We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Upton Bishop, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7TT, England
+44 1989 780470
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Bedworth UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Finding this 'Little Gem' in a guide to Ross-on-Wye we wondered how on earth it had gotten the name Moody Cow! Mine host Chris explained why and the tale added to our enjoyment of the evening. Fantastic food, great atmosphere, convivial conversation made for an unforgettable evening.
The wait for the food didn't dampen our spirits as this reassured us that it was all cooked to order.
And the coup de grace! When we came to leave Chris offered to escort us to our car with an umbrella on what had turned out to be a very wet Autumn night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the walk you to your car when it is raining with an umbrella service, just a pity we have had to do it quite so often this year!

It was lovely to see you and hope we will see you again soon

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    73
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again a fantastic meal (Sunday Lunch) Chris and his team thank you.
11 lunches, deserts and drinks all round. many people seem to complain about price and small amounts on plates, we are all big eaters and again struggled to finish. total bill £270.00.

The table was ours from 12 until we finished at 1445 hrs, we were not rushed or made to feel that we had to leave so others could have our table(s). A lot to be said for customer care don't you think.

We will return soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you chose the Moody Cow for your family Sunday lunch again and equally delighted that you enjoyed it just as much.

It was a pleasure to serve you and your family and we do hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service and very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Family dinner last week, with a small child. Everyone loved it.

Special mention for the excellent service. We'd only just taken our table and started to look at the menus when one of the team came over and offered us the option of ordering for the little one straight away, so that they could get their food quickly. It's such a simple thing, but it shows a level of thoughtfulness that you rarely come across. It meant that the child was happily occupied, which meant that we were all able to enjoy a relaxing meal.

Food was very good, and freshly cooked. We were very well looked after throughout the meal, by cheerful and efficient staff. Hope to eat there again soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Moody Cow and it is so rewarding when you share your experience with us.

Hope to see you again very soon

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great little pub serving great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Havent been here for a good few years so didn't know what to expect. We weren't disappointed when we booked a table last minute. Still a fantastic little pub with a warm atmosphere in a lovely village setting. Food took its time but it was all freshly cooked and delivered with a smile. Great local beers as well!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to welcome you back to the Moody Cow and really pleased that you enjoyed our homemade food and local ales.

Kindest regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Sunday - thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had previously eaten here on two other occasions - one evening meal in the bar and the other a Sunday lunch in the restaurant. Based on this, we decided to arrange a Sunday lunch for 20 of us to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We mentioned this to Chris and Dawn who said we could have exclusive use of the restaurant. Menus were sent out beforehand so we could choose our starters and mains in advance and everything was well in hand by the time we all arrived. Service came with a smile and the waitress certainly joined in the spirit of the event when asked to help with a few quiz questions. The overall combination of good food and attentive service ensured our celebration was a great success and many of those present have already said they will be returning. Thank you all at The Moody Cow - a great team.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, It was a pleasure to serve your family and friends on Sunday and we are delighted that everyone enjoyed their lunch with us at the Moody Cow.

Kindest regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moody Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.