We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating lunch above the clouds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
48510 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
831 667-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eating lunch above the clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stopped here on our Highway 1 trip from LA to San Jose. The service was great, the food was good and the view was amazing. We felt like we were eating in a treehouse above the clouds. We will definitely stop there again on our next trip to Big Sur.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    529
    204
    46
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You simply cannot beat this view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Even in early Feb... stopping at Nepenthe just south of Big Sur on Highway One was totally worth it. Worth the bigger price for their famous burger, just to enjoy that view-- wish I could have captured better with my camera. Crowds were lean when we arrived in the early afternoon, after hiking around Point Lobos. We sat outside on the back patio, soaking up some sunshine and soaking in the view. Would not go out of my way for the cuisine... but can't replicate the rest very easily.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Someone recommended the burgers here, and the view, and we weren't disappointed. It was crowded, but we got great seats outside overlooking the coast view, which is stunning. Burgers were delicious, and for such a popular spot, not outrageously priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and French Fries to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Two Martinies, Basket of French Fries, Tip...$32.....Wood Bar looking over the ocean...priceless..... enough said...;)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This place is timeless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nepenthe is an experience. The food is standard fare, but well prepared. The waitstaff is great and the place has a vibe that is very local. Come early, get a drink, and sit out on the deck and take in the views. It's not fancy, kids are well treated, and the food is good and for Big Sur, moderately priced.

I had the chicken breast which was done perfectly, served up with sliced mushrooms, brocollini, and a great pan sauce. It comes with potato, but the server substituted a salad for me instead, with no problem at all.

Definately a must see if you're in Big Sur.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepenthe also viewed

 

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepenthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.