We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winery Douraki

Winery Douraki
Alikampos, Crete 73007, Greece
+30 2825 051761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Alikampos
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dourakis Winery is an award winning boutique winery located at Alikambos,Chania on the island of Crete since 1988. Enjoy a wonderful drive on the Chania- Rethymno highway that run along the north coast of Crete. Leaving Chania behind you will turn right towards Vrisses which is located 32 km's before Rethymno.The stone winery is open year round to visitors who wish to enjoy a tour of its facilities, as well as a full tasting of all the wines. There is also an Art Gallery plus a beautiful museum for you to enjoy!Please make sure that you book your wine tour via email!Looking forward to meeting you all!
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wine travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

You can really travel whole Crete trough this winery in a hour time. Everyone who appreciate wines should be here sooner or later. Terrific offer on highest level. Real treat, terrific. :o

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDouR, Ιδιοκτήτης at Winery Douraki, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank u so much for your kind review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The days I pass through this winery, I always en up having some of the best times in Crete!
I visit the winery occasionally to buy some wine, and EVERY time I visit I have great time with the Dourakis family!
Great recommendation for everybody who is into wine!!

Taste the Carignan which is my favorite!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wine satisfies all 5 senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Should you ever visit Hania and head towards Askufou or Sfakia, make sure that you step by Dourakis Winery. The owners themselves, always welcoming, willing to show you around and introduce you to the secrets of Cretan wine making! Taste it, smell it, enjoy its colour, hold and clink your glasses. An amazing location, with a fantastic view of Apokoronas (make sure that you ask them to let you go to the roof). Their tasteful wines will carry you away.. Don't forget that you are on your way to explore the wonderful villages of the area, so, my advice, get a couple of bottles to enjoy later.. If by any chance it happens that you are there in July you will enjoy one of the winery's established art exhibitions. If not, still, chances are that the Dourakis family will have something special going..

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winner winery!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

An excellent winery, located in a superb location, among the magnificent hills of Alikampos! Should be among the must-see sights in Chania! Very well preserved, with friendly personnel, willing to guide you and explain the secrets of wine making and of course... tasting! If you' re planning a trip in Chania, don't miss it! If you don't... reconsider!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Our group of 5 people visited this fantastic winery. It was a great place at the end of our day. We've been hosted as an long time friends - charm and with a soul. Owner showed us all winery, and after that we started degustation. All of us found their favorite type of wine. And almost all of our choices were different!! :-)

Small winery, little bit out of touristic routes, lovely place with the passion in the air! Strongly recommend you! Thanks Eva (our enormous guide)!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winery Douraki also viewed

Vatolakkos, Chania Prefecture
Kolymbari, Chania Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Winery Douraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winery Douraki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.