We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love stopping in to the White Sails bakery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sails Bakery & Deli

White Sails Bakery & Deli
12930 Peggy's Cove Road, Tantallon, Nova Scotia B3Z 2K4, Canada
902-826-1966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 restaurants in Tantallon
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Canadian, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We love stopping in to the White Sails bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Their smoke meat sandwich is amazing. Fresh bread and warm juicy meat make the trip out Tantallon very worth while! We have stopped in several times and have always received great service! Beautiful scenery! Wish there were more tables indoors though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    37
    15
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Smoked Meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stumbled upon this place on our way to Peggy's Cove. There is nothing about the outside of this tiny roadside building that would necessarily catch your eye but we were hungry and decided to pop in. A lot of places in Nova Scotia are closed in April because this is too early for the tourist season. But this place was open because I'm sure the locals would riot if it ever closed. We had the best Montreal smoked meat sandwich ever. The meat is freshly cooked and sliced right before your eyes and supplied in a most generous portion! Oh, and get a peanut butter square for dessert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Taste of French Canadian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The owner according to "local legend" is from Montreal and has brought his French Canadian recipes with him. We stopped for the Tourtiere Pie, which alas was not ready, so we settled for the Montreal beef and those decadent French Canadian pastries.The food was wonderful, reminded me of my childhood with my Canadian grandparents. Prices were a bit high and service casual, but we certainly enjoyed the cheerful exterior as we lunched at their outdoor picnic area by the water.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasteful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On the way from Peggy's Cove to Fundy National Park, we stopped by this bakery for a late lunch. The sandwiches were little pricy but very big . You can have it for two meals. It was fresh and tasteful. Do not miss it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good food/service and staff attitude terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

stopped at the bakery for lunch, as we heard great things about their smoked meat. the food was average and the service dreadful. After waiting in line for 10 minutes while the cook/service staff bickered, we were addressed with "did you want something". I don't typically wait in a long line for nothing. too bad, as they have a good thing, but poorly organized and managed. Not inexpensive and certainly not worth the pain of ordering and waiting for the order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Sails Bakery & Deli also viewed

Tantallon, Halifax Regional Municipality
Indian Harbour, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Indian Harbour, Halifax Regional Municipality
Tantallon, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to White Sails Bakery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sails Bakery & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.