We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norton House is a wonderful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Norton House to your Saves list
Norton House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
newmarket
1 review
“Norton House is a wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed for one night only but were made to feel very welcome. The hosts, Jayne and Bill could'nt have been more welcoming and helpful. Both rooms we stayed in were comfortable and spacious and the breakfast excellent. Ideal location for the local sights, especially symonds yat, which had the most spectacular views. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
119
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Norton House is a wonderful place to stay, from the moment you arrive you are greeted by two wonderful hosts, with a pot of tea and home made brownies. I was traveling alone and felt very at home here. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a very high standard, everything and more has been provided, to make your stay extra special. Breakfast was also fantastic, all locally sourced produce. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My friend and I staid at Norton House for a short break, we booked it on the web as we were looking to stay near the Wye . Ideal location , close to the river for walks and also near the Forest of Dean,we had a lovely twin bedded room. We were made to feel very welcome, given lots of info and tips about the area and where to eat. The breakfast was superb as we had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit , cooked traditional english breakfast, tea or coffee. For dog lovers it is ideal.For people who do not care for dogs it is not a problem as the owners dogs are very well behaved.We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B as a base for exploring the surrounding area

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked this on line and was not disappointed in the facilities. The main plus for me is that it was dog friendly although mine stayed in the car. A beautiful garden with a stream and fountain made sitting outside with a coffee and newspaper very relaxing.

The room was very large as was the bathroom and kitted out with all the usual facilities plus a bowl of fruit and proper size shampoo and bath bubbles etc.

The breakfast was absolutely superb and the hosts were friendly but not intrusive the same as the resident poodles.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We have just spent a lovely weekend here. The house itself is beautiful and our room was really lovely and spacious. On top of that we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast each morning, we had a full english both days but we could have had almost anything we wanted, it was great!

Our hosts, Su & Richard, could not have been more helpful (they gave us lots of advice on places to visit and walks etc) and the homemade cake and pot of tea on arrival was just what we needed after our journey.

Despite the weather (it was January!) we had a couple of great walks along the River Wye and spent a happy morning exploring nearby Monmouth which is a really sweet town. Symonds Yat Rock is not far either which is definitely worth a visit for the views. Altogether a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House

Address: Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jayne & Bill offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Norton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.