We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant Lovers will find this distressing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kodanand Elephant Training Centre

Kodanand Elephant Training Centre
Kodanad, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Kodanad
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elephant Lovers will find this distressing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We didn't arrive in time to see any elephants being bathed - all we saw were elephants chained up, even while eating. A beautiful big ele at the front entrance standing there with a huge basket on its back, chained, waiting for some eager over-weight tourist to want a ride. How denigrating and cruel to these beautiful animals. I would not recommend this place to anyone. It had a sad and tragic feel about it - even the workers didn't seem enthused. I'd avoid this place and anything like it. Not for animal lovers!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    9
    4
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great to watch the elephants bathe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to vist here on a tour however the tours no longer go into the camp but when the elephants go to the lake to bathe and be washed that's what the tourists get to see. It was nice to see the young elephants but you cannot touch them or stand to close. The trip to the camp is the opposite to the photos the bookers will show you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid, avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Avoid this place if you have any moral substance. Anybody singing its praises should be ashamed of themselves. We were informed by a cheerful fellow that the camp, sold as a rescue centre, actually just takes the animals from the wild. They then train them to "not be violent around people so that they can participate in processions at festivals". It's clear how they do this from the conduct of the bathers with the elephants when they won't do what they want; they thrash the living daylights out of them with sticks. Some of these have mental points or sharp hooks on the ends. I didn't see any evidence of these being used in all honesty, but why do they need them? Who knows what they do when no tourists are around to see. The whole experience left us cold, and with so many opportunities to see elephants in the wild in this area, I see no reason why anyone would want to pay a 1300 rupee taxi fare to bring them here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings about this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I suppose the clue is in the title - this is an Elephant "Training Centre" and not an Elephant "Sanctuary".

It's important to remember that these are working animals that are being trained for forestry work. The guys training (shouting and yes, occasionally hitting with a stick) the elephants came across as a humourless and rude bunch but they have a difficult job and though they were not exactly gentle with the elephants, they were certainly not cruel or mistreating them.

I suppose being gawped at every day by a group of tourists as you try to train an enormous animal to sit down and lie down to be washed gets a bit tiring for the trainers, but if that's the case then it shouldn't be touted as an attraction for tourists to come and watch.

The elephants themselves are great and the area of river where they are washed is a lovely spot. There is not much to see back at the training centre itself though there are some adult elephants you can look at.

We went with mixed feelings and left with mixed feelings - if you're in the Kochi area and need to kill some time it's fine but certainly not worth a special trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unforgettable elephan ride!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

On the way to munnar we reached there at noon so we missed watching bath of elephants. It is very funny to see 2 little elephants playing with the care takers. Ride on elephant frightened me at first but it was enjoyable. It was a new experience to see stars garden, variety of herbal plants.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodanand Elephant Training Centre also viewed

 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Kodanand Elephant Training Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kodanand Elephant Training Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.