We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Unique, So Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So Unique, So Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Treebones for my wife's birthday in February and it was fantastic. I don't usually write lengthy reviews, but Treebones Resort requires one.

If you are looking for all of the luxuries and amenities of a hotel, do not stay here. If you are seeking a unique experience that perfectly melds together both nature and comfort, peace and tranquility, Treebones Resort is the place for you.

Yurts:
We snagged the last available Yurt, so it was a large family yurt. It was great! Hardwood floors, in room sink, small heater. We did stay during winter and the little heater had a tough time keeping up, but we planned ahead, packed warm pajamas, and enjoyed snuggling close under the thick quilts. We were close to the bathrooms, which had concerned me given the reviews about noise, but we heard no one walking past.

Yurt Village:
The Yurts are closer together than we had expected but we didn't experience any noise issues. The resort definitely did have a village-like ambiance. Sundown was a great experience as everyone with an ocean view Yurt sat on their porches with bottles of wine, whereas everyone without an ocean view Yurt wandered the grounds with their bottles of wine. Please note, there are benches and swings hidden throughout the grounds to enjoy the sunset. This is definitely a place for couples and/or friends, but probably less so for families. Also, outdoor lighting is kept to a minimum, allowing for great stargazing.

Dining:
After long days of hiking, the last thing you want to do is search the PCH for a place to eat. We loved that Treebones had two restaurants as we then had variety each night. Both the restaurant and the sushi bar were great! Yes, prices are a little high but given the high quality of the food and the convenience of being onsite, it was well worth it.

The continental breakfast, though small on options is both great on taste and hearty, a good preparation for a day of hiking. The coffee is fantastic but the view from the outdoor "breakfast bar" is the best as we watched the grey whales migrate back north while we ate our scrambled eggs and yogurt.

Bathrooms:
Yes, the bathrooms are communal (like at a campground). However, these bathrooms are far more upscale and well kept (even had radiant heat floors). Also, since Treebones is relatively small (in comparison to campground), we never experienced a wait for either the showers or the toilets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to articulate your experience at Treebones . We love your detailed review because it helps future guests decide if Treebones is right for them. We hope to meet you in person on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    145
    37
    22
    13
See reviews for
56
304
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We wanted an adventure and experience, not just a hotel room. Treebones was perfect!!! The food was amazing from the healthy continental breakfast with eggs, waffles and homemade granola, amazing sushi bar and the restaurant was personable and the food excellent. We did 5 of the suggested hikes and found so much more than we expected...great work outs, incredible views, and sea life. Each night, we felt as though we were sleeping under the stars. The beds were so comfortable we didn't want to leave. If you come to Big Sur, this is THE place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are correct that Treebones is definitely a unique adventure and experience -not your typical hotel stay! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the many hikes in the area and found our restaurant to be as excellent as we aspire it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were advised to stay at Treebones by Irish friend and we simply loved the place. Very comfortable and spacious Yurts in the middle of the nature. Our yurt even had a ping pong table. We shared a yoga practice early in the morning with the friendly staff and some guests.
The restaurant is nice but a little expensive. A great place to stay with friends and children!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had to write and share our trip to treebones. It literally was an absolute dream. We had yurt #9- personally, I think its the best yurt of the bunch. we had magestic views and romantic, relaxing and enjoyable evening. They had great vegetarian options and even packed us a YUMMY lunch before we went hiking...we literally ate the yummiest sandwich next to a waterfall. this place was a dream.

Room Tip: yurt #9 or if you are really doin the outdoor thing- do the nest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
So glad you loved Yurt 9, it does have a killer view! Our sack lunches can be ordered the night before...all ready for the next day's adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Treebones Resort is the perfect place to enjoy the nature and beauty of Big Sur without actually camping (although you can bring a tent and use one of their camping lots if that’s your style). We called just a day or so before we arrived, and although the yurts were full, they offered us the newly opened treehouse. Tucked off to the edge of property, the tiny treehouse overlooks trees, hills, and beach, all the way to the ocean. This isn’t a place where you spend too much time in your room - although it’s certainly comfortable, with a bed, two chairs, a small gas fireplace (We used it! It was a little chilly in March!), and a very small sink - but Big Sur is a place you want to be outside enjoying. The views from the hotel, and getting to and from it on route one are unforgettable. Clean and well-kept bathrooms are just a short walk away (yes, bathrooms are shared), and the common dining room/living room is in a large, beautiful, spacious yurt, less than a 5-minute walk from the treehouse.

If you like places that immerse you in nature, and minimize their footprint (off the grid, don’t clean your room unless you ask, quiet after 11pm), Treebones is the place for you.

Room Tip: The treehouse and the "nest" are interesting, alternative options to the yurts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that Treebones helped you to feel closer to nature and so glad you were able to get in on short notice! Thank you for pointing out the restrooms are a short walk away, viewers will find that helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went for a trip last August, stayed in the tree house, and had the most incredible time ever. I have never camped in my life, and for me, it was the perfect balance of nature and pampering. The food in the lodge was delicious (albeit pricy), and the quiet time with no phones and tv was so needed. Breakfast was delicious and organic. The folks that work there are knowledgeable about nearby hikes and attractions. There's really nothing i'd complain about! I can't recommend Treebones highly enough. We most certainly will be coming back!

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity to book the treehouse, DO IT. It's smaller than the yurts, to be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I who are sixty spent 3 nights there last week. the staff was great and the yurt accomodations were very comfortable. The bathroom and shower issue was no problem - they were close to the yurts and very clean and nice. The most surprising thing was the quality of the food for lunch and dinner - they have an amazing sushi restaurant that would compare with any in Long beach, Chicago or Cleveland( where we live). And all that in the middle of some of the most spectalular ocean and redwood scenery and hikes in California. Our compliments especially to Carlos and Ethan and for Mike for giving us some insight into the unique history of the place as well as great dessert recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. So glad you enjoyed our restaurants. As owners who live and work on site with our family and other staff, we take alot of pride in our two restaurant venues and enjoy dining there often ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense and expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged south coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treebones Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Treebones Resort to your Saves list