We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best loction for lunch in amazing Big Sur.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
48510 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
831 667-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best loction for lunch in amazing Big Sur.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place. Beautiful beyond words, both day and night.
It's a must.
Sit outside(the restaurant is open from 11 am till 11 pm and there's the rooftop balcony). Just look at the view and thank the good fortune that brought you all the way there! :)
I dont understand some of the bad reviews...It is Big Sur, in the middle of highway 1, not 5th ave.
Just enjoy it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    590
    219
    49
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Hill, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“View is eye-popping - and so are the restaurant prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stopped here on our way up the coast to show the kids the glorious view. We went to the restaurant hoping to find a calamari appetizer (nope). So we got the kids some hot chocolate. Here's what we had: 3 kids meals of boxed mac & cheese, 3 hot chocolates, 1 tea, 2 beers, shared appetizer of goat cheese on toast. Our bill: $80.

Food was okay, the bill was hard to swallow, but the view was outstanding!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Food + Amazing View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wife and I ate at Nepenthe recently and loved it. We weren't sure what to expect, but the guide book said it was good. And if Liz Taylor and Richard Burton liked it, how bad can it be? We sat outside on the patio at the restaurant (not the cafe). Aside from being blinded by the very bright sun that day, it was beautiful. We had amazing views of the ocean and the coastline and even saw some whales spouting offshore. Wife had a French dip sandwich. I had the signature ambrosia burger and we shared a basket of fries. Actually we shared them with a few blue jays who would swoop down from a tree every now and then and grab one from the basket. Too cute to really be annoying, and we just tried not to think about the hygiene issues. The food was all great. So was the service. It was a little pricey for what it was - $50 for a couple of sandwiches, fries and iced teas - but we figured a lot of that was paying for the beautiful view. The overall decor of the place was very cool too. I'd love to go back at night sometime to see the bonfire and the stars. Also a very cool shop downstairs with great books, gifts, etc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view, but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Go for the view. If it's nice out go to Cafe Kevah. We went for lunch at Nepenthe. Our sandwiches were $20 and came with nothing but a little side salad. They were really nothing special. Nepenthe definitely banks on getting customers strictly for their view.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great views, service and burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stopped here for lunch while travelling down highway 1. It was the perfect stop...a warm, friendly atmosphere with an open fire in the middle of the restaurant - great on a December day. A small but select menu with lots of delicious sounding specials. We had the signature ambrosia burger. I don't know what they do to it but it was delicious. Unfortunately we were driving but this is the kind of place you could easily waste a cosy afternoon in. Great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepenthe also viewed

 

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepenthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.