We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and decent food - good coffee, though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant

Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant
47540 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
831-667-0520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Big Sur
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cute and decent food - good coffee, though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stopped here on my way back down the PCH to LA. It was the morning so I they were only serving the pastries. I had the potato fritata and it was OK, however, the service was excellent and I loved the atmosphere. The barista made an excellent iced latte to go and so I recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    125
    48
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“great unpretentious food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If I said that this restaurant is located behind a gas station you would probably decide to cross it off your list. BUT you would be missing out on a fabulous meal in a lovely setting. Between the four of us we had mushroom soup, oysters, butter lettuce salad, veal in a mushroom sauce, roast chicken and mashed potatoes, creme brulee, upside down apple cake, pear and almond tart and coffee ice cream and chocolate mousse All absolutely delicious and served by really friendly staff. It beat Sierra Mar at the Post Ranch Inn by a mile!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was raining when we arrived but so cosy inside. You have to wait in line to order but it was well worth it. My ham and cheese quiche was the best I've ever had. The coffee barster makes a delicious mocha with a fancy swirl of chocolate on top. My husband had the carrot ginger soup..also delicious. Not fancy inside or out ....the food males up for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“simply good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

heartful food + big red wines = cozy dinners
dinners here never disappoint. it's a small space so make sure to make reservations. sometimes even with a reservation there's a bit of a wait but your patience will be well worth it! the tables being set up so close to each other doesn't even bother me... always find fellow travelers and locals having interesting conversations.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were very disappointed with our visit to the Big Sur Bakery. There are not a lot of dining options in Big Sur so our hotel made a reservation for us to dine there. There was some type of mix-up and they had no reservation or table available for us when we arrived. When we were finally seated, we ordered the "special" appetizer of scallops which were very good but were shocked when we were charged $19.50 for 2 small scallops. We also ordered a wood-fire pizza which was not very good. The food was really overpriced and the service was extremely slow. We were very disappointed in our dinner at this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sur Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.