We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort in an amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Save
You added Treebones Resort to your Saves list
71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
It's easy to be GREEN!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing resort in an amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Treebones Resort is the perfect place to enjoy the nature and beauty of Big Sur without actually camping (although you can bring a tent and use one of their camping lots if that’s your style). We called just a day or so before we arrived, and although the yurts were full, they offered us the newly opened treehouse. Tucked off to the edge of property, the tiny treehouse overlooks trees, hills, and beach, all the way to the ocean. This isn’t a place where you spend too much time in your room - although it’s certainly comfortable, with a bed, two chairs, a small gas fireplace (We used it! It was a little chilly in March!), and a very small sink - but Big Sur is a place you want to be outside enjoying. The views from the hotel, and getting to and from it on route one are unforgettable. Clean and well-kept bathrooms are just a short walk away (yes, bathrooms are shared), and the common dining room/living room is in a large, beautiful, spacious yurt, less than a 5-minute walk from the treehouse.

If you like places that immerse you in nature, and minimize their footprint (off the grid, don’t clean your room unless you ask, quiet after 11pm), Treebones is the place for you.

Room Tip: The treehouse and the "nest" are interesting, alternative options to the yurts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that Treebones helped you to feel closer to nature and so glad you were able to get in on short notice! Thank you for pointing out the restrooms are a short walk away, viewers will find that helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    161
    44
    24
    14
See reviews for
65
349
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went for a trip last August, stayed in the tree house, and had the most incredible time ever. I have never camped in my life, and for me, it was the perfect balance of nature and pampering. The food in the lodge was delicious (albeit pricy), and the quiet time with no phones and tv was so needed. Breakfast was delicious and organic. The folks that work there are knowledgeable about nearby hikes and attractions. There's really nothing i'd complain about! I can't recommend Treebones highly enough. We most certainly will be coming back!

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity to book the treehouse, DO IT. It's smaller than the yurts, to be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I who are sixty spent 3 nights there last week. the staff was great and the yurt accomodations were very comfortable. The bathroom and shower issue was no problem - they were close to the yurts and very clean and nice. The most surprising thing was the quality of the food for lunch and dinner - they have an amazing sushi restaurant that would compare with any in Long beach, Chicago or Cleveland( where we live). And all that in the middle of some of the most spectalular ocean and redwood scenery and hikes in California. Our compliments especially to Carlos and Ethan and for Mike for giving us some insight into the unique history of the place as well as great dessert recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. So glad you enjoyed our restaurants. As owners who live and work on site with our family and other staff, we take alot of pride in our two restaurant venues and enjoy dining there often ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

but don't want to actually set up a tent and all that. Having said that, there are campsites here as well that I will want to check out next time I'm here with friends.

I was originally going to book a yurt for just my parents, but when I saw how awesome the place was, I decided to third wheel it and booked Yurt #1 with the two queen beds and a futon. No shame. It was totally worth it!

The beds were really comfortable and even though the bathrooms were shared, they were spotless. They only provide body soap, so bring your own shampoo and conditioner. There is a gas heater but it doesn't do much to warm up the huge yurt. Make sure to bring warm clothes, and if you hate the cold, maybe even some extra blankets- it gets pretty chilly at night regardless of how nice the weather is during the day. The yurt is basically a glorified tent with wooden floors and queen beds, so you'll be able to hear people talking, seals barking down at the beach, birds, etc. through the walls. (The talking does stop once quiet hours start at 9pm). After some phenomenal star gazing (SO MANY STARS EVERYWHERE), my parents and I passed out without any trouble, but the front desk does offer free ear plugs!

I'm bummed that I missed the free sunrise yoga (offered MWF), but the complementary breakfast made up for it. They serve homemade granola, homemade peanut butter, fruit preserves, eggs, and have a waffle making station. After breakfast, we drove out to do some of the hikes that are recommended upon check in. Big Sur is absolutely beautiful and none of the suggestions disappointed.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get an ocean-view or partial ocean-view yurt. Campsite 3 also has an amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sure readers will find your observations very helpful. You described Treebones exactly as we are: 'for those who like the idea of camping but don't actually want to set up a tent..and all that.."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This resort concept is slightly risky but Treebones pulls it off with flying colors! The yurts are clean, comfortable and spacious. The location offers a panoramic view of Big Sur's coast line as well as mountain peaks. The restaurant and sushi bar offer yummy options for lunch and dinner, and the complementary breakfast is abundant, fresh and delicious! The pool and hot tub are also a wonderful option for relaxing after hiking or travel. I highly recommend a stay at Treebones! Between the view and the local food, the gorgeous gardens and friendly staff, this resort brings you back to the earth and to heaven at the same time! The only recommendation I have is to grab some of the complimentary earplugs at check-in, as the wind against the yurt is quite loud at night. The beds are really comfy though, so makes up for any noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. I can see already that many viewers have found your observations helpful. I am glad you suggested guests grab our complimentary earplugs...they really do help provide a peaceful sleep! we are afterall....still tents...sound carries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife always wanted to do this, so we took our daughter on a road trip. Easy drive from our first night in SLO. Stopped and saw the Sea Elephant rookery on the way.

Great experience. We had the largest yurt with two queen beds. Very comfortable beds. Can't remember a better night sleep. Communal bathrooms were very clean

Dinner in the restaurant was very credible. Good comfort food. Staff was very accommodating.

I am a pretty seasoned traveller, and I would recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting...so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had so much fun staying in yurt #16, which is somewhat removed from the other yurts and therefore more private. The view from our deck was awesome. The gas fireplace, which was kind of touchy and lighted with a boom that rattled the glass door to the fireplace, warmed the yurt enough that we could take off our jackets. The heavy blankets were very welcome at night when I woke to see the stars through the skylight. The fact that you had to go outside to walk to the well maintained bathrooms meant that I was forced outside to view the panorama of the ocean by moonlight - what an experience!
In the mornings we walked up to the main lodge for the free breakfast. My favorite was the waffles. Even though it was cold I always ate outside on the porch with the huge panoramic view of the ocean, blue and white in the morning sunlight.
Dinner at the restaurant was good but expensive. However, everything in Big Sur is expensive.
The Wi-Fi in the lodge was painfully slow, but welcome when I needed to look something up. No cell service whatsoever.
Overall, staying at Treebones was an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Yurt 15 is by one of the bathrooms, but otherwise private. Yurt 16 is next to the treehouse and oth...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense and expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged south coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treebones Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.