We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza and dessert!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant

Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant
47540 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-0520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pizza and dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

During a weekend in Big Sur, we attended one of Big Sur Bakery's benefit dinners in January 2012 and came back the following night for pizza. The (prix fixe) dinner menu was good, though the amuse-bouche (breaded fish) was unexpectedly heavy. I personally did not like two of the dishes containing barley as they were a heavy on the maple syrup and I felt I was eating breakfast. Their roast quail is excellent. But the dessert and the wood-fired pizzas will blow you away. Lovers of neapolitan pizza will love Big Sur Bakery's pizza; nothing beats the combination of perfect crust and fresh toppings, and you will know someone in the kitchen put a lot of thought and intention into creating it. For dessert and the morning after, all four of us enjoyed their stollen (studded with fruit, speckled with candied fruit peel, and sweetened by marzipan) and their persimmon chocolate cake. A very solid choice for the Big Sur area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    127
    48
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great selection of tea and scones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On our drive home we wanted something quick. We stopped at Big Sur Bakery for tea and a scone. The tea selection is huge and fabulous I had an herbal and the husband had breakfast tea and shared a delicious ginger scone. It hit the spot. The total was $11 it was a little high but was good quality and the service was outstanding (greeted and served with a genuine smile)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our absolute favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a special place. I dream of going back. We went 3 times in 2 days! Once for lunch, once for dinner and again for pizza. Everything we tried was amazing. We love the cozy vibe, friendly staff and thoughtful food. It's a must-visit place in Big Sur.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The pizzas are fantastic, the entrees (frequently the fish) are very tasty, the wine list is quite nice, decor is relaxed and rustic, servers are friendly, and all for a reasonable price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect (so far)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stopped in for coffee and croissants this morning before breakfast. Happy staff, quality food and beverage. Great value. Looked like a cool and cozy place. Went back for dinner, but didn't stay because they were having a (rare) prix fixe Fishermans dinner and it was just too much food for us - we wanted pizza. I want to go back here daily, and would if I lived here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.