We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearning for luxury camping again in a Yurt!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treebones Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treebones Resort
Save Saved
You added Treebones Resort to your Saves list
71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
It's easy to be GREEN!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yearning for luxury camping again in a Yurt!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friend and I were taking a road trip up the coast and decided to stay in BIg Sur for a couple of days since we had heard how beautiful it was. SO Glad we did! This place was great! We arrived on a Monday and stayed for 2 nights. We stayed in a Yurt right on the cliffside with amazing oceanside views. The Yurt had a 60-minute timed gas fireplace, a dining table for two, a sink with hot/cold water, a futon, a queen sized bed and minimal lighting that was just enough. I was a little apprehensive about using communal bathrooms, but everytime I showered and used the facilities they were clean and I tended to be the only one in there each time I went. There was live music in their dining room during dinner the first night we were there and the musician was great. Staff friendly and so nice. I remember Monica checking us in and Tara was our server the second night we ate there. Both awesome ladies and a great addition to the staff! (I work in hospitality so I can bit a bit more critical sometimes). There is also a hot tub and pool which I took advantage of one night. They even had a yoga class in the main lodge one morning that my friend and I participated in. It was early, but we were awake so we decided to go. Oh and free breakfast in the mornings! Score! The waffles are yum yum! If you can get in, this place is awesome!

Only downside of the experience:
1. Wicker chairs in the yurt seemed a little outdated and out of place in the rooms.
2. During evening hours you had to be exptremely quiet, as you can hear your neighbors.
3. There was a wind storm on the 2nd night of our stay and the Yurt by the cliffside made so much noise it was impossible to sleep even with earplugs. I noticed the Yurts closer to the main cabin did not seem to have this issue, so just beware.

All in All a great time was had and this place was relaxing! Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    154
    41
    23
    13
See reviews for
64
326
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Treebones surpassed all of our expectations! From the location, to the food, to the warm and welcoming staff. Our yurt was darling and I could of stayed under the layers of blankets all day next to the little fire. The best thing was hearing the wind through the trees at night, seeing the ocean below and viewing the stars. This was second to the amazing sunset. Whaaaa. So sad I had to leave in the am. Plan on staying here and enjoy everything it has to offer.

Room Tip: Just ask for the yurt that has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed a wonderful sunset and a starry night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We came down for a couple of days as a quick getaway from Bay Area. I had no idea we were in for such a treat. It's November and just to let you know there was NO issue with staying warm. Weather was beautiful but yurts plenty warm and so cool. Staff very friendly, and accomodations wonderful. The restaurant was very good and we loved the sushi bar as well. We saw whales off the coast while we were enjoying or morning coffee. It had just rained then the sun came out. It is truly wonderful. If we renew our vows, I want to do it there. It was hard to leave and I get a warm feeling when I see my gift store items from there (which are also great!). We were in Yurt 11 which wasn't considered a full ocean view but we could see the ocean and there was a nice Koi pond/fountain outside in the back of it, which provided a realxing sound. Not noisy at all, just pleasant and soothing. Seriousy, the only thing I would suggest is putting a hook in the shower stalls to hang your towel/clothes, but the bathrooms and showers very clean and there was a small bench in your private changing area right outside shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We left Treebones this morning and felt we had to write a review. This place is amazing with spectacular views and very comfortable yurts. We had yurt 13 with a fantastic view of the pacific. Sitting on it deck with a bottle (or two) of wine two nights ago watching the sun set was breathtaking. We woke to rain this morning but it really didn't matter the memories have already been banked. The restaurant is great and I can highly recommend the Filet Mignon! Showers are hot and very clean and the stove in the Yurt kept us toasty all night. If you get chance to visit Treebones you will not be disappointed, a great experience not to be missed! Enjoy...... We did!

Room Tip: Has to be full ocean view Yurt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We took our #29 anniversary trip to the coast/Big Sur and then to Carmel Valley. I read about this place on the Big Sur website and watched the Travel Channel video. Seemed like such a great deal and unique place to stay. We were delighted with this resort. The Handy family has worked so hard to carve out an ecofriendly paradise. We loved our Yurt-sure beats the old days of camping! Our yurt was spacious, the beds comfy! The grounds are lovingly tended, be sure to check out the garden where the produce for the restaurant is grown.
We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and hot tub, exploring this part of the Big Sur coast, watching an amazing sunset from the deck, having amazing sushi and a fantastic dinner at the Wild coast restaurant.
I took the yoga class on Friday morning, fun to salute the day with others. Got to meet one of the owners and congratulated her on such a marvelous place.
Would recommend this to others-remember it is still somewhat camping in that you do not have a shower or toliet in your yurt-have to walk to the "facilities". If this bothers you-might conside other accomodations. But if you want to relax in your yurt's porch chair, watch the sun set over the Pacific, have a fabulous meal and then sleep while stargazing thru your yurt skylight-this place is for you!
I recommend going in October or May-best time on the coast for clear days!

Room Tip: get an ocean view yurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are sitting In London on an autumn evening but looking back at our photos of the big sur. treeboneslodge is paradise. The yurts were wonderful,in keeping with the incredible environment. The food was absolutely delicious the location unbeatable. Go! The kayak trip with cubby was brilliant too! Ask at the ldge

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hasbrouck heights
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I travel to the west coast several times a year and we were looking for a different experience. Treebones Resort certainly was that! It is superbly situated between
the PCH and ocean and the mountains of Big Sur . We stayed in a yurt with a partial ocean view which was extremely clean and comfortable. The common bathrooms were well kept and clean and not a hassle at all to use, even in the middle of the night. The onsite restaurant was much better than one would expect and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
It was our first visit to Big Sur and using Treebones as a base we explored many of the outstanding parks and trails in that area. We went in early October and had excellent weather and super clear nights with amazing star viewing, not available on the East Coast!
Sleeping in a comfortable queen size bed with the clear dome overhead and the sound of the oceans and sea lions in the background made for a most enjoyable trip!.

Room Tip: Book early enough to get an ocean or partial ocean view yurt if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTreebones, Owner at Treebones Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting Treebones. Your experience of starry warm nights in October is common for that time of year , we are glad you were able to enjoy some wonderful starry nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Treebones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebones Resort

Address: 71895 Highway #1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Big Sur
#2 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unusual and unique eco-lodge experience with immense and expansive ocean views on Big Sur's remote and rugged south coast. Guests enjoy cozy comforts in fully furnished tent-like yurts or choose a campsite and bring all their own tents/gear to camp. Resort 'feel' in rustic setting. Two popular restaurant venues with cozy, communal atmosphere boast great service, organic, locally sustained cuisine with same great views. Massage services, hiking information, and modern book & sundries store on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treebones Resort Big Sur
Treebones Hotel Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treebones Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.