We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nepenthe

Nepenthe
48510 Highway One, Big Sur, CA 93920
831 667-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stopped here on our way up the coast. We got there about 4 and lunch was finished and we decided to wait the hour for dinner. We had appetizers and a drink while we were waiting they were ok. I had salmon and other half had rib eye...both very good. The view was awsome but it was very crowded and were practically sitting on top of one another.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    488
    197
    43
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Great Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We don't think there is anything constructive we could say about Nepenthe. It was the biggest disappointment of our Californian holiday. There isn't enough parking, the service is very poor and not reflective of that we had elsewhere and the food is poor quality and vastly overpriced. Enough said.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly characters, not great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Last year, great time at the bar. Uninteresting menu. This year, no room at the bar (terrible location for the winter - half is exposed to gusts of wind from the front door but then all the windowside tables are just downright chilly anyway too). This year, time one ....waiter was really odd, food noticeably overpriced and sadly not great. Terrible tables (4 legs at corners; not easy to sit at) with bench seating against the windows and freezing. This year, time two....bartender was super nice (we just had sundown drinks; no reason to eat here). Overall, this place needs either a better concessionaire (if that's how it's handled) or a serious rethink by a TV Reality Show personality. So much potential, grand problems. The bathrooms? Straight out of a roller rink from the 70s. The whole operation smacks of a recent change in ownership but they overpaid and simply raised the prices to meet the mortgage and save money on labor and food costs. Pity. DONT order the 'minestrone' pasta.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awful Service, Nothing to offer besides the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We decided to stop here on our latest drive through Big Sur. We knew there would be no view because of the weather, but heard the food was too good to pass up. We were seated between the window and the fireplace, but it was so cold we (and every other patron) wore our coats and scarves at the table. Our waitress was slow to come by our table. So slow in fact that the couple who came in behind us and was seated in another section finished their appetizer before our order was take. When our waitress finally came we ordered our appetizer, a seasonal beer, and tea. She seemed annoyed that we did not come in for a three course meal and in fact didn't come back to our table except to bring our check. Another waiter brought our food, the goat cheese and roasted garlic, which was alright, but nothing special. Half way through our appetizer someone remembered to bring our drinks. My husband ordered the Anchor seasonal beer, which I guess means any season they feel like stocking, as he received the past summer ale instead of the Christmas Ale he was expecting (we were there on Dec 23). Eventually our waitress came back to drop off the check and told us to take our time, but someone else came by as she was saying this and cleared our not finished beverages. Thanks guys. The bathrooms are laughable, I'd actually seen better restrooms in gas stations. I guess I don't see the appeal of this place. If there is no view due to fog, the service better be perfect and the dining room should be warm enough to take off your coat in order to justify the prices of this very limited menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What's better than sitting at a table over-looking the California coast? Getting to eat healthy delicious food while checking out the amazing view. The place get's pretty packed so prepare for a wait, but it's worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepenthe also viewed

 

Been to Nepenthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepenthe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.