We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Rude, not Friendly, but Loud!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Save Saved
You added Treebones Resort to your Saves list
71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
It's easy to be GREEN!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Ynez
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Rude, not Friendly, but Loud!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying in a yurt along the Highway 1 on the southern edge of Big Sur is certainly a treat and fun lodging experience. A couple of major issues, at least to me, brought Treebones Resort down a couple of notches. I was expecting a bit more staff friendliness during our stay. During the rest of our stay, not one staff member greeted us with a smile and a good morning or afternoon when we crossed paths. No help was offered by the golf cart driver loading our luggage onto his cart. I received more personal connection at a Mariott in east Indianapolis the week before than this Glamping resort. Never were they rude, but they never made us feel all that welcome. The other distraction to our otherwise enjoyable stay is the loud noise of their power generator facing the yurts. Of the 16 Yurts on 10 acres, at least 6-7 yurts are situated where you can’t help but be subjected to a constant, piercing whirl 24/7. This is a big mistake that the owners should spend their waking hours to do whatever is necessary to fix. What a disappointment when you are trying to enjoy yourself in a beautiful, serene location. The bed was comfortable and clean. Loved the hardwood floors and pure tap water!
By working with the staff on customer service and redo the location of their power generator, they will greatly improve their guests Glamping experience.

Room Tip: Yurts furtherst from the power generator room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    152
    41
    23
    13
See reviews for
64
323
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Amazing place in an amazing location. Check out the veg garden! Just brilliant. All staff were great. Food was fab (a little expensive maybe). We stayed in an amazing family yurt. It was huge and lovely. Just one thing that could of been better... the bathrooms were communal, very clean, but the toilet doors were really short with big gaps at the side, so if you like privacy then maybe Treebones is not for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Treebones for 2 nights - the location is absolutely beautiful and the food at the lodge was quite delicious. Though of course, it was a bit pricey, but the view of the Pacific Ocean was absolutely gorgeous. The yurt itself was very cozy and warm at night!

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to get an ocean facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Treebones Resort has a perfect location to unwind and relax. The Resort is a bit out of the way but that just adds to the ambiance of the whole place. We stayed in Yurt #12 which was close to the Sushi Bar and Wild Coast and noise was never a problem.

The facilities are very clean and nice. Although the place was booked during our stay I never had an issue waiting for an available shower. The pool is a nice place to relax after a day out.

If you like Sushi this place is a must! Not only is the food excellent the Chef's are very friendly and personable.

The yurts are a bit on the high end $ however once you visit the location you will gain a better understanding of what it may cost to operate this place "off the grid".

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the community bathrooms if you're not an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Looking for a place to stay in Big Sur for one night, needing 2 beds, and stumbled on Treebones on the web in January when we were booking for a Friday night in July. Web gives very accurate description. Summertime is predictably foggy, so less likely to sit on your Yurt porch and have a sunny view of the ocean. The Yurts are great, very spacious and comfortable, restaurant excellent, sushi bar average. Great hikes in the area (we did part of the Cruikshank trail). Some whine from the generator under the sushi bar, so you could ask for a Yurt with a view but away from the generator.

Room Tip: Ask for a Yurt with a view but away from the generator under the Sushi bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We camped at Tree Bones, but with campsite #5, it was a beautiful full ocean view (and clear skies at night!) The seals can keep you up at night, so either bring ear plugs or they provide them! The restaurant is a pretty pricey, but the food is worth it. The sushi bar is very slow, so just be prepared to wait, and relax- you're on vacation! Have a drink! the pool and hot tub were a nice perk. Bathrooms are very clean. The included hot breakfast with waffle bar, scrambled eggs, homemade jam, homemade granola, coffee, and tea was nice, was only missing fresh fruit! No trails to take directly from the resort, but they do provide a nice list of hiking and swimming in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived at Tree Bone. The friendly hotel staff provided a golf car that took all of our camping equipment to our camp site. We stayed at the #5 campsite, the camp ground was clean and had a very beautiful view of the pacific ocean. At the night time, we can hear the sea otters sang,but we were constantly woking up by their sining. However, you can still go enjoy the hot tub and fall asleep easily after a long day of traveling. One thing to mention, if the weather is foggy, you can not see the view.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense and expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged south coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treebones Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.