We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded hot spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant

Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant
47540 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-0520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Pacifica
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Crowded hot spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderul scones, muffins and and a sweet staff. It was worth waiting in line. Wonderful local artists offering their work is a bonus.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    139
    51
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The quiche is from heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Bakery catered an event for our group... The quiche was lovely, airy, and melted in your mouth. Lots of other fun baked goods...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We loved this restaurant. It is cozy and romantic. The food was delicious. We ordered the eggplant pizza and the sea bass. Both were up to our high NY food standards. The service was fine...we had an overall great night. We stayed at nearby Glen Oaks Big Sur, and the hotel staff made us a reservation ahead of time. The restaurant is pricey, but worth it, as the other nearby restaurants were not as welcoming and were overpriced. The other recommendation we got from the hotel was the Deetjen restaurant, which didn't look bad.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Bakery for Dinner....Say YES!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by the Glen Oaks for dinner. I was a bit hesitant at first since a bakery wasn't what I had in mind for the one night I was going to have a romantic dinner with my husband in the Big Sur. I am SO glad we gave this place a try and we were thrilled at the ambiance, service and food!! The restaurants has a trendy, romantic vibe and fit for a foodie. The pizzas were delicious and I wish we could have eaten here more than once on our trip!! The best part was at the end of dinner they had a basket of baked goods and said we could take as many as we liked since they have to bake them fresh every day! What a treat! :) I HIGHLY recommend trying this place if you're staying in or passing through the Big Sur...we can't wait to come back!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gastronomic paradise on the Highway One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped here for lunch as we had read the recommendation in the triple A Via magazine. We had a delicious turkey sandwhich on their home made sourdough bread. Also split a delicious green salad. Then had to have a cookie for dessert-both were fabulous one a chocoholics delight and the other a oatmeal treat. We had to stop on our way back up the coast for another taste of their baked goods-this time a classic sugar donut and a pumpkin scone-both hit the spot along with a cup of green tea.
The owners:Philip and Michelle Wojtowicz and Michael Gilson have transformed this place that was once abandoned house/restaurant tucked behind a gas station into a welcoming oasis. The bread and baked goods are as good as it gets. Their meals for lunch and dinner feature seasonal organic ingredients simply prepared-I was wishing we could stay for dinner but alas we had to continue on.
We visited my sister, Kelly on our way home and to my surprise she gave me a copy of the Big Sur Bakery cookbook-so delighted to have it ! It is a year in the life of the bakery, reads month by month with recipes and a glimpse into the folks that make this place so California Golden! Can't wait to try some of the recipes but... I'd rather be there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.