We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views...that is it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucia Lodge
Save
You added Lucia Lodge to your Saves list
62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sur
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Amazing views...that is it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The views are great, the place is clean, period. Rooms are simple (they certainly lack a bit of extra work to make them look nicer). The service is not great. Nobody is rude but they don't move any extra to help you a bit with local info or so. Overall a bit overpriced (since there are nice views all over Big Sur)
The restaurant is plainly terrible. Overpriced, mediocre food and terrible service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    103
    33
    18
    13
See reviews for
18
190
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I used to wait tables. I'm in the hospitality field and I'm a business owner. I encountered possibly the worst in customer no-service, while in the middle of nowhere -- which would kind of make sense I suppose.

After the server went from rude to wtf? is this for real?!, I went to inform the woman who'd checked me into the lodge the previous day, who I assumed was in a managerial position.

Me, "I realize there's a small labor pool here, but I just encountered possibly the most rude server I've ever dealt with. I'd rather drive the 15 miles to a different place for dinner than deal with her."

Her, "What do you want me to do about it. I have nothing to do with them. I just work at the store, go tell them."

I told her it was customary for people working at an establishment when a complaint is expressed to at least give the impression that you care. A cursory, "I'm sorry you had that experience", probably would have sufficed. She slid a business card over and said I should complain to the owner.

She then told me that I had to leave, she had customers to take care of. I informed her that I was a customer, and a guest of the lodge, who was growing more displeased.

At this point I inquired about their refund policy, not wanting to stay there one minute longer than necessary. Reluctantly, she called Virginia, who handles reservations, and on a scrap of paper wrote I would be refunded for that night.

When I asked her name - she clammed up. Seemed a little sketchy to me, no email verification of a refund and a store clerk who wouldn't tell me her name.

Very unfortunate for all the international travelers who stop at this place - I hope they don't think the rest of CA is as unwelcoming as the Lucia Lodge. To top it off, the server asked all her tables if they wanted the tip included in the bill!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed just one night in a beautiful cabin overlooking the ocean.

Nice room and outside seating spaces for enjoying beautiful peaceful views.

We were welcomed warmly and given good local information.

Top tip: Take your own wine to sip in the evening and some supplies as the shop is very expensive indeed. They do provide ice-buckets though.

Dinner is mediocre but the setting is what you come here for. And what a setting it is. Beautiful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night in Oct. and it served our purposes. Nothing spectacular here but the view...and it is spectacular. The rooms are on the older side for sure, but very, very clean with comfortable bed. Noise can definitely be a problem due to the very, very thin walls, but as long as guests know things shutdown early you should get some sleep. Some nice benches and viewpoint to take some wine and a meal and watch the ocean or sunset. Only other thing to know is that it is not in Big Sur proper, so you may have to drive a bit if your dining, etc. elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ate lunch at Lucia Lodge last weekend. The food was great. The staff was friendly and the view was outstanding. y wife and I enjoyed a relaxing lunch with our 4 month old daughter. I recommend the fish and chips. The portabella sandwich was excellent as well. Very easy to get to as it is right off of Highway 1.

This was an easy choice as we traveled on Highway 1.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

At first when we drew up I thought what have we come to. But I really yes it's maybe not everyone's choice,but the bed was the best we had slept in all the trip. The food was great as was the setting, yes I would stay there again and yes I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get up early for really hot water to shower in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We set our hearts on staying in one of 4 cabins overlooking the Pacific and boy did we make the right choice. The cabins are fantastic, well appointed with no television or telephone to disturb you, we spent the late afternoon on the high point behind the cabin sipping champagne as the sunset, plenty of photo opportunities, in the morning we woke to the sound of the ocean washing over the rocks as the sun rose above the mountains. One down point eat before you enter the Big Sur National Park as the food at the lodge leaves a lot to be desired very much a captive audience situation, we were advised by a returning american couple to eat on the way and spend your stay enjoying the view from outside of the cabin, unforgetable. The expensive low quality food aside I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Cabins 7,8,9 and 10 are a must, book very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Lodge

Address: 62400 Hwy 1, Big Sur, CA 93920
Location: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Big Sur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Big Sur
Lucia Resort Big Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.