We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couple of days on honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Save
You added Treebones Resort to your Saves list
71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
It's easy to be GREEN!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for couple of days on honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in California - I absolutely loved it. Big Sur probably wouldn't be for everyone, it's a very remote area, there's no real nightlife and the highway, although spectacular for views, is also a bit hairy to drive along with the high cliffs and crashing ocean below.

The resort is perched up on a cliff and has gorgeous, uninterrupted views of miles and miles of oceans, mountains and forest. A lot of lovely beaches are within twenty minutes drive, and there is a small pool on-site as well.

It's a very informal, relaxed place with friendly, attentive staff who printed us out a map of LA and where we should drive to see the sights and helped us with our luggage and gave us free dessert because we were on honeymoon! The yurts are lovely, have views of the stars at night and gas fires to keep you warm. Campsite is very quiet from about half 9 onwards, so it's great for some long sleeps and chilling out generally.

I thought the food in the lodge was great - we had the tagine one night and chipotle chicken the next. Breakfasts consist of DIY waffles, granola, oatmeal, apples, coffee and juice which is perfect.

It *is* pricey but for the quietness of the resort, the comfort of the yurts, the beautiful views, the friendly staff and the lovely food I think it was worth every penny. Def would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    160
    41
    23
    14
See reviews for
64
340
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau Qc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We fell asleep with the sound of sea lions and a breathtaking sunset on the pacific. The yurt experience was quite nice, cosy and very romantic. Downsides were the price for the stay and the food (really overpriced and not good at all). We did not try the tajine which is supposed to be the house specialty.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Treebones is a difficult place to easily categorize - so are its guests. The views of the Pacific from the yurts and campsites (and the infamous "Nest") are 5 star. Likewise, the views from the pool and the dining/common room are also spectacular. The interior of the yurts are lovely and spacious. The campsites, are fairly rocky and exposed with virtually no shade (though the Big Sur weather is almost never hot). Each site has a table and a storage unit with a counter – very convenient. And the bathroom facilities are among the nicest of any campground I've stayed at - tiled walls and floors and no meters in the showers.

Contrary to some other reviews, we found the food at dinner to be terrific. Very fresh fish (mahi, tuna, halibut), imaginatively prepared was delicious. Lamb and chicken tagines (prepared in a sealed Moroccan oven) with apricots, olives and dates smelled and tasted wonderful. And some of best, freshest salads I've ever had (red/green lettuce never looked so good) - it's grown on-site. And given the prices in Big Sure generally, Treebones in on the inexpensive side. Main courses $20 - $35.

Many of the guests were from abroad, with a fair number on their honeymoons, and a very wide age range. Most guests were quite open and talkative as you'd find in a country inn.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and except for the Oscars and Superbowl, I was told that the plasma TV in the dining room is never used.

The location is about 50 minutes from Big Sur proper, but the drive there, at least during the day, is one of the best in the world, so who cares? And 10 minutes away is one of the nicest beaches in Big Sur – Sand Dollar beach.

You could pay less for camping ($65/night) or for accommodations (yurts @ $170 - $200 +/-) but not with swimming, easy access to good dinners and views to knock your socks off. The place isn't for everyone - no bathrooms in the yurts - but if you like the slightly offbeat, you should find the place very enjoyable as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Down
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the Ocean View Yurt 16 at Treebones Resort as part of our honeymoon road trip. We camped and stayed in b&bs for the rest of the trip. The previous 2 nights we had actually spent at Kirk Creek Campground about 8 miles north of Treebones. This was absolutely stunning and cost us about $25 per night. So having come from there we were quite confused about Treebones. We love yurts, we even had our wedding reception in one. There are many places now in the UK where you can stay in beautifully furnished yurts and it is a totally unique experience. With Treebones I love the whole idea of what they are trying to do there but the biggest thing we felt about it was that it is being pulled in two different directions and is not sure which route to take. It is expensive and could work in either of the two following ways - luxury camping like you would get on safari in africa for example - this would mean making some of the expensive yurts ensuite - which is possible and has been done elsewhere. You would also then expect more service, not so much the help yourself thing at dinner time (which you have to choose and order hours ahead) etc. You would also want fire rings outside the yurts to create more atmosphere (there is a sign about forest fires but they have rings at all the campsites even in wilderness camp spots just up the road) and some kind of housekeeping service. I think if it was improved in this way they could even get away with charging a lot more. The other option would for it to play more on what it is trying to achieve - cheaper costs, and people muck in more - kitchens where you can prepare your own food, or simple buffet service - the food at the moment is good but way overpriced. The family obviously need to make a decent amount of money as the investment must have been huge, so I don't believe the second option would work sadly, but I do think it needs more to really work for the money they are charging. At the moment it sits somewhere between the two but not really achieving either the luxury or authentic primative back to nature experience. The tent sites there are stunningly situated but there are no cooking facilities or fire rings so why would you want to camp here rather than in equally stunning spots just down the road? I just dont quite get it...sorry treebones. The setting is stunning though and great hikes nearby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I stayed at Treebones for two nights in Yurt #12. The place has a great location, and the yurts are big and spacious. It looks magical at night. Unfortunately the weather wasn't too great when I stayed - the infamous Big Sur fog rolled in so I missed out on the great views. The pool and hot tub are nice though.

Bad points. It would be even better if the Yurts were spaced out more. I wanted peace & quiet but I could hear what sounded like a jet engine all night (I think it was a generator). At night there's not much to do for a solo traveller. Also for the price you'd think your bed would be made and the room cleaned in the morning. The meals were expensive and the staff a bit vague.

I was expecting more but in the end it was a bit so-so. However if you went for a nice romantic weekend and booked a yurt further away from the main building it would be fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

This was most likely one of the best experiences I've ever had. The staff were extremely pleasant upon our check-in and our Yurt was clean, unique, and simply awesome. A group of my friends, including my sister whom is completely against the outdoors, stayed in the largest yurt available within the resort which gave beautiful views of the ocean. The weekend we stayed rained pretty heavily but we unanimously still had a wonderful time. We decided to eat dinner at the restaraunt where they offered organic products grown on-site and locally - we each had the steak which was delicious. The lounge which offered a bustling hot fire, board games, and hot coffee/tea throughout the day felt intimate, relaxing, and almost romantic.

Don't expect to visit Treebones Resort on a whim - reservations are required months in advance. However, the wait would be 100% worth it. I recommend staying at Treebones Resort to anyone outdoorsy or non-outdoorsy!!!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Where to start... we stayed in one of their campsites over Memorial Day weekend, and the experience was nothing short of amazing. A bit on the pricey side for camping, but they really make it worth every penny. Wonderfully clean bathrooms, possibly the cleanest I've ever seen camping. All campsites have an absolutely gorgeous ocean view. One morning we awoke to 2 deer looking at us outside the tent! Other positives are: awesome dinners although you have to make a reservation ahead of time, pool and hot tub, a couple nearby hiking trails, great staff and service, very modern and clean bathrooms, a nice complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor deck with a telescope where you can watch for whales, and a very nice main lodge with a fireplace as well as books and boardgames. Overall, the location and scenery, great staff, clean and modern facilities, and awesome meals make this place wonderful! We will definitely be coming back.

The only downsides I can think of to this place are it's a bit far to some of the other Big Sur attractions, but the atmosphere of this place totally makes up for it. Didn't have hot water in the shower the two days I was there, also no campfires are allowed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense and expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged south coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treebones Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.