We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balanced Review: Pros & Cons on Lucia for future travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucia Lodge
Save
You added Lucia Lodge to your Saves list
62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
NC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Balanced Review: Pros & Cons on Lucia for future travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Big Sur area- kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, and relaxing. We stayed in cabin 9 at Lucia Lodge all 3 nights. While we loved our trip, I wanted to give a sort of pros and cons list on Lucia Lodge, because I feel that there are some glaring points for both.

Pros: (start out positive!)
- The view: it's obvious, but it really is incredible to wake up and look out your window at the mountains plunging to the sea. There are also some nice little view perches and a walk behind the cabins that give you more view options. We really enjoyed this part immensely.

- The room: I've heard mixed reviews on the actual cabins, but I've got to say that we had a nice one! Yes, the bathroom is tiny, but (to us), it's not a big deal. We also like to spend time out during the day, and the room is for crashing (very comfortable beds!), so we were pleased.

- The breakfast: we were very pleased with the continental breakfast options: danishes, bagels/cream cheese/jam, bread, hard-boiled eggs, coffee & tea, LOTS of nice fruit. We were impressed.

Cons/misses/"ehhh"
- We have to agree with previous comments that the service left something to be desired. When you fly to San Fran, get in the car for 3.5 hours and wind around the narrow/steep/rocky part of Hwy 1 for an hour trying to find your hotel, it would be nice to see a friendly face. The woman that greeted us was very brusque, and quick, but totally impolite. The thing that bugged me was the maid service...they never made our beds at all or straightened up or cleaned our glasses or ANYTHING. They did take the time to fold the stupid washcloths into triangles, but that's literally the only evidence we had that they had come. Again, it's not that big of a deal to us, but when you pay $255+ a night, you expect a little service.

- The food: It takes a good half hour to get anywhere else on HWY 1 for dinner (or lunch for that matter). We had read that the restaurant food wasn't great, so we made Trader Joe's run before we left civilization, and ate lunches and snacks from that. But with no fridge and no microwave, it's difficult to do dinner. We had a lovely alaskan halibut dinner the first night (we were also starving and exhausted, but seriously, the food was good). We decided to give it a try the 2nd night, and it was a miss. The special was EXACTLY THE SAME, so who knows how long they planned to keep that fish. My husband had a nice chicken kimberly, it was average but fine. I had a yucky seafood tortellini- covered in bland alfredo sauce, and had NO other flavors. I mean, I asked for it, but I was hungry and the waitress said it was good (wrong!). We ate at Big Sur Bakery the last night and it was a wonderful welcome back to good food.

- Also, be careful about bringing food into the room (we did because we didn't want to starve or pay the outrageous lunch/deli prices for snacks). We got ants, which ruined our scones and almost the rest of our food. Try to keep food up high, or...something. But ugh, the ants.

Ok, hopefully that is fair enough. I would recommend this place, but with the above info. at their disposal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    103
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
18
190
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stay only for the location. We stayed in cabin 3, arriving fairly late in the day. Partial ocean view but dirty windows... quickly stopped moaning and cleaned them. Then sat back and enjoyed the view for a bit.

Had read the restaurant isn't a great option so brought a lovely picnic and headed up the hill. We enjoyed a great evening soaking up the views as the sun set. Bumbled back the down hill in the dark and went to bed. Sadly something was merrily munching the ceiling all night. A kind of soft crunching noise and light dust falling, kind of freaked me out.

Anyway breakfast was good (except the coffee) and the lady on 'reception' (serving in the shop) was pleasant and helpful. I'd only recommend only for the location, it's expensive, there's little hospitality and no frills. Would probably give it a miss if had the time again, but ask me another day and the location might just persuade me...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Yes, it was the most beautiful view from our cabin(#9), the food (fish & chips) was definitely not worth the price, the breakfast was good, and we slept well. One night, though, for the price, is enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

A wonderful spot for nature-lovers and those who appreciate quiet. The "cabins," perched on a cliff, look out across the water to a distant mountainous peninsula. The cabins, which are actually little houses or rooms, are close together but are detached or semi-detached. They have a rustic feel, consistent with their origins in the 1930s and 1950s, but they are nicely furnished and cozy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stopped in July on our way to LA, we paid $300 for room 10 which is right at the edge. Can't fault the view, amazing. Peaceful and quaint. Bathroom very small and rooms are ok, nothing special.

When we checked in we were greeted by a woman in the shop, no greeting just here is your key, please sign credit card receipt. Coffee severed at this time and thats your lot. Not much to do except admire views. What ever you do, do not eat at the restaurant. its a rip off, please read my review there. You have no choice about tipping, 17% added for party of two, total bill $90 two mains and two drinks. .

If you want to ask me any more, feel free to email me.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed in Cabin #9 based on all the glowing reviews - now going back through the reviews, I'm really surprised that people are so forgiving of the accomodations, just because of the "view"! Yes, great view, but you get the same view from many pullovers along Hgwy1 - have a nice bottle along w/ you and have your glass of wine at one of the many stops and continue on! At Lucia Lodge, you have one dining choice - and it is decent food, but way overpriced! And the cabin was nice, but basic. The bathrooms are tiny, and breakfast is well, fly ridden. Based on our perceived value, we would not stay there again. Even our room in Carmel was a MUCH better value...and, if you are headed south, Cambria is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I had high hopes from the reviews I had read so it was very disappointing. There was no warm greeting from the gal we checked in with - she was way too busy nor from the woman who took the keys at the end - not even a "thanks and come back and see us again" or "how was your stay?". The room had ants and tho the location was beautiful there was about 6 feet between our doorstep and the cliff so every time someone walked in front of the house they could look in the windows - basically no privacy unless the shades are kept drawn. If you are looking for a romantic spot with a warm welcome head down towards Cambria and Moonstone Beach where the inns are clean and the management seems like they care that you're there. And it was overpriced....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.