We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“burger and view do not disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
48510 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
831 667-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“burger and view do not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

this is a must in big sur. the food and service were great. very nice to take in the views over a meal. I really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    527
    204
    46
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mistake to drive by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Along drive to San Simeon it was a worthy stop for lunch. Views around entire property were stunning. Dining alfresco and watching the whales play in the cove was an unexpected bonus. Lovely gift shop. Food was very well done and fresh. Gardens held unique plantings; but the views from any deck, walkway, or window were the highlight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Indescribable Beauty at this Big Sur Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

One of the best things about travel is sometimes not knowing where the day will take you. Well, today the road less traveled (more come July and August) took us to Nepenthe in Big Sur, California. Nepenthe isa drug described in Homer's Odyssey as something that banishes grief or trouble from a person's mind.
A Big Sur landmark since 1949, Nepenthe is a multi-level oasis with the restaurant sitting on top. Mid level is a cafe and the lower level houses the Phoenix Shop, a two-story gift shop.
Nepenthe offers indoor and outdoor seating, with most tables designed to take full advantage of the glorious view. I believe reservations are taken for parties of five or more, so we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table when we arrived around 1:30 on a Tuesday afternoon. We sat a the bar and started with the goat cheese and Gilroy roasted garlic appetizer. A great dish but the garlic was definitely the showstopper. We were then shown to our table which was on the side of the restaurant with the most dramatic Big Sur views. We ordered lunch, which was very good, but to be honest, what makes Nepenthe memorable has almost nothing to do with the food. It's the indescribable natural beauty that surrounds you in every direction.
But a quick word about the food. I had the shrimp BLT and my husband had the Ambrosia Burger. Each came with a choice of bean or green salad, or cole slaw. We both opted for the green salad and shared a basket of fries. They also make a mean Arnold Palmer, a refreshing combination of iced tea and lemonade. Waiters walk around with pitchers of iced tea and top off glasses constantly.
My husband and I have a few "special" places where we've had memorable experiences while dining--Mama's Fish House in Maui, Las Brisas in Laguna Beach, Tetou in the South of France. We just added Nepenthe to our small yet hallowed list. FYI, we didn't have dessert because it would have felt beyond decadent in such a spectacular setting. The majesty of our surroundings was a sweet enough ending.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This well known restaurant has amazing views. The food was pretty good but go there for the view. Think its always fairly busy but there are lots of tables, some with better views than others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

If you love a great view, and an incredible art studio across the road. Good food, great wine list, incredible view. Don't miss the Ambrosia Hamburger. (My wife wouldn't let me have the fries, that everyone was raving about!)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepenthe also viewed

 

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepenthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.