We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Campground and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Campground and Cabins
Save
You added Riverside Campground and Cabins to your Saves list
Route 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ft. Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Riverside is PERFECT for families traveling together. There are not many places in Big Sur to accommodate family units at a moderate expense, only staying one night, private accommodations and NOT camping. I was so happy to find this cluster of cabins and camping sites, right on the river with perfect sized cabins, basic cooking needs, private bathrooms (with the right cabin choice) and wonderful scenery. Our 5 yr old spent forever just tossing river rocks into the fully flowing creek/river bed.

Pam is AMAZING with her outgoing personality, helpfulness and accommodation to tired travelers who are trying to be self-sufficient. She called us a couple of days before to warn us about travel issues on the 1 further north. She always emailed in a timely manner when I had questions about planning our stay. You can buy firewood in the office and other small sundries, use the firepit to cook hotdogs or grill. We hit the little grocery "Cookie Crock" in Cambria on the way into Big Sur from the south for our market supplies. No microwave, but the coffee maker is perfect for that evening cup of Joe while you watch the moon rise over the trees.

We stayed in Cabin 2, the parents in Cabin 1. Cabin 2 is bigger, not as rustic, kind of unfinished... but it's perfect. The heating works well, the bathroom is modern and clean. The beds were a little firm for me, but still comfortable. No mirror above the sink which is a little weird, but you get past it. Who cares about makeup out in the woods anyway? Cabin 1 was cute and cozy. Perfect for 2. If we come back to this area, we will definitely make this our stop. I wish we had had more time to explore the woods.

Check out the artwork tiles by local artist Claudia Sanchez for sale in the office. Animal and art lovers alike will find treasures in her tiles that make affordable and unique souvenir offerings. My recipients have all loved theirs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
27
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Given the prices you find in the area, I thought that Cabin #3 was a great deal. The room was comfortable but had a cool rustic feel. The location was super convenient to some really great restaurants, hiking and beaches. And best of all, Pam gave us such great information on where to go. She helped us find one good dinner at a reasonable price, one really great dinner when we wanted to go fancier and when we asked where we should watch the sun set, she gave us detailed directions to Pfeiffer Beach where we saw the most amazing sunset. Plus, she let us use a fire pit by the river since no one was camping there and when we couldn't get the fire lit, she came over and spent a good ten minutes to get us going without us even having to ask. Not sure if folks were expecting total silence in back woods, but I was glad to have a convenient location at a reasonable price. I definitely didn't experience any noise that bothered me in the room. This was the perfect base for seeing Big Sur!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in Cabin #8 this week. The cabin is very clean and the bedding was nice. The bed itself is very firm and bouncy, so my husband and I had to sleep in separate beds. The campgrounds are nice, though it was raining when we arrived, so everything was wet, muddy, and cold the whole time. Overpriced and the dog fee was $20 a day, but being the only place I could find that accepted pets, I had no choice.

The bath house was not heated and was pretty gross. Two small, dank, prison showers were very icky. Oh, and you have to pay for those with quarters (surprise!)

The central area of Big Sur itself was a huge let down. There is so much hype and I just didn't get it. Just because something is expensive (and everything is) doesn't make it more special. Pfieffer beach was great, but small and cost $5. We missed the one lighthouse tour that day, bummer. Big Sur bakery, umm, it was okay. Best food was the River Inn Restaurant.

I had been to Carmel, Monterrrey, and San Luis Obispo before, so I thought there would be something to discover in the heart of Big Sur. What a disappointment and waste of money. I think the poor weather had a lot to do with it, but geez, everywhere was freezing, there was no escaping the cold except to sit in the cabin.

Room Tip: The best camp spots would be 43 and 44, which are separated and have a lot of space in the upper are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I must admit we only live up the coast in Monterey. So we use Riverside Cabins as a night get away. We don't go on weekends and or holidays either but, we love going durning the winter when it's super quite and peaceful.

We always stay in cabin 2. It has 2 queens, it's own bathroom, fire pit, and porch. It's not cheap but, the sounds of nature are worth it to us.

We also bring our dog. He lives it too. Be sure to gather everything you need befor getting to Big Sur as you will pay double. Firewood, hot dogs, etc.... We always make sure we bring games to play to. It's so refreshing to sit fireside and play Jenga!!!

Staff hear is wonderful and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We camped at Riverside for a long weekend in the end of October. We had a beautiful large site near the end of the grounds that was right on the river. The place in general is lovely and our site was great. The rest of the camping area felt quite crowded, and when you would walk to the bathroom, it looked more like a parking lot than a campground. The nice tree canopy kept the place a little smoky, but everything was well kept and clean. We are interested in checking out the cabins.

Room Tip: Definitely get a site ON the river. On the website map, site #18 looks like it's not right on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days on a big weekend and loved the site, there were kids and dogs in all the sites the river was safe for kids and the site is well managed, firewood is available on site with a small shop, there is some noise from the road but not a problem, could be dark in the trees.

Room Tip: Book early especially weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a great 2 nights at Riverside we stayed in Cabin 5 which is on the 2nd floor (us speak) has windows all round the edge so you get lots of lights and can take in the redwoods. It also has a little table for breakfast/card playing.

The camp owners/caretakers were fantastic really friendly and helpful you also get the use of a fire pit so you can cook your dinner over an open fire a real treat.

Its fairly central in Big Sur so you can go to most of the good hikes and beaches in a short drive.
Pheifer beach is a must.

The cabins are a nice distance apart though cabin 5 is in the same building as I think 4 others however I didn't hear any noise through the walls apart from some faint snoring... We didn't have an ensuite but the bathroom facilities are just up the hill and the showers are of good quality.
There is also a small store which has most of the stuff you will need if not there are a few others along the highway.

In short had a great stay and would definitely come back if I am in Big Sur again

Room Tip: Cabin 5 is very spacious and has a great aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Campground and Cabins

Address: Route 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Big Sur
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Riverside Campground And Cabins Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Campground and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.