagne-Ardenne and its natural park (Parc Naturel Regional de la Montagne de Reims).A paradise immersed in the vineyards of Champagne and created in an old Champagne house in the late19th century.Hotel, restaurant, bar and spa are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Chateau de Rilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Rilly Rilly-La-Montagne, Champagne-Ardenne, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Rilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.