We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable accomodation in a castle close to Brussels Airport Cargo area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel to your Saves list
Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel
Sellaerstraat 42, Melsbroek B-1820, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
haarlemmermeer
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“affordable accomodation in a castle close to Brussels Airport Cargo area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

newly renovated stunning little castle in a small village about 2miles from brucargo area. main attraction and focus of the castle are (partly underground) water-, pool-, massage- and sauna features in various forms called "thermae" with luxurious appearance. the rooms can also be booked without thermae arrangement and come with free ample breakfast in the castle restaurant. very nice! rooms are large with tv (only 36 or so channels), well stocked minibar/fridge and senseo coffee machine. bedroom and bathroom are nicely decorated (see pictures). overall a surprisingly awesome experience with "wow" moments already upon arrival and parking the car (free). a car is mandatory, but a busstop for the insight traveller is close by. town itself offers nothing, but there is a large "delhaize" supermarket at brucargo, 10min drive. no restaurants, but the one in the castle, in the surroundings. bring your fresh crispy belgium sandwiches along :-)) I rate it only 4 out of 5points because a) chance of heavy aircraft noise in the middle of the night b) invoice for business travellers is not available upon check out and will only be sent to your address once at the end of each month, which is an absolute service failure in my opinion. wake up management: this can not be so difficult!?! nevertheless, everything else was georgeous and I would always stay here again, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with lesser aircraft noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    25
    12
    11
See reviews for
4
69
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were here for one night and a day (spring package - promo with overnight stay 95€/per person on their website) in May 2011. You can reach the Spa without a car (train + local bus + less than 10 min walk). The castle, its garden, the spa.. all very beautiful, romantic and well maintained.

We were a bit wary as talking to the staff on the phone a few times for reservation and informations, they seemed rude.

Unfortunately the staff is not warm, not smiling, not especially polite nor anything positive at all.. Well, expect one tall dark haired waiter in the restaurant.

It's very unfortunate indeed as otherwise the experience of the place would be completely different, as you really come to a Spa to relax and feel at ease.

The hotel rooms are very nice, separate beds thought, but we just pushed them together. There's something to make yourself coffee and tea and everything is nice and clean. The downside was that our room was very dark, the lamps are economical / ecological and give only feeble light.

The morning we noticed that they had booked us our massage at the same time we should had emptied the room, which was actually also the deadline to get a breakfast... We went to the desk to ask for them to change the appointment and that worked well.

We got naked and put the Spa's dressing gowns on, left our rooms and put our stuff in the lockers. Then we were able to head to the restaurant to get a breakfast (you can't get there with your clothes on).
There was some confusion with the waiter there who asked us our room number, disappeared for few minutes to get back at us saying that it was impossible our room was the number we claimed... But after double check, he found out we were really in that room... no excuse, no smile...
Breakfast was pretty good. Only problem was that the room was empty (middle of the week) except for the not-that-nice waiter standing there near us and so we felt uncomfortable talking about our private stuff, as couples do... Maybe he was standing there just to serve us better, but as he wasn't smiling nor especially polite it didn't feel so.

Anyway, the Spa was a nice surprise. Large and clean.
The problems are that the Finnish sauna is not warm enough - you cannot throw water on the stones, the showers are bad - they don't have hoses that would allow you for instance to shower very cold water on your legs only after the sauna, the pools and jacuzzis are all the same really - when they could have massage jets of different sorts. Instead there's plenty of different saunas - not warm enough except for the hammam maybe..

The "naked" side is much better and larger. There's no perverts or alike. People behave very nicely and respectfully. The large relaxation / silence room has a very special ambiance. We just loved it.

Having a lunch at the restaurant in your morning gown is very funny, you really feel like being on vacation. The food was very good and light if we wanted it so. After you can have a walk in the beautiful little park. Charming.

The massages' we got were nice, really relaxing for a 25'.They were made to us at the same time, in the same room, nice idea! Of course my boyfriend didn't find the touch strong / efficient enough. But maybe that was the choice of the massage included in the package and probably it would be better to express what you want to the masseur beforehand.

A day there passes fast. It's a nice place to go, good price.

Though now we are planning another Spa weekend and, remembering the attitude of the staff we don't feel like coming back. We're going to try the classic Thermes de Spa. It seems more attracting also as the treatments are more specific... We'll see!

Room Tip: If you don't live nearby, the Promo package with an overnight stay is a good choice. Also if I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg,
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Only 6 hotel rooms, but stunning interiors. Restaurant and mini bar prices are surprisingly low for the Brussels area. Food and service are OK, but the warm dishes for breakfast could be improved. Well elaborated split for dressed and undressed sauna landscape users.
Overall impression : entrance for 1 day visitors is not coming cheap, but the spa concept is worth it. As frequent users of spa facilities, we will certainly be back for more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the spa experience, food and the service was great. The reception was very helpful and eager to help. The spa was clean and nice. The restaurant had good food and service.

The luxury room was spacious, but the free wifi was slow. Good for surfing, but not downloading. Also, no air condition in the room (we could not find the thermostat). Overall, good experience, will repeat.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We've been to Thermae-Boetfort Castel last year in August. It was a memorable experience, and as soon we will have the opportunity we sure come back.
We loved the spa and the ambiance, and they serve good dishes at the Thermae-Boetfort Castel Restaurant.
For a tip: go in the summer time, and you won't regret it!

Thermae-Boetfort Castel in two words: great experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

If they had problems with reception in the past (as suggested in some of the reviews that we read), then they have definitely solved them. The receptionists were all extremely friendly and helpful. The spa was wonderful, very relaxing. Only tried the naked section, but we are sure the clothed section was to the same standard. Definitely try the Aufguss sessions in the sauna, even if you have no idea what the guy is saying. Luxury room was clean and comfortable. The only small negative comment is about service in the restaurant, we would suggest not going into the resturant when you are already hungry, the food is excellent but the service can be slow, particularly if you sit outside.

Room Tip: Not that many rooms so not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Boetfort Castle and Spa is spotless. It opened in May 2010. The castle itself houses the treatment rooms and the restaurant. The food was very good - limited menu - but all selections were of very good quality. My husband had a massage and said it was one of the best he ever had. He has had many.
The out building of the castle house the hotel and the thermae spa. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated and very functional rather than eleaborate. Again, spotless. The thermae spa is wonderful. There are steam rooms, sauna, whirlpools, swimming pool, etc. There are 2 separate but equal areas in the spa - one au natural and one for suits. We prefer the natural area but, again, the area for suits is an option that not all spas in Europe offer. This is a delightful property with a wonderful staff. We have made reservations to return again in October. It's a great way to say good-by to jetlag at the beginning of a trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel

Address: Sellaerstraat 42, Melsbroek B-1820, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Melsbroek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Melsbroek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thermae Boetfort is a historical wellness centre in a 400-year-old castle estate. Come and enjoy yourself for a few hours or several days and combine our public saunas in our nude and swimsuit thermae with a delightful treatment or a beneficial massage. Stay overnight in our authentic wellness hotel and go home totally relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boetfort Castle Hotel Zaventem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermae Boetfort Spa and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.