We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a B&B..............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Norton House to your Saves list
Norton House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than a B&B..............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed 22nd September. Arrived tired after a long day to be greeted with tea and home made cake - wonderful! Very welcoming hosts with lots of local knowledge on pubs, walks, activities etc. Beautiful old house with fantastic rooms. Breakfast would embarrass some top hotels - really great with lots of variety. Top people, top B&B and top genuine customer service

Room Tip: Go for the room with the 4 poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
119
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights 20th, 21st September. Usually we would stay in a hotel or self catering but Norton House made us realise we have a very dated view of what a B&B is like and we will certainly look to book again.
Perfect spot within easy walking distance of the River Wye and some excellent pubs. Our hosts kindly pointed us in the right direction and gave practical and helpful advice of where to go, walk and eat.
In a hotel you are unlikely to be greeted with tea, coffee and as many homemade cakes as you would like, our dog was greeted warmly with dog biscuits and we sat in a beautiful sitting room when returning home in the evening.
So thumbs up from us and four paws up from Boomer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 13 to 15 September. We had a warm welcome with tea and homemade Brownies. Bill and Jayne gave us lots of ideas for places to visit and eat
We had the doward room which was very comfortable with lots of extras too many too list! The breakfast was delicious with many choices. We would love to return and would certainly recommend Norton House.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levare, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Welcomed with the offer of cake, flapjacks & tea. The room was of an exceptional standard with fruit and bottled water available. Breakfast excellent with a wonderful choice. Jayne & Bill are very helpful and a delight to have met. On our next visit to the area we would certainly try to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Greeted with chocolate brownies and a cup of tea. Felt like we had known Jayne and Bill for years. They were very helpful in helping us plan days out. Wished we could had stayed a day longer. Would certainly stay there agin if we ever find ourselves in the area again. We live in the middle of the country and we were not bothered by the traffic noise. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming and friendly Jayne & Bill were very helpful and had very good knowledge of the area and nothing was too much trouble to them, little extras like fruit and bottle of water in the room were an added bonus as too was Jaynes homemade cake everyday - delicious - cant forget Bills excellent breakfast, perfect - excellent place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future, just spent the weekend making jam so plenty in store...
All the best

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Norton House on the 31st August 2013. The first stop on our motorbike tour of Wales. Bill and Jayne gave us a warm welcome with a lovely pot of tea and home made brownies. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable and the whole of Norton House oozed old world charm. Jayne's croissants stuffed with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were fabulous for breakfast and the home jams delicious. Bill was a mine of information for the best routes to take for spectacular scenery. We had an excellent stay and would highly recommend Norton House to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonHouse, Owner at Norton House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hope the rest of the trip worked our well and your enjoyed our side trips. It was good to have plenty of space in the car park, as it was full of two wheel transport during your stay. Look forward to your next visit sometime in the future.
Take care.
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House

Address: Old Monmouth Road, Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jayne & Bill offer a warm welcome to their C1700 listed home. Oak beams, stripped pine shutters, inglenook fireplaces and stone flagged floors, but with all the modern comforts our guests could wish for. Freshly prepared, locally produced food, cooked on the aga and served in the beautiful oak-beamed dining room. Set in the beautiful Wye Valley, a short walk from the River Wye and Symonds Yat West. B&B and self-catering and we are dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Norton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.