We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
48510 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
831 667-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We hadn't planned a stop at this restaurant, but decided to stop at random to stretch our legs and a restroom break. The restaurant can not be seen from the road at all. We read a sign that lunch serving was about to start and took the stairs up to the restaurant where a crowd was forming. The view was simply stunning and we decided to have our lunch in these settings. We got a table outside where we could enjoy the view throughout the meal. Our waiter was fantastic and added really to the experience. The food was good, though at a fairly steep price. However, if you are passing through, I would recommend a stop. It's absolutely worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    528
    204
    46
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Slow and Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Yes, there is a great view. But you're on the coast, everywhere has a great view... Our whole lunch took 2+ hours. Our waiter was slow and the food was very expensive and not very good (I got the beet salad and soup of the day). The whole experience was a big disappointment. I suggest packing a lunch and eating it on one of many outlook points. It will be just as busy and crowded but the food will be better and less expensive and it will certainly not take as long!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A place to stop and relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nepenthe is one of the larger restaurants/establishments in the Big Sur area along CA-1 South. The gift shop is expansive with the work of local artisans; don't expect to be able to buy tee-shirts here! The restaurant with outdoor seating is up the hill; decent food but nothing to write home about. There were supposedly views of the ocean but it was so foggy (as it has been for some time now) that you only have a few of nearby trees. Parking is extremely limited; most have to park along the highway and walk either up the large bank of steps or go all the way up the car park entrance, which is a steep walk. It was OK in that we met some nice travelers, but next time I'll skip it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place. Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stopped on our way down the coast as we had been told about this place. We weren't too hungry so weren't sure if we would eat. We were given the option of drinks and appetisers on the terrace and decided that was for us. The food was superb, the service excellent and the view extraordinary. If you are on a Budget or just, like us, not hungry enough for a full meal go and take this option. The food in the restaurant looked fabulous and there were enough "returners" to convince us it was as good as it looked. Ours was certainly good (cheese plates of local cheeses). We would go anytime.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“You're not here for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The magical thing about Nepenthe is the setting and view. We stopped for lunch on a very sunny, beautiful day. We lucked into a parking space, had to wait about 45 minutes to be seated and had a nice glass of wine while waiting. It was loud and bustling with people. Ordered a $20 shrimp BLT that arrived with no T. Staff was friendly but somewhat overwhelmed. If you need a break and want a pleasant stop with a spectacular view, go for it, but know it's all about the real estate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepenthe also viewed

 

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepenthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.