We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for our family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of May Hill View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
May Hill View
Save
You added May Hill View to your Saves list
Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upton Bishop B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent base for our family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A really lovely flat in a beautiful part of the country. Elaine made us feel very welcome and was very accommodating to our needs with a young baby. Having access to the pool and hottub was a welcomed treat even though there was a small surcharge. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of May Hill View... It was a pleasure to meet you both and your beautiful little girl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the self catering bit of this place. The absolutely undisputed best thing is the super luxurious pool and hot tub facilities. They cost £7.50 pp (2012) for your stay but well worth it. Fab warm 10m pool with toys and raindrop showers for afterwards. Hot tub outdoors with gorgeous view. Could have sat there all day and night! Also a little patio with picnic table and chiminea. Good little collection of gym equip too. The S/C flat is up a steep flight of stairs so no good for those with less mobility or little children. The barn conversion appears to have been carried out some years ago so although kept spotlessly clean is a little dated. There is no central heating and I think it would be hard to keep it warm in very cold weather with the free standing electric heaters. The kitchen facilities are limited but fine for a short stay. The double bed in the main bedroom is very bouncy. Some low doorways so beware if you're over 5'6"!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing May Hill View for your weekend getaway and for your review. So happy to hear you enjoyed the pool and hot tub ... The facilities are always so very popular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time at May Hill View over the Easter holidays. Consistent with the other reviews, I can report that Elaine was very welcoming, and our two children rapidly made friends with her dogs and were happy roaming around her large garden, swinging on the swing and kicking a ball around. The flat is small but fine for the 5 days we stayed, and the area is beautiful, with lots to do as well. Best of all, though, was the swimming pool. We were able to use it whenever we wanted, as long as we told Elaine first, and it was warm enough for the children. Showers in the pool room are great, and the hot tub outside was a treat. Only two things to be aware of if planning a trip here are 1. there are no black out curtains, so a face mask might be sensible, 2. no condiments/spices in the kitchen, so perhaps bring some - although elaine said she might add some, so check first! Bottom line is that we had a wonderful time, and we are hoping to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of May Hill View... and for sending the lovely photograph of your daughter swinging under the cherry blossom in the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We recently had a long weekend (3 nights) at May Hill View to celebrate a special birthday and found both the location and accommodation perfect for our requirements. Three adults and my sisters dog "Blue" stayed in the flat and my daughter and son in law stayed in the bed and breakfast in the house. We found May Hill View to be exactly as it was written "on the t'in-ternet", what we didn't expect was the kindness from Elaine the perfect host. From the moment we arrived and met Elaine and her 2 gorgeous dogs we knew that we would enjoy our stay and we were not disappointed. Yes there are steps to the flat and perhaps that should be made clear for those unable to climb but this did not affect our stay, and yes the cottage is compact and slightly tired in places, but the cleanliness and little extras that Elaine has thought about out weighs any imperfections. The extra luxury of having the use of Elane's swimming pool and hot tub for a small fee to cover running costs was brilliant, and the time restrictions or having to arrange the times were no inconvenience to us, Elaine was very accommodating to our requested times, and we had more than enough time in both the swimming pool and hot tub. The breakfast is continental but having the freedom to have breakfast when you like also suited us and there was more than enough food placed in the fridge the day before. Symonds Yat Rock is well worth a visit from above and below the rock there is so much scenery to see, and loads of walks nearby. We had food in the Saracens head at Symonds Yat Rock and also ate at a pub called the New Inn, which has a poster outside saying "dogs children and muddy boots welcome!" Morrisons supermarket is less than 5 miles and the M50 less than 2 miles away. Elaines dogs Coco and Louis are adorable and yes they bark when someone arrives at the house or enters their garden but then that would be one of the reasons for having dogs, wouldnt it? We will definitely return to May Hill View.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you all staying at May Hill View for the special birthday weekend and you were so lucky with the weather too! Hopefully you will have some lovely photos of ducks in the hot tub and maybe even a Houdini style story to tell!!! Would be a delight to have you stay again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Lovely welcome from the very friendly owner
Cottage is very tiny, but spotless and well looked after
Lovely shower room with electric shower.
Unlimited heating
Steep stairs up to cottage.
Kitchen is only a side of the lounge, a lot, lot smaller than it looks on the pics
TV is tiny, we had to move the sofa to within a foot of it to see it.
No wi-fi
Running machine needs repair. No display working on bike or cross-trainer. Gym tiny, cramped and cold
Pool very cold, showers lovely and warm
Felt uncomfortable and time limited in the gym/pool. Only allowed one hour a day and have to go to main house for key.
Didn't try the jacuzzi as £35 for an hour seemed steep.
Hot plate when switched on blew all the fuses in the cottage.
Dogs woke us at 7am with constant barking and were not told to be quiet - barking continued all day
Curtains in bedrooms very thin so you need an eyemask (and ear plugs for the dogs)

Summary - nice enough place for two people (top bunk has no ladder and bottom bunk on floor) but we wouldn't go again which is a shame as it is in a gorgeous place.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to cottage so no disabled people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at May Hill View. I like to encourage both B&B and Self Catering guests to give feedback – preferably whilst here giving me opportunity to address any issues immediately – but also post visit as in your case which then enables future guests to make their own judgement when looking at all reviews.
It is always a good idea for prospective guests to check any particular requirements on our website where we try our best to give a comprehensive and honest description of our facilities. Any misunderstandings regarding facilities and pricing can then be queried if necessary prior to making the booking.
Perhaps we didn’t quite meet your expectations on this occasion but, even though not staying with you at May Hill View, I am glad your son was able to have a swim with you and that you were able to delay your check out until 3pm. Being independent means we can afford that flexibility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 1 night during half term week as we wanted to see the Severn bore and chose May Hill View as it was recommended by a link from the Severn Bore website. Great place to stay, Elaine goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and the accommodation is very clean, pleasant and quaint. We were a mature group but can definately recommend for families with young children as the indoor pool makes an excellent facility which we were able to use (lots of inflatables and water polo net supplied-great fun!) and the shower/changing areas were excellent. Could not use outside jacuzzi due to weather and time restraints but have no hesitation in recommending this as a base to explore surrounding areas. Breakfast (continental) style was ample and well presented. Very clean and tidy. Our friends stayed in the double bedroom in the main house and were comfortable there as well, with tea making facilities and en-suite. Would have been happy to stay longer had it not been for weekend committments, but definately have no hesitaton in recommending Elaine and May Hill View.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you Russell for taking the time to write such lovely comments in your review of May Hill View. A short visit as you say-but it was a pleasure to meet you all.... Hopefully you may return one day - you still have to try the hot tub!! Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in the self catering option. We had a fun packed week of adventures and loved coming back to our home for the week. Elaine was very welcoming and gave us everything we wanted. The location was great for walking our collie 'Rolo' with an average 15 minutes drive to the forestry commission. The week ended perfectly with a dip in the pool and a long romantic soak in the spa. Well worth the extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyLarge, Owner at May Hill View, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for the review - so glad you and Rolo enjoyed your stay here. ps The earring - found in the Jacuzzi - is on its way !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to May Hill View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hill View

Address: Lower Rylands, Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Upton Bishop
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upton Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hill View offers 4 star boutique accommodation. The perfect peaceful retreat and excellent base for exploring the beautiful Herefordshire Countryside, The Wye Valley, Forest of Dean, Cheltenham and Gloucester. A warm and friendly welcome awaits guests to May Hill View with many making return visits. Couples and families alike enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and private use of the Indoor Swimming Pool and other Leisure Facilities onsite. May Hill View is available for Bed and Breakfast, Self Catering or Room-Only Accommodation throughout the year. Long or short breaks, romantic getaways or business trips. Small dogs welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May Hill View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.